We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pullman House Inn(Portola)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Chalet View Lodge(Graeagle)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 29/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (16)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveller rating
4
6
3
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
6
3
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 16 reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

I was sent to Portola for my job, they booked my hotel for me and when I arrived Glen meet me at my car and greeted me with open arms, letting me know where to park and where my room was. The room is small but adorable. The bathroom was very nice and looked as if they had just updated it. The second night I had bought my own food since there was a fridge and microwave but had forgot utensils, Glen gladly gave me some:-) I also was given a free breakfast at Nicole's coffee shop down the street where I had an amazing breakfast burrito. My trip was a success and thanks to the staff at Sierra motel very relaxing

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We stayed there for 2 nights with our car club...was a little pricey I felt...had an enjoyable time there...No breakfast served there..they give you a voucher for a breakfast burrito down the street..the rooms were pretty small, but not bad...would I stay there again? Probably not

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a very handy and somewhat reasonably priced motel in Portola. They evidently have the local railroad workers contract and several stay there each night. We were passing through and needed a good room and decided to stay. The service was good and internet access was acceptable as well.

The room was small as was the sink and there was a shower "stall" in which to shower. The bed was acceptable and the cooling was good for a hot day. Since this is one of a couple places in town, its probably a good place to stay for the night. Just expect the very "basics". Oh yes, one bonus, you get a free breakfast burrito at Nichole's! That was worth the stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I am a vendor and was doing a show in Graeagle. Everything in the area was absolutely over priced so I looked into staying in
Portola. Let me tell you, I called the Sierra Motel and what pulled me in was the Outstanding Customer Service Chuck gave me when I called. I have my own business so customer service is key. Anyway the price was right too because I was there working instead of vacationing. Check in was easy, rooms were affordable,
I slept like a log even though I was
away from the comforts of home.
I would definitely recommend staying at the Sierra Motel and also as a lady I felt safe, but my
husband was with me as well. The room was spotless and for the price it was great. Thank you Chuck.
I forgot your daughters name but she is sweet as well. Anytime I roll through Portola, Graeagle area.
I am staying with Chuch at the Sierra Motel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Roxxy775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We reserved two rooms at the Sierra Motel. Check in was easy, and we appreciated the free movie rentals. The rooms though were not impressive, especially for the price. In one room, the shower was rusted and dirty. In the other room, the shower only came out in a thin line - no spray. You could easily hear noise/conversations from the next room. Rooms were VERY dated and in poor condition. I saw another review that mentioned newer rooms. We were obviously not in those. They did have newer flat screen tvs and dvd players though which was nice. Breakfast vouchers allow you to redeem them at a small restaurant a couple of blocks away for a choice of breakfast burrito/breakfast sandwich/oatmeal plus coffee/juice/tea. The breakfasts were simple. I had the breakfast burrito which was a flour tortilla, eggs, and cheese with a side cup of Pace salsa. There was a choice of three meats that could be added. All in all, we thought the motel was a bit pricey for the quality. They cater to a lot of railroad folks, so I think they have a steady clientele regardless of price. We'll look elsewhere the next time we're in the area.

Portola Travel Tip: The Railroad museum is a MUST especially if you have older kids. Our kids (ages 9-12) LOVED exploring the numerous rail cars. We've been to a lot of museums, and they said it was their favorite - better even than the Exploratorium. We spent twice as much time there as planned because we all enjoyed it so much. Lots of climbing involved to explore the old cars, but so much fun! The family pass was a good deal for our family of six.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wadelle2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews