We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty woodland site”
Review of Olema Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olema
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olema Campground
Reviewed 10 July 2016

A pretty woodland campground site with individual fire pits and wood for sale which lit easily. Convenient for Muir beach and woods and Stinson beach. Less fog would have been nice! Helpful staff in the office.

Room Tip: All sites looked good, for RVs and tents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PAM141007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 81 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

This looked like it would be great. And maybe it would have been but NOT on a holiday. There may have been upward to 300 people there. 3 bathrooms and showers. Clearly didn't have the staff or talent to keep up with this crowd. Bathrooms , laundry, and showers filthy all the time. and never cleaned. No toilet paper. Laundry dirty and took a fortune in quarters. Great location but......this was a great location but bad experience for 4th July

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank TA4189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at Olema Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. All of the campgrounds in this area are always full on holidays so a crowd is to be expected. We have 187 campsites and we do fill up. It is not accurate to say that bathrooms were dirty all the time and never cleaned. Our staff cleans every day and we normally have more compliments than complaints about our bathrooms. Unfortunately when it is busy it only takes a couple of messy people to make a mess. Did you talk to any of our staff about the issues you note? We respond promptly to any complaints. If you do not like summer crowds maybe you can come in spring or fall when the campground is not as busy. I hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016

We just got home from staying for the weekend. We really enjoyed it. Lots of trees, large dog run, large campground to walk around. No pool but much cooler there than at home so didn't really need it. Play area, weekend pony rides, campfire storyteller, shuffleboard, volleyball. Buildings are a bit run down and could use paint/sprucing up. Point Arena is 3 moles away for great eating. Wifi very sporadic but we go to get away and that doesn't bother us.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Debi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2016

We went here on a 6th grade field trip. Nice lawn in campground makes for easy tent setup and clean, comfortable ground to sit and lay on. Clean restrooms with hot showers. Excellent location for enjoying Point Reyes.

Room Tip: sites in back are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
Thank rOgeraf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

It was a last minute camping decision. Met up with friends to visit the lighthouse. Then went on a short hike on the Tomales Point Trail.

Great shower rooms with toilet. Very clean. With a separate toilet area.

We were happy. The camp itself was quiet. But there was a house a few yards away having a party. Ha ha ha. Can't do much about that. But we were tired so we did fall asleep.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
Thank Evelyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olema
0.5 km away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
24.6 km away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
91 reviews
22.7 km away
Best Western Plus Novato Oaks Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.8 km away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
1,007 reviews
37.1 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,601 reviews
34.3 km away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olema Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olema Campground

Address: 10155 Highway 1, Olema, CA 94950-8900
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Olema
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Olema
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olema Campground is located next to the Point Reyes National Seashore, just north of San Francisco. We offer the ideal place to enjoy different outdoor activities like bird watching, hiking, kayaking or just relaxing on the beach. We offer both RV and Tent campsites in a beautiful rural setting. We are located next to 65,000 acres of unspoiled park land and wilderness, rife with wildlife and heart-stopping vistas. Grab a good book or your hiking boots, and come visit our outdoor family destination that will help you create wonderful lifelong memories. Obtain all your daily essentials at the local grocery or hardware store, located just two miles away in the town of Point Reyes Station. The hardware store carries sports equipment and some camping and RV supplies. There are interesting shops and restaurants in Olema and Point Reyes Station. Stop by the campground office and we will be glad to give you information on all the local businesses. Get your chance to see one of America's most beautiful landmarks when you visit the Golden Gate Bridge, which is just an hours drive down our scenic coastline. Just across the bridge is San Francisco. With the waterfront and Fisherman's Wharf, parks and museums, cruising on the bay, and lots of fine dining, everyone will find something to love in San Francisco. Also just an hours drive from the campground are the famous vineyards of Napa and Sonoma. Spend a day at the shops with friends when you visit Sonoma and Napa Valley. This area offers great places for fine dining as well as wine tours that you won't want to miss. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olema Ranch Campground Hotel Olema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing