We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bay Shores Peninsula Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Newport Beach Marriott Hotel & Spa(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$189
US$169
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$228/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Newport Beach Hotel(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hyatt Regency Newport Beach(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$262
US$169
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$218/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Newport Channel Inn(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Balboa Bay Resort(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$184
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Newport Beach Marriott Bayview(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$169
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$227/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fashion Island Hotel Newport Beach(Newport Beach)(Great Value!)
US$229
US$195
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$1,395
US$595
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (625)
Filter reviews
625 results
Traveller rating
515
87
17
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
87
17
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop deckbeach equipmentboogie boardsfresh baked cookiesafternoon cookiesacross the streetcd playersmall hotelfeed the meterfree beachyogurtwithin walking distancehard boiled eggscontinental breakfastlittle extrascrab cookerchain hotel
Filter
Updating list...
461 - 466 of 625 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2012

A great little hotel a few steps away from the beach. They had provided everything you could possibly need, down to boogie boards and chairs for the beach! The breakfast room was great, we could help ourselves to breakfast which was quite cute. Teak and coffee was also available all day, and the gorgeous homemade cookies provided at 3pm onwards with ice cold milk from the fridge was a great idea. The sundeck on the top floor was fabulous, unfortunately the weather was not great for us. I was a bit disappointed with the greeting from the receptionistafter other reviews I had read, but generally this is nit picking. A gem of a hotel - but must keep up with the customer service standards I had read about.

Room Tip: The rooms vary I believe but the hotel is usually busy so have to take what you are given probably.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We stayed at the Bay Shores Peninsula hotel for 2 nights in February when we were visiting our son who is a student at UC Irvine. We were able to walk along the beach to the place he is renting in Newport Beach. We would definately come back and stay again. the staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel provides lots of ameneties including free breakfast, free parking and a huge collection of movies that you can borrow from the downstairs lobby. The hotel is old but very well maintained which makes it quaint and cozy. The rooms are small but clean and well stocked You can also hang out on the roof top deck where we watched the sunsets. We were able to walk to the pier and many restaurants which was a real plus since parking is awful in Newport Beach. This hotel is great value for the travel dollar You could spend a lot more money for a room at a fancier hotel in Newport Beach but it isn't necessary.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KauaiTeresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Me and the fiance stayed here in February 2012 for four nights. It's right on the main peninsula blvd but surprisingly quiet! We stayed a couple days and left and came back for a couple more. Our first room was larger than the second, which was kind of small but still very nice, clean and comfy. A block off the water in either direction and just about two blocks from the Newport Beach pier with many shops and restaurants. Good drinks at sharkeez (sp?). Delicious Greek food at Akropoulos on the blvd. There were warm cookies in the lobby every afternoon. Lemon, coconut, macadamia nut? One word: DELICIOUS! There's a nice breakfast area with a fabulous array of breakfast foods to eat, coffee, juice, milk, variety of coffee. The staff is amazing. So friendly and helpful. Next time we come, and we will, we're staying at Bay Shores! Take time to enjoy the roof top lounge. Great views and seating. They also have a computer and printer you can use in the lobby. What gem!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElleCoolio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

The rooms are VERY clean & no detail has been overlooked. Some rooms are very small, but everything you need will be there & very top of the line in quality. There are even fresh flowers in the bathroom. The continental breakfast room is stocked well & you have access to it all day, with microwave, fruit & coffee, even fresh baked cookies in the afternoon. It's located within close walking distance to more restaurants than you'd ever need. The beach is one block forward, the harbor is one block behind, & the "blocks" are really minimal. The staff can't help you enough, they are super!!! If they run out of parking spots, they will plug the meter for you in an adjacent lot. Can't think of anything that was a negative. It's cute, quaint, friendly, clean, convenient & just hope that they have a room for us next time we go there !!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We've stayed here a few times. Its our favorite place in Newport Beach. The rooms are clean and large with spacious bathrooms. The staff is always friendly and willing to help out with whatever you need. Parking and Wi-Fi are both Free. There's a better than average free breakfast which is best enjoyed on the rooftop terrace with a pristine view of the beach and ocean. Free home baked cookies every afternoon. Oh - and did I mention you literally walk across the street and are on one of the best beaches anywhere? The hotel also provides beach towels, beach chairs, boogie boards, and other sand/beach toys free for your use. We'd never stay anywhere else in Newport.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davet7462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews