We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveller rating
41
4
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
4
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Do you want to feel like a very welcome guest in a beautiful setting? I could not have felt more special than I did for the three days and nights I spent at Highland Ranch. The food was great, the climate perfect, at about one thousand feet above sea level it is spared the Pacific fogs of northern California but benefits from the cooling breezes off the ocean. The trails on and around the ranch are well maintained and the wranglers are well trained, friendly and knowledgeable.

If you are looking for a quiet low key place to escape Highland Ranch is worth a visit. I hope to return again soon.

Our German Shepherd Dog loved swimming in the many ponds on and around the ranch. To our surprise she interacted well with all the horses she encountered.

Room tip: There are cabins as well as guest rooms on the property. We stayed in a cabin which has two bedrooms. One room has a kingsizs bed and the other two sets of bunk beds, which would be great for a family traveling with children.
Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2011

My husband and I spent our anniversary being pampered. All we had to do was show up at the main house three times a day and we were fed incredible meals...we drank delicious wines and we participated in engaging conversations....Riding the horses along a mountain path was a new experience for us but our guide, Jen, was incredibly patient....We hiked and fished as well. It was a most excellent vacation. We hope to go back again soon.

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MaryAnne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

This place is stunningly beautiful, the setting is perfect. The owners make you feel right at home. The food was excellent, the cabins were rustic but very comfortable. The horses were
not your typical "rental horse" and the guide Jen that we had was incredible as a guide and as a horse trainer- can't say enough good about her! Our group of 5 all agreed it was the best horse trip we have taken yet. We go somewhere different every year- but will most likely return to Highland- it was that good!! Do yourself a favor and check it out!

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bajasand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We came here as one of our occasional college roommate family retreats and we really loved it. If you have enough people you can take over the whole ranch (advance reservations required, of course) The location is gorgeous, and the staff's attentiveness makes your vacation truly relaxing. A great place!

We came with 2.5 year old twin toddlers who had never slept in big beds before, so we had to make arrangements ahead of time, but after a night or two the boys adjusted and it was fun. And they loved being on the horses! We walked right alongside each horse with a Highland ranch wrangler leading the horse around the paddock. We also hiked with the boys, which they enjoyed.

All in all, this is a place to which we will return with pleasure!

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonathan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Mendocino County is an incredible location and Highland Ranch provides a visitor a unique way to experience it. My wife and I spent our 30th wedding anniversary at “the ranch.” The staff went out of their way to meet our every request including a romantic dinner on the wisteria covered dock. Don’t expect five star accommodations with linen and bedding to die for or bathrooms out of a Sunset magazine features, but you will find that the ranch cabins provide a comfortable, clean and acceptable roof over your head. The fireplace and porch with rockers provide a nice retreat after you have spent the day exploring the incredible surroundings. We loved it so much that we encouraged our entire extended family to visit one month later. Our family took over the entire ranch for five days. Great location, great staff, great food, free booze, and an experience to last a life time. If you are an accomplished rider or a novice, or you just want to hike or hang out; put Highland Ranch on your list of “must visits.”

Date of stay: June 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mendocino_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews