We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
46
34
11
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
46
34
11
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews keurig machine bart station room was clean remodeled rooms san francisco parking lot little things convenient location king bed creamer soap lotion
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

I’ve stayed at Inn at Temescal off and on over the last few months. After a late night search with only results of $200+ a night and a location I did not feel safe in, I lucked across this place. Well lit parking lot and a thorough camera system. Decent remodel done recently with immaculately cleaned rooms. All this would’ve made for a decent stay, but the management makes the rating! We work long hours and have always had anything we needed taken care of quickly. I will continue to stay here anytime I’m in the area!

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank jordanjohnson0688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidgemontHospitality, General Manager at Inn at Temescal, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

jordanjohnson0688,

Thanks for your feedback! I'm glad we were able to provide a comfortable spot for you over that long duration and thank you for your kind words.

It was a pleasure to host you and we look forward to your next stay with us!

Thanks! -Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, looking for something not too expensive and in walking distance of relatives in Piedmont. Reviews here looked mixed, so took the plunge. Outcome was barely OK. Negatives - neighborhood is sketchy, especially after dark. Pretty noisy, especially people talking outside our door in the parking lot at night. Receptionist behind bulletproof lexan, was nice but gave us the wrong room - someone’s stuff still in it, uncleaned and pungent with cigarette smoke. She fixed it with a new room, but obviously giving a customer key access to an already occupied room is bad. Our new room had no towels! When we asked for more only got 1 towel set for 2 of us, had to go back and ask for more - and just got one more bath towel as they were out of hand towels!

Positives - rooms have been fixed up and nicely apportioned. King bed very comfortable. Walk in handicapped shower large with good water. Parking lot seems reasonably secure.

Bottom line - wouldn’t come back due to area and housekeeping issues, as well as room security. Too bad, because it did get fixed up nicely.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ThomasR312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidgemontHospitality, General Manager at Inn at Temescal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Hello ThomasR312,

Thank you for your feedback and giving us a try. I apologize for the difficulties with your stay.

I've made sure that everyone on staff has read your review to ensure that which is under our control, is up to and beyond your expectation which clearly did not happen on your stay.

We strive to be better everyday.

Thank you -Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018

Avoid the Inn at Temescal at all costs. Don't be fooled by the pictures, it is not a safe place for you or your family. It is located in an extremely troubled area. The first night we stayed we were kept up by voices outside our door almost all night. The next night thumping base music began, and by 11pm the voices began outside our door. By midnight our door had been knocked on by multiple men, they had mistaken our room for the one next door. A new person arrived every 15minutes. There were knocks on our door multiple times throughout the night. There was a constant stream of people going in and and out until about 5am, constant talking, thumping music. We have no idea what they were doing, but thought perhaps drug deals. No evidence, just a theory. At one point someone called the police. We heard the argument outside and someone from the room said "Tell us who complained?" The police left without entering the room or stopping whatever was going on. We had a hunch the hotel management knew what was going on and so felt it was just safer to stay locked in our room rather than complain to management or police, since these guys were already asking who complained the first time. They were clearly not concerned with the police and the police seemed unwilling or unable to shut it down. It all seemed to end around 5am. We got a couple hours sleep and got the hell out of there. Found cigarette butts all over our front door step as we escaped. We won't be back.
Also: No towels. When we asked they said the had only two. No TV remote, no Coffee service, Sink backed up . . . but those seem small things in comparison.

Room tip: Any room not at this hotel. Sleeping your car is preferred.
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Ben E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidgemontHospitality, General Manager at Inn at Temescal, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Ben E.

Thank you for your feedback,

We absolutely take your security and safety seriously and apologize for what you have described above, we understand feeling secure is essential to a good stay.

At your leisure, I would like to talk to you about your experience to make sure this type of situation never repeats itself here again.

I can be reached directly at: 510.823.0856 or at the hotel.

Thank you for your time. -Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

A real dump. Tiny sparse room with no hair dryer Coffee maker did not work. No lobby. Staff was not helpful. No open space outside. Right next to busy street and busy freeway. No breakfast or microwave.
The only plus was free parking. The price was a poor value.
I cannot believe the positive reviews. Beware.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank SBGARY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidgemontHospitality, General Manager at Inn at Temescal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hello SBGARY,

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm sorry to read that you did not like the location. I would like to note that we do not advertise breakfast or microwaves across any of our reservation sites, however, your notes have been heard and it may be we consider in the future!

We strive to be better everyday.

If you have any other feedback please do not hesitate to reach us at 510.652.9800

Thank you -Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2018

Had a good stay at this place. Staff was friendly and the rooms were very clean. I'd say the area was urban but friendly.

We appreciated the restaurant advice and had a tasty meal at the Korean spot next door.

Definitely will come back if I'm in Oakland!

Room tip: 207 is quiet
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dalegeo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RidgemontHospitality, General Manager at Inn at Temescal, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

dalegeo12,

Thank you for your feedback and happy you were able to try some of the tasty Temescal treats Temescal has to offer!

We'll be ready for your next stay! -Nick

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews