We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute little place”
Review of Sierra Motel

Sierra Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Portola
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sierra Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portola
Reviewed 5 June 2017 via mobile

We spent two nights here in early June. The property is older and they maintain it well. The room was smaller, but very clean. They provide coffee in the room, satellite TV and free wifi. They staff are very nice. We arrived with two Rottweilers, one large and one young. Some properties won't even rent to us because of the breed of our dogs, but there were no questions asked here. The free breakfast and coffee from Nicole's was good, and the walk down there was pleasant. I would stay here again, if we needed a room in Portola.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank patriciaa486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 16 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
21
Reviewed 1 July 2016 via mobile

I was sent to Portola for my job, they booked my hotel for me and when I arrived Glen meet me at my car and greeted me with open arms, letting me know where to park and where my room was. The room is small but adorable. The bathroom was very nice and looked as if they had just updated it. The second night I had bought my own food since there was a fridge and microwave but had forgot utensils, Glen gladly gave me some:-) I also was given a free breakfast at Nicole's coffee shop down the street where I had an amazing breakfast burrito. My trip was a success and thanks to the staff at Sierra motel very relaxing

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2015

We stayed there for 2 nights with our car club...was a little pricey I felt...had an enjoyable time there...No breakfast served there..they give you a voucher for a breakfast burrito down the street..the rooms were pretty small, but not bad...would I stay there again? Probably not

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is a very handy and somewhat reasonably priced motel in Portola. They evidently have the local railroad workers contract and several stay there each night. We were passing through and needed a good room and decided to stay. The service was good and internet access was acceptable as well.

The room was small as was the sink and there was a shower "stall" in which to shower. The bed was acceptable and the cooling was good for a hot day. Since this is one of a couple places in town, its probably a good place to stay for the night. Just expect the very "basics". Oh yes, one bonus, you get a free breakfast burrito at Nichole's! That was worth the stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I am a vendor and was doing a show in Graeagle. Everything in the area was absolutely over priced so I looked into staying in
Portola. Let me tell you, I called the Sierra Motel and what pulled me in was the Outstanding Customer Service Chuck gave me when I called. I have my own business so customer service is key. Anyway the price was right too because I was there working instead of vacationing. Check in was easy, rooms were affordable,
I slept like a log even though I was
away from the comforts of home.
I would definitely recommend staying at the Sierra Motel and also as a lady I felt safe, but my
husband was with me as well. The room was spotless and for the price it was great. Thank you Chuck.
I forgot your daughters name but she is sweet as well. Anytime I roll through Portola, Graeagle area.
I am staying with Chuch at the Sierra Motel

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Roxxy775
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Portola
6 km away
Chalet View Lodge
Chalet View Lodge
#1 of 4 in Graeagle
308 reviews
0.7 km away
Pullman House Inn
Pullman House Inn
#1 of 1 in Portola
21 reviews
7.3 km away
Lake Davis Resort, Cabins & Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
The Lodge at Nakoma
The Lodge at Nakoma
#1 of 3 in Portola
9 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Sierra Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sierra Motel

Address: 380 E Sierra St, Portola, CA 96122-8422
Region: United States > California > Plumas County > Portola
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Portola
Number of rooms: 27

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing