We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Deer Haven Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$180
US$170
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$202
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Centrella Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$264
US$243
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lovers Point Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$149
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$266
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$209
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Butterfly Grove Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$140
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Martine Inn(Pacific Grove)(Great Value!)
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,071)
Filter reviews
1,071 results
Traveller rating
582
341
91
35
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
582
341
91
35
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrain showerfire pityogurtwood floorsgreat place to staycontinental breakfastdonutsmile drivejetted tubshort walkroom was clean and comfortablefront officequiet areawould definitely stay here againpebble beachroad tripasilomar state beach
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 1,071 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Near the monterey aquarium and the beach (minutes walk), old fishermans wharf is 3 minutes drive. Very clean, gas fire place, freindly and fast check in/out. Car is parked just outside the room for free.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Arzi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Many thanks for your kind review posted recently, and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us so much, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,
Rishi
Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

The Sunset Inn has been there for decades and sits along Asilomar with a few other older motels like Anvil. It has been remodeled and has new management. It is very clean, affordable and well managed. The outdoor fireplace near the reception is a nice touch. The bed was fine and there are extra pillows. Coffee maker, mini fridge and microwave are added accessories. Asilomar is quiet at night and that also adds to the charm. A three minute walk down to the shoreline is its major attraction. Plenty of parking as well.

Room Tip: All are about the same, closer to Asilomar, a bit more car noise
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DaleRachmeler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for your detailed review - we are pleased that so many aspects of our property and your stay here suited you so well. This is wonderful feedback to get, and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Best regards,
Rishi
Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Other than the bed which did not embrace my aging back, this hotel provided an enjoyable respite in an excellent location within a few moments' walk to an uncrowded, somewhat rocky beach that had a wonderful view of the bay, and provided a brief drive to an excellent choice of restaurants.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jewing498481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for choosing to stay at our property recently. We are pleased that it was a successful stay, and that our hotel was so suitable for your needs. We hope that when you return to stay again, the bed will prove to be more comfortable for you. Thank you kindly for your feedback.

Best regards,
Rishi
Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

I brought my friend from New Jersey to see the Monterey Peninsula, and in particular, Pacific Grove. We both loved the Sunset Inn. Too bad it wasn't cold enough to use the fireplace in the evening! Our only complaint was that the beds were noisy when moving on them. Hers didn't bother me, and mine didn't bother her, but for whatever reason they creaked quite loudly ever time we moved. Other than that, it was a very lovely room. I love the flooring instead of carpet; it feels so much cleaner.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jabbus213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely words. We are pleased to have provided you with a great stay in Pacific Grove, and to know that you enjoyed your time here so much. We are sorry for any disturbance caused to you by your beds, but we hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again - we would love to host you again very soon.

Best regards,
Rishi
Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Sunset Inn was my base for 6 days while I visited family in the area. I booked the Classic Queen with fireplace unit, and with evening temps in the forties, was glad I did!. The frig, microwave, coffee maker, and tv worked well. There's no dresser, but shelving in the closet and plenty of hangers worked for me. The shower was great and sufficed in the absence of a bathtub. The wood floor was very nice....and clean. The Inn is tucked away in a lovely, quiet, wooded, one block from the ocean, neighborhood. It is conveniently close to, and not too far from, a myriad of wonderful attractions.

The continental breakfast was adequate. Two kinds of cereal, bread, bagels, fresh pastries, fresh fruit, and yogurt were provided. The beverage machine made delicious coffee, as well as hot chocolate and other drinks. Small area with 3 tables to eat; most mornings I took breakfast back to my room.

Jennifer and Patricia were pleasant, professional representatives of the Inn and always helpful..

Room Tip: The Classic Queen Unit 106 has no room above, and it's close to office.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolS102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestXperienceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Sunset Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

We were happy to host you for your extended stay here, and we are delighted to receive such positive feedback from you. We appreciate your detailed review, which should prove useful to potential guests reviewing this site. Jennifer and Patricia, and indeed all of our team, join me in thanking you for your comments, and we all hope to welcome you back when you are next visiting your family.

Best regards,
Rishi
Sunset Inn Customer Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews