We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location~food not so amazing.”

Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar
Ranked #8 of 312 Restaurants in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$40
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My hosts talked about going to this restaurant regularly so I was happy to go along, especially once they mentioned the fabulous view and location. The oceanfront view and location is truly amazing and if you are just going for drinks and appetizers, it's the perfect place to go. It feels very California! At our table, we ordered fish and chips and shrimp and avocado salad. My no fail tests at a restaurant that usually can tell you the quality of the food is the condition of the washrooms, the french fries and the coffee. In all three cases here, very mediocre. When I splurge on fried food like fish and chips, I want to enjoy every last French fry. In this case the fish was ok, decent batter, but the French fries sucked and were thin, whimpy and tastless. My aunts avocado and shrimp salad also looked just mediocre, kind of like something you would expect to get at Denny's. So, still a great place in terms of atmosphere, but don't expect a lot from the food.

Thank livingdolcevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluewater_Management, Manager at Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear livingdolcevita,

Thank you so much for dining with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback as we will relay it back to our staff and our Chef. Thank you and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Really enjoyed our visit to the Bluewater Grill! We had Poke’, Ceviche, oysters on the half shell, octopus and crab cakes. View of all of the sailboats- service was great. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves!

Thank SusanCBM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluewater_Management, Manager at Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear SusanCBM,

Thank you for the great five star review and your glowing words regarding your dining experience with us! We truly appreciate it because it contributes to the success of our business and it also helps raise the morale of the entire staff. Everybody loves to hear when they are doing a great job! We will definitely share your comments with everyone and thank you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

I was there on business. The staff were really slow and didn't check on us enough. The food was medicore, but the view was beautiful. It's next to a hotel and on a bike/walk roadside trail so I can see why people would want to visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank desilady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluewater_Management, Manager at Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2018

Dear desilady1,

Thank you so much for dining with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback as we will relay it back to our staff and our Chef. Thank you and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2018

We were staying at a nearby hotel and Bluewater Grill looked like a cool spot, so we decided to stop by for an early dinner on Sunday night. We sat on their cute patio with nice views of the boats in the marina. They have plenty of heaters out there so you can stay warm while enjoying the sunset.

We had really friendly service from the staff and that's what stood out from the night for sure. The food and drinks were great too! The cucumber moitos were tasty and refreshing. I loved the Mahi Mahi, which came with a chipotle hollandaise and potatoes. It had great flavor and was cooked perfectly. My mom ordered the scallops and loved those too. Really nice flavor on the dishes and the presentation was nice. For dessert, they had a blueberry crumble with vanilla ice cream (on special for the night). It was SO DELICIOUS!

Overall, this is a nice place on the water which offers great views, service and food. Skip the chains and go here for a unique experience.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nicki W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluewater_Management, Manager at Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear Nicki W,

Thank you for the great five star review and your kind words. This was such a pleasure to read! We truly appreciate it because it contributes to the success of our business and it also helps raise the morale of the entire staff. Everybody loves to hear when they are doing a great job! We will definitely share your comments with everyone and thank you once again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

Maybe, I had too high expectations or maybe I chose poorly but the end result was nothing to write home about but still deserves a Trip advisor review. I had the Baked Crab & Artichoke Dip - probably too melted to taste the crab or the artichoke, then the Cioppino - good but slightly overcooked for the mussels or the clams to taste right.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VudeSingapour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluewater_Management, Manager at Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Dear VudeSingapour,

Thank you so much for dining with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback as we will relay it back to our staff and our Chef. Thank you and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bluewater Grill Seafood Restaurant & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing