We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give this place a miss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Reviewed 30 November 2011

We stayed at this place as it offered "discounted" rate of $180 for a junior suite for the Big Sur Half Marathon. For the price it definitely was not worth it. Many things were not working including the heater and the coffee maker. Furthermore the room had a musty smell to it. The only nice feature was the recently-remodeled bathroom. I'm glad we only stayed a night.

Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
1  Thank maipenraiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (439)
There are newer reviews for Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 410 of 439 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

This was my first time to Lighthouse Lodge and Suites, had such a great time walking a few blocks to the ocean. Even saw a few of the deer wandering right behind the property. There are 2 outdoor fire pits on the Suite side of the property, a great place to enjoy the cooler nights, have a glass of wine and relax. The breakfast was amazing, and quite a few options. Was very nice that breakfast and evening reception were apart of the rate. The staff was very attentive and all very friendly. The room I was in had a gas fireplace and balcony. Take advantage of the short walk to the ocean, and the reception every evening!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simple T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHLSGM, General Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

Thank you for taking time to share your positive experience at Lighthouse Lodge & Suites. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay & we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Ran across this hotel online, the location looked great on the map so I called to make a reservation. Very friendly and professional. The hotel blew me away. The room had a living room outside of the bedroom, high ceilings and 2 fireplaces. I saw on other reviews it was outdated but my room was very up to date and tile bathroom so they may be gradually updating. The breakfast was amazing and was no extra charge. I walked to town and to the beach easily. Plan to go there again soon.

Room Tip: Ask what the view is of.
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LHLSGM, General Manager at Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2011

We are glad you found us and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you return for a future visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

I stayed at this place for over 3 months. During that time I will admit that there were some problems. However, the new General Manager-Mike has made all the difference in resolving some of theses issues.He is approachable, quite knowledgeable and very capable of spearheading the projects necessary to make the changes this property needs. The staff tries hard to accomodate the guests and the free breakfast and BBQ in the evenings truly helps to offset the costs associated with the area. It is in a dream area only 1 block from the beach and a few blocks from town. An abundance of deer walking around throughout the day adds that extra bit of nature. So what if it is next to a cemetary. You really don't notice it because of the trees and shrubs. I took several walks throught the cemetary grounds and found it to be quite informative of the area.It was worth the stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Romaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Must agree with most other reviewers. Hotel is dated, shabby, dingy, dirty and dank. Location in Pacific Grove is about all it has going for it. The breakfast was decent, but again in a dark, dated, gloomy room. Pacific Grove and the Monterey Bay area is well-worth visiting, but don't let this hotel ruin your vacation.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sophieSanJose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.2 km away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#1 of 17 in Pacific Grove
826 reviews
1.3 km away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
285 reviews
3.1 km away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Rosedale Inn
Rosedale Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
370 reviews
1.3 km away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#8 of 17 in Pacific Grove
841 reviews
0.2 km away
Monterey Peninsula Inn
Monterey Peninsula Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages

Address: 1150 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2360 (Formerly Lighthouse Lodge & Suites)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range: RM479 - RM1,348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lighthouse Lodge & Suites is a boutique hotel that is nestled amid the Monterey Pines, 1- 1/2 blocks from the tip of Monterey Bay and the Pacific Ocean. We are conveniently located next to Pacific Grove Golf Links, Point Pinos Lighthouse & the historic El Carmelo Cemetery. The property has two unique sections located across the street from one another. Each day, we provide a complimentary continental breakfast from 7:00 A.M. - 9:30 A.M. Pool & Spa available for guests. The Cottage property is a thirty-one unit property. Our Cottages have a king size beds, microwave, mini refrigerator and gas burning fireplace in all rooms. The Cottage patio has tables, chairs and fire pits. The Cottages include a daily chef prepared breakfast each morning from 7:00 A.M. - 10:30 A.M. and wine & hors d'oeuvres from 4:30 P.M. - 6:00 P.M every afternoon. We have a variety of meeting rooms and can accommodate up to 40 people classroom style. We also offer group rates for those booking 8 or more rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lighthouse Lodge And Suites
Lighthouse Resort Pacific Grove
Lighthouse Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing