We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Delight”

Spyglass Inn Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 114 Restaurants in Pismo Beach
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Spyglass Inn Restaurant offers fine dining overlooking the Pacific Ocean. Every seat in the house has a gorgeous view!
Reviewed 10 December 2017

No, not that type. I mean an appetizer and drinks! Yes, if you have a beautiful, clear day in the Pismo area, consider stopping here for an afternoon break (even better if you're staying at the Spyglass Inn). We had fried Calamari with two sauces. Now many places serve the small deep-fried squid tubes and tentacles. Not here. They slice strips of deep-fried Calamari steak -- tastes like BUTTAH! Combined with a Strawberry-Lemon Mojito or my "Coastal Summer" cocktail (like a L.I. Tea, sorta); views of whales and pelicans; the sea and the sun ... well, it could lead to other things. The service is good (they even rearranged the market umbrella for us, and other tables). You can walk along the cliff before or after for views of the ocean.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Norm G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Spyglass Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Hi Norm, thanks for visiting our restaurant. We love that you enjoyed your experience and were happy with everything from the service, the food to the cocktails. This is why we do what we do! It’s been our pleasure to serve you and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2017

Couldn't have been much worse. We went for the view and the atmosphere. Felt like a coffee shop. No view because all we could see were the bright lights from our room reflected on the windows. I had the hot crab sandwich, which turned out to be lettuce, tasteless tomato, onion, with a very thin layer of shredded crab smeared in the mayonnaise. No cheese, as advertised. My husband had the tasteless calamari steak sandwich - probably frozen at least a year. The server must have known, because he removed my husband's sandwich when he'd only finished half. Didn't ask how our meal was - we'd probably have told him, and he's probably heard it before. Good thing we hadn't ordered the high-priced entrees.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LynneG40505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Spyglass Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Hi Lynne, I apologize that we didn’t meet your standards during your visit to our restaurant. If you are dissatisfied with your meal, please alert our staff or ask for a manager as we are here to make sure you’re happy with both your meal and service. Please give us a call and ask for Michelle at 805-773-1222 as we want to discuss your experience. We appreciate your business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017

Perfect place to have dinner or breakfast if you are staying at the Spyglass Inn. The views are perfect of the ocean and the outdoor dining options (they have heaters if it is cool) is fantastic.

Thank PaulTraveler777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Spyglass Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hi Paul, thanks for recommending us to Spyglass Inn guests. We appreciate your business and wish you happy travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2017

We have never had a bad meal here for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The food is always excellent! The wait staff are attentive and very friendly. The views of the ocean are spectacular and they have indoor or outdoor dining. The fish tacos are the best.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank suekos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Spyglass Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Suekos, thanks for frequenting our restaurant! We love being able to provide delicious food, beautiful food and attentive staff to create a great dining experience. We hope to see you back for some more fish tacos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2017

You really cannot beat the views from the back porch...
but you really need to order just some cocktails or
more "idiot proof" eats, such as a BLT, or salad.

Fine dinning this is not, but it does command high
prices. Out of the three hotel associated restaurants
here, this likely comes in at number three for eats,
and one for view.

1  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager M, Manager at Spyglass Inn Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2017

Hey Paul,
Thank you for visiting our restaurant. The view here is lovely and we’re happy you were able to enjoy it. Please know that if you are ever unsatisfied with your food that you can ask for the manager. We want to make sure that you have a great dining experience and are here to give you our best service

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spyglass Inn Restaurant also viewed

Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 
Pismo Beach, San Luis Obispo County
Shell Beach, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Spyglass Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing