We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (421)
Filter reviews
421 results
Traveller rating
145
102
74
34
66
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
145
102
74
34
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews weekly rate free upgrade washer and dryer football game san francisco clean rooms nice room pleasant stay enjoyed my stay walking distance flat screen oracle arena non smoking close to the airport freeway bay hbo
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 421 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2018

Needed to change one day of a 10 day reservation, several days in advance. My experience included staff who could not understand or just didn't want to help that would not take my complete phone number or name to leave a message for the manager, who was never available for two days of calling in about deducting one day from the stay. They wanted to charge $500 to cancel one day or charge the full price of the room for the night we cancelled. They hung up on me and stopped answering the phone. Very argumentative and hostile and never got help from anyone. Finally cancelled and found a lovely hotel with delightful staff. Anyone who would treat a customer planning a 10 night stay so badly before arriving, can't be much better once you're in the care. Beware.

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank LisaMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Breeze I, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Breeze Inn Oakland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

We apologize for inconvenience. Whenever a reservation is made via third party agency such as booking.com in your instance, we cannot modify the dates. It has to be via originating booking agency. However, your reservation is cancelled free of charge. Please let us know if we can be of any further assistance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2018

Long story short, we didn't get to actually stay at this hotel.... We made it as far as the lobby and were turned away. My partner and I were traveling in on separate flights, and were getting in very late. I called the hotel to explain this, and to hang onto our room. That was fine with them. So I thought we'd be a-ok.
Nope.
Eventho my partner and I have the same last name, HE wasn't the one who booked the reservation, I was. He got in before me at midnight, so he went over to the hotel, to check in.
After 30 minutes of trying to explain the situation, he was denied the room. At 1:00am in Oakland. Not good.
What I am still confused about is why the hotel didn't try to call me, but the next day when I found out what happened, I got an answer.
Eventho I went thru TripAdvisor for making my reservation, I actually booked the room thru Booking.com. In doing that, apparently there are NO EXCEPTIONS to the hotel allowing anyone other than the person making the reservation to be the one to check into the room. If you are not traveling with your partner or family as a unit, I would strongly suggest using a different site.
To the hotel's credit, they refunded my money. But the bad part is that they also lost in all of this a night of occupancy. I wish when I had called they would have mentioned it, but even then, it wouldn't have changed the outcome.
Please, please be aware when you "book" thru TripAdvisor, that you really know the fine print of which site it's actually going thru.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank amyfli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Breeze I, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Breeze Inn Oakland, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thank you Amy for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Just to ensure everyone understands, when you book online via booking.com, or any other portal, the guest has to be physically present along with valid credit card under his/her name inorder to checkin. We do not accept third party payment except without a credit card authorization form. If you need to pay for someone else, we would strongly recommend booking via hotels.com or expedia.com and use the "pre payment" option. This will allow you to pay upfront for someone else.

We value our guests and hence provided a full refund for your stay. Hope we can host you next time on your trip to Oakland.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2018

not much sleep, it is a place that caters for longer term stay. people hang out in the parking lot late socializing and you get a fare number of sketchy folks that show up late drunk. The area is pretty bad, felt like a third world country. The biggest joke was the wifi, they advertise it on the large sign as free but you can forget about it. Had to get a hot spot to do my basic work.

Room tip: don't stay there if you are looking for a good rest
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank charbel r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Reading some of the reviews kinda had us a bit timid. The location is not good at all. There is a homeless emcampment about 200 yards away. The area is somewhat sketchy, but it felt comfortable enough inside the fenced in parking lot. As with a lot of these type hotels, the younger people who rent seem determined to sit outside the room on the balcony and talk half the night instead of going inside. They were excessively loud and people going to the car all night and locking the doors to make the horn blow was disturbing. Only two pillows on the bed and they are HORRIBLE. No breakfast, slow internet and the ice machine cost 25 cents for a cup of ice. All in all, it fit the bill and for that reason alone, gets an approval rating.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Phillip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Good service and hospitality, I highly recommend this hotel for any future trip and also the agent tripadvisor for booking my hotel. The hotel was clean, was good for a family vacation. Next time I plan to trip I will check this hotel first before I looking for another hotel available. It is easy accessible from Freeway 880, and close to the swap meet fare market and the airport. It is a good location, more secure.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TevitaT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Breeze I, Guest Relations Manager at Bay Breeze Inn Oakland, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2018

Thanks for appreciating our facility. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you on your next trip to Oakland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews