We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but apparently not for meetings”
Review of Garden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden Court Hotel
Ranked #6 of 27 Hotels in Palo Alto
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I've stayed here a few times on pleasure trips. Great location, clean and luxurious rooms, nice boutique feel. As others have mentioned it can be a bit noisy when there are functions in the courtyard, but that always dies down at a reasonable hour.

So last week I was planning a board meeting for my company and I thought it would be nice to have it here. The hotel website advertises meeting space and meeting packages. I called and was transferred to the voicemail of the person responsible, and left a message. Twice. I emailed them via their website. Twice. After a couple days I called the front desk and told them about how I had received no responses, and they couldn't help me.

I gave up and ended up booking my meeting at the Four Seasons a few blocks away. I wish I knew what was up. Even a return call saying they were full would have been nice. I'm not sure I want to return even for personal trips - having some level of interest in my business is a big deal to me.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms can be a bit noisy, but always quiet by a reasonable hour. Elevator area can be noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LeanCEO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

362 - 366 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2011

I stayed here for a quick business trip in November 2011. The room was comfortable with traditional styling, and the bathroom was spacious enough with good lighting. My room looked out over the courtyard, which was pretty noisy until the early evening, but was definitely not noisy when I went to bed. The front desk staff was helpful enough, arranging a taxi for me (~$120 taxi ride from SFO), although they seemed reluctant to print my bill for me and preferred to email it to me (which was fine, although they then took the liberty of adding me to their email list so I then had to go and unsubscribe - that annoyed me).

There wasn't a business center, but there's a computer in the lobby where you can print out your boarding pass. I also spent time in a couple of their meeting rooms for a conference I was there for, and the meeting rooms were nice. The breakfast was a good spread (continental breakfast), and so was lunch - although you had to ask for a vegetarian meal as they were serving the dishes to everyone else. Overall it was nice and I wouldn't hesitate in staying here again for business or personal (although would need to compare pricing/reviews with other hotels in the area), but I didn't think it was special.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

My Sister got married there from the begining to end, they were so acomodating with every request, the rooms were so beautiful and clean That I took my shoes off.
Fromthe manager to the valet attendant everyone was so nice. my family liked this bell boy from El salvador he has been there for like 20 years. He was helful and corteus, the party was awesome.
I ussually dont ake the time to write reviews but I have some espare time lately.
I hope you guys dont take forever to post this one like the last one I wrote. I hope you are more honest than Yelp

Room Tip: all rooms are great, but my sister and brother in law had the penthouse, awesome garden and everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

This excellent hotel is located in the heart of Palo Alto. Unsurprisingly, it is very traditional and conservative in appearance both inside and out. Service was excellent. Our room was very comfortable, clean and well maintained. The only caution: we asked for a quiet room, and they gave us one facing the interior courtyard, which would have been fine except that a function was occurring in the courtyard that night which was rather noisy. So you may want to ask a few more questions than we did if you are looking for peace and quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Architectandmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

I stayed at the hotel in October 2011 for business. The decor is delicious and I would stay there for vacation or for business in the future without a second thought.

This was a perfect business hotel. The staff was very helpful, and they have two nice little business centers. Before I even got there, I called and asked about restaurants for a Sunday night that were open late nearby, and immediately got an email from the front desk person with suggestions for places on the way from the airport. And the valet went out of his way to find my Blackberry in the garage (thank goodness)!

The housekeeping staff also was really respectful that I was working in the room, and if I told one of them that I didn't want service that day, they did not ask again (unlike some places where the staff would bang on the door all day), but helpfully asked if they could get me anything like new towels.

They really thought of everything in the room--from office supplies inside the desk (and in the business center, too), to two luggage racks in the closet and an umbrella and safe and ironing board. They had lots of good full length mirrors, too, which is helpful when dressing for meetings.

I had a courtyard room, which was huge, with a nice balcony over looking the courtyard. I was a little concerned about noise at night from the Il Fornaio restaurant downstairs, but to my surprise, at precisely 9:30 every evening, it was like someone flipped a switch, and bam-- silence. Very impressive.

The gym had a variety of cardio equipment--treadmill, bike, stair. And some free weights.

The beverage service with coffee and breakfast and happy hour in the lobby was great, too. And a contemporary yet homey ambiance that made me feel like I had been there before even though it was my first visit.

I look forward to returning soon!

Room Tip: If you like a view, pick the courtyard. But be aware that you will hear some mild background noise u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank palena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palo Alto
0.5 km away
Nobu Hotel, Epiphany Palo Alto
5.6 km away
Dinah's Garden Hotel
Dinah's Garden Hotel
#2 of 27 in Palo Alto
1,037 reviews
3.8 km away
Creekside Inn - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
The Westin Palo Alto
The Westin Palo Alto
#9 of 27 in Palo Alto
668 reviews
5.3 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Palo Alto
1.2 km away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 11 in Menlo Park
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Court Hotel

Address: 520 Cowper St, Palo Alto, CA 94301-1823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Palo Alto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Palo Alto
#1 Business Hotel in Palo Alto
#2 Luxury Hotel in Palo Alto
#4 Family Hotel in Palo Alto
Price Range: RM1,256 - RM3,771 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Garden Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Garden Court Hotel and Event Venue rated in 2014 - Four Stars by Forbes Travel Guide. Located in downtown Palo Alto's tree lined streets this luxury boutique hotel offers 62 guestrooms and suites. Ideal for business travelers, meetings in Silicon Valley, leisure guests exploring the area and brides looking for a romantic wedding. With contemporary chic design, charm, luxurious amenities, attention to detail, spectacular location and privacy this ultimate urban retreat is amazing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TravelClick so you can book your Garden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden Court Palo Alto
Hotel Garden Court

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing