We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Ranked #46 of 71 Hotels in Palm Springs
Burr Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not what I expected.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Just visited this hotel and we were very disappointed in our stay. Everything about this hotel is tight. Fitness Center is small, not much equipment. Pool is very tight and you can't move your chairs if you want to face the sun because you are basically on top of the people next to you. If you weren't outside claiming a chair with towels by 7am, you could not get a chair for the day. The hotel even has cards on each chair that says "please do not save lounge chairs" obviously this pool doesn't have enough chairs/space to accommodate guests. Also, a lot of trees in the pool area....if you want sun, the spots with chairs are very tough to come by otherwise you will be covered in shade. The service by the pool was terrible, waiter forgot our food and was rude. Once we got to our small, tight rooms, we decided to call down for complimentary robes....this took 3 hours and 4 phone calls later to the front desk for this to happen. We also had a shower with an awful drain...when you ran the shower, you were basically in mid-calf deep of water while showering. Awful hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ger0711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPalmSprings, General Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, 25 February 2012
I would like to apologize for the challenges you came across during your visit. We have goals and plans in place that will rectify some of the concerns you expressed including the idea of building a third pool. I am not sure if you reported any of the issues to a manager while you were staying with us however, our team would be happy to discuss your stay if you wish to contact us directly. Once again, I am sorry for your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,403 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    614
    415
    269
    245
See reviews for
395
1,004
90
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

I was a guest of this hotel from Thursday evening until Monday noon. The choice was largely made because of closeness to other planned events for the weekend. The hotel has a long history associated with the originals who sought the desert from Hollywood or Los Angeles. I would hope that if you could listen to the walls talk (or sing) you would hear Dean Martin, Frank Sinatra, Sammy Davis, Jr. etc. Sonny Bono and Cher were also stars at the hotel. It is a large resort - nearly 24 acres -- with a spa and tennis courts - -no golf. The staff and amenities are very good.

I needed instructions for trips to shopping etc. and got excellent advise. The restaurants in the hotel (Circa 59) were top notch

Room Tip: If you want a fair amount of quite -- stay close to building one or two..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gina047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPalmSprings, General Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
We appreciate you sharing the history of the Riviera with other travelers. Thank you for acknowledging our staff and resort amenities. It is great that more flights have been added from Canada to Palm Springs. If you need assistance in the future with arranging travel plans, please feel free to contact the resort as we would be happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

A beautiful property. Lush gardens with orange trees and a beautiful free form pool. The lobby and public areas are modern and hip.

Our room was luxurious, hip and edgy. Bright colors and leather furniture. The bathroom was fantastic with a huge, free standing soaking tub, 2 sinks and a walk in shower. It also had nice bath products and thick, soft towels.

All the staff I encountered at the hotel were friendly and helpful. The only negative I noticed were the room service dishes the were left in the hallways.

I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robb111962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPalmSprings, General Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, 24 February 2012
We love the title of your review! Thank you for spending your days in Palm Springs at the Riviera. Your feedback and insight is of great value to our staff. Please join us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

First of all I want to say that this hotel and their staff were fantastic - our weekend started out very badly at another hotel who overbooked and we were sent to this hotel - they were great they really took the time to get us a nice room and make us comfortable in everyway. Every staff member from valet to front desk and main bar were very friendly and helpful. we had a great time here and would stay here again anytime. The property is huge with several pools and fire pits and the rooms were large and very nice - the beds were very comfortable.
Thank you Riviera

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPalmSprings, General Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
We express our thanks in return. We are happy to hear that we were able to accommodate you and that it all turned out well. Thank you for sharing your positive experience on Trip Advisor. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
219 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 353 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

In many ways this is a lovely hotel. The public areas - lobby, lounges, bar, restaurant are all stylish and furnished in sleek retro contemporary style. The pool area too is beautiful. It all looks wonderful but things soon started to unravel.

We spent the first couple of hours phoning down for things that should have been in our room - towels, robes, coffee cups. The service in the restaurant was also decidedly flakey from time to time. Perhaps worst of all, the promised trolley service between the hotel and downtown was not running even though it is meant to be included in the $28 daily resort fee. The taxi downtown costs about $10 each way.

I suppose we did enjoy staying here but on reflection felt a little let down. If I am in town again, I think I shall choose one of the many hotel options downtown

Room Tip: We paid extra for a pool view room which overlooked a small pool a good trek from reception - not re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spineynorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RivieraPalmSprings, General Manager at Riviera Palm Springs Resort, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
I apologize for the issues you experienced during your visit. Thank you for providing your feedback and for pointing out the positive aspects of your stay. We do provide trolley service during high season Thursday through Sunday on a set schedule that is subject to change. Please feel free to contact the resort directly if you have any further questions or concerns. We appreciate your time and patronage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Palm Springs hotels
3.2 km away
Avalon Hotel and Bungalows Palm Springs
2.2 km away
Hyatt Palm Springs
Hyatt Palm Springs
#31 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,668 reviews
2.4 km away
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
Renaissance Palm Springs Hotel
#21 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 km away
Andreas Hotel & Spa
Andreas Hotel & Spa
#9 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,230 reviews
5.1 km away
The Saguaro Palm Springs
The Saguaro Palm Springs
#33 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.2 km away
The Monroe Palm Springs
The Monroe Palm Springs
#49 of 71 in Palm Springs
4.0 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riviera Palm Springs Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riviera Palm Springs Resort

Property: Riviera Palm Springs Resort
Address: 1600 North Indian Canyon Drive, Palm Springs, CA 92262-4602
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Palm Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Palm Springs
#12 Spa Hotel in Palm Springs
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Palm Springs
#15 Luxury Hotel in Palm Springs
Price range (per night): RM568 - RM1,672
Hotel Class:4 star — Riviera Palm Springs Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 398
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stylish and styled, eclectic, cool, bohemian getaway. Inspired by the nonchalant elegance of Slim Aaron’s photographs, The Riviera is free spirited, vibrant, playful and bohemian with a sprinkling of retro nostalgia. The whimsy of Hollywood Regency in the guest rooms merges with the eclectic spirit of the public areas and makes for a perfectly unique resort getaway in Palm Springs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riviera Palm Springs Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Resort And Spa, Palm Springs
Riviera Resort & Spa, Palm Springs Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Hotel Palm Springs
Riviera Resort Palm Springs
Palm Springs Riveria Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing