We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and Quiet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Oakland Airport
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Reviewed 7 October 2015

I have been the Motel6 several times during coast-to-coast trips. The location is good as it is a short distance to the Oakland Airport. The front desk members are friendly and helpful if you need directions or suggestions. The rooms are cleaned everyday and are secure. There is security 24hrs and onsite parking.

There is a pool for family and kids. Eateries are nearby (you can walk). Walmart is nearby if you need last-minute items.
Denny's is a 6-minute walk and the food is SOOO GOOD. They are open 2hrs.

Room Tip: Your room has TV, wifi. There is an outdoor pool which can be relaxing on a warm day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandi w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

I planned to stay here for 3 days but i only stayed 1 day and i got my money back. The area isn't nice at all, people are loud, and are staring at you +
smoking weed in front of their doors all the time, i didn't feel comfortable. Plus the cleaning staff stole my perfumes so be careful people! Stay away from this motel.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled solo
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Oakland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2015

Ashley,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable visit and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. We strive to provide a clean, comfortable stay and are disappointed your visit was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. Safety and security are high priorities within Motel 6 standards for quality and we regret you felt differently during your visit. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2015

I came here after I got a job in San Francisco as an iOS programmer. My company put me up here for two weeks while I went apartment hunting. The room was clean, everything inside worked fine, the TV had a hookup panel installed right on the front of the cabinet, which was very nice. The facilities outside were adequate, although the laundry facilities broke down a few times while I was there, as did the vending machine in the laundry room. A little annoying, but nothing too bad, I wasn't expecting the Hilton after all.

What dropped my opinion the most is the wifi. Like I said, I just moved here for work in an IT field, internet connection is very important. This hotel puts the words "WIFI Here" on their big sign, you can see it from the freeway. That is why it is such a big deal that their wifi is absolutely ABYSMAL. It is not free, you pay per night/PER DEVICE. That's right, you buy a code that must be entered when your device is registered, said code is one day, one time use. They have regular and "high speed" options, $2.99 and $4.99 per night respectively. I have tried both over the course of my stay here, they are more aptly called terrible and slightly less terrible. Seriously, even when I had the more expensive option, it was common for me to be unable to load gmail, it would load a bit and hang. The service comes and goes, but even at it's best, it is not high speed, it's only decent. So you pay an exorbitant price for connection that an airline would be ashamed of. That is just pathetic.

Motel 6, please fix your wifi. You have gone through the trouble of putting it on your big sign, it is no longer a side issue. If your wifi worked better and wasn't linked to a single device, I would give you 4/5. As it is, I feel a two is very generous. Anyone who is thinking of staying here: If you don't need an internet connection, it's a good deal for the price. If you do, I'd recommend you look elsewhere. Basically, ignore their sign, there is no wifi here worth your attention.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Oakland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2015

Dear JM,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality, and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We are glad to be able to provide Wi-Fi to our guests, but apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with our policy and the connection to the network. Motel 6 standards for quality rest on our promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe in the expectations of amenities. We encourage you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2015

Waited 20 mins to check in. Dirty and damp room. Sheets were dirty. No free wifi. Strange dirty cat paw print on the sheets. Dirty parking lot. Shower was clogged. The maintenance guy came to fix it and pulled out massive amount of hair.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank myl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Oakland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2015

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your review. We strive to provide a comfortable night's rest and are disappointed your stay was unsatisfactory due to the odor concern you describe. Please know that the conditions you describe are atypical to Motel 6 standards for quality and we apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. Our standards for quality rest on the promise to offer the lowest price of any national chain by delivering the essential elements of a comfortable room for a satisfying stay, for this reason we apologize for the disappointment you describe with the expectations of amenities. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2015

Stayed for 9 hours on a road trip from WA to Los Angeles. This place is near enough to the Oakland Coliseum that we enjoyed the fireworks from our 2nd story room. With doors and windows closed it was quiet enough, but people were up partying all night. Non smoking room smelled a bit like smoke. Taking the dog out at 1am was challenging. Too many discarded chicken and steak bones on the ground for her to be interested in peeing. OK for a quick stopover, but wouldn't stay long.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Annika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
6Team, brand expericened team member at Motel 6 Oakland Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

Dear Annika,
Thank you for posting your review. We strive to deliver a great guest experience, but it sounds as though we did not perform to our usual standards in this case. We are committed to delivering a clean, comfortable room and apologize for any failure in following through on that commitment during your recent stay. We do accommodate our smoking guests with assigned smoking rooms and are sorry you experienced dissatisfaction with the concerns you describe. Please know the issues you experienced are an exception to our guest commitment and as such, we apologize. We sincerely apologize for your unpleasant stay due to the inconveniences you describe. We invite you to contact our Guest Relations department at 1-855-787-9864 to record the details of your visit to help us provide a better guest experience in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oakland hotels
3.3 km away
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
Bay Breeze Inn Oakland
#15 of 49 in Oakland
380 reviews
0.4 km away
Days Hotel Oakland Airport-Coliseum
1.6 km away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites Oakland Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
La Quinta Inn Oakland Airport Coliseum
3.4 km away
Rodeway Inn & Suites Near the Coliseum & Arena
0.2 km away
Quality Inn Oakland
Quality Inn Oakland
#28 of 49 in Oakland
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Oakland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Oakland Airport

Address: 8480 Edes Ave, Oakland, CA 94621-1306
Region: United States > California > Oakland
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 49 Hotels in Oakland
Price Range: RM347 - RM402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Oakland Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 286
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Oakland Airport is located 3 miles from Oakland Intl Airport and walking distance to area dining. Visit the Port of Oakland Marinas, within 6 miles. Relax in our modern rooms and outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Motel 6 Oakland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Oakland Airport Hotel Oakland
Oakland Motel Six
Oakland Motel 6
Motel Six Oakland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing