We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campground with everything--cheaper than hotels!”
Review of Olema Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Olema
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Olema Campground
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

This full-service campground is close to every destination on Point Reyes National Seashore and in Marin County. It can get super-busy and, yes, crowds can annoy and make messes.

The staff do their bests to keep up, but may fall behind occasionally. For me, the value of this place and the fun of tent camping is worth hanging in, exercising patience.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled solo
Thank ECP-Writes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
There are newer reviews for Olema Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2016

This is a very nice place to go camp. The office staff is very nice. There is a newer dog run near the office for friendly social dogs. Dogs must be on lease around campground but are welcome. There is a huge group camping area for tents which gets really loud, stay further away if you like more quite. The sites are in groups of circles most sites are very close to your neighbor but some of the sites have good space and are longer. There is a small creek that runs along the edge of some of the campsites. Those are more preferred. People we have found are very friendly here. There are plenty of things to go see while you stay. The is shuffle board and horseshoes. A playground is way over by the tent sites. Reminder that Point Reyes National Seashore does not allow any dogs on the trails. The light house is only a 20 minute or so drive away. There are horses that ride out on the trails as well. Lots of wild life. The prices per night are decent. I recommend this place as a repeat visitor. Oh one more thing, we love their showers! The restrooms are very clean & conveniently located, so is the campground.

Room Tip: If using a tent Elm & Fir sites are desired. Cedar & Dog Wood are desired for RV/Pop-up
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Renesmee-Carlie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2016

We had a wonderful, peaceful stay at this campground in our RV. It was clean and well manicured. Very close (2 miles) to our next destination of Point Reyes National Seashore/Park. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Diane961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2016

A pretty woodland campground site with individual fire pits and wood for sale which lit easily. Convenient for Muir beach and woods and Stinson beach. Less fog would have been nice! Helpful staff in the office.

Room Tip: All sites looked good, for RVs and tents.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank PAM141007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016 via mobile

This looked like it would be great. And maybe it would have been but NOT on a holiday. There may have been upward to 300 people there. 3 bathrooms and showers. Clearly didn't have the staff or talent to keep up with this crowd. Bathrooms , laundry, and showers filthy all the time. and never cleaned. No toilet paper. Laundry dirty and took a fortune in quarters. Great location but......this was a great location but bad experience for 4th July

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
4  Thank TA4189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ed S, Manager at Olema Campground, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2016

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. All of the campgrounds in this area are always full on holidays so a crowd is to be expected. We have 187 campsites and we do fill up. It is not accurate to say that bathrooms were dirty all the time and never cleaned. Our staff cleans every day and we normally have more compliments than complaints about our bathrooms. Unfortunately when it is busy it only takes a couple of messy people to make a mess. Did you talk to any of our staff about the issues you note? We respond promptly to any complaints. If you do not like summer crowds maybe you can come in spring or fall when the campground is not as busy. I hope you will give us another try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Olema
0.5 km away
The Lodge at Point Reyes
24.6 km away
The Continental Inn
The Continental Inn
#1 of 1 in Tomales
88 reviews
35.8 km away
Cavallo Point
Cavallo Point
#2 of 4 in Sausalito
996 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.1 km away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,499 reviews
29.7 km away
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
Acqua Hotel Mill Valley
#1 of 5 in Mill Valley
557 reviews
34.3 km away
Casa Madrona Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olema Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olema Campground

Address: 10155 Highway 1, Olema, CA 94950-8900
Region: United States > California > Marin County > Olema
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Olema
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Olema Campground is located next to the Point Reyes National Seashore, just north of San Francisco. We offer the ideal place to enjoy different outdoor activities like bird watching, hiking, kayaking or just relaxing on the beach. We offer both RV and Tent campsites in a beautiful rural setting. We are located next to 65,000 acres of unspoiled park land and wilderness, rife with wildlife and heart-stopping vistas. Grab a good book or your hiking boots, and come visit our outdoor family destination that will help you create wonderful lifelong memories. Obtain all your daily essentials at the local grocery or hardware store, located just two miles away in the town of Point Reyes Station. The hardware store carries sports equipment and some camping and RV supplies. There are interesting shops and restaurants in Olema and Point Reyes Station. Stop by the campground office and we will be glad to give you information on all the local businesses. Get your chance to see one of America's most beautiful landmarks when you visit the Golden Gate Bridge, which is just an hours drive down our scenic coastline. Just across the bridge is San Francisco. With the waterfront and Fisherman's Wharf, parks and museums, cruising on the bay, and lots of fine dining, everyone will find something to love in San Francisco. Also just an hours drive from the campground are the famous vineyards of Napa and Sonoma. Spend a day at the shops with friends when you visit Sonoma and Napa Valley. This area offers great places for fine dining as well as wine tours that you won't want to miss. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olema Ranch Campground Hotel Olema

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing