We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay at older hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We used this hotel before catching a flight to end our vacation throughout northern California. The front desk was friendly and let us pick the floor of our room. (there are three floors only) The staff was friendly the whole time. The room was clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable but the pillows were small. The bathroom was a little wierd because the sink is in the room and the toilet and shower are separate. I would have preferred a totally separate bathroom. Our room smelled a little like Italian food when we walked in.

Breakfast was ok. Fresh waffles but the coffee was terrible. I'd say for the price we paid we got our money's worth. I prefer to stay in more luxurious hotels but we just didn't feel we should spend the money just to have a place to sleep. I would stay here again though.

The other pluses were free wifi, coke and snack machine in the lobby, and fitness center. The cons are location; next to noisy freeway, not in downtown.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Razrbaklinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you for staying with us and mentioning how friendly our staff is. They work really hard to provide our guests with great service. We are sorry about how your room smelled when you first walked in. Our housekeeping staff does a first rate job in cleaning rooms and I have passed along your comments to them. We are also sorry about the coffee. We only use Seattle's Best Coffee and have received numerous compliments. It may have just been a bad batch.

We value your comments as we are always striving to ensure each and every one of our guests has a great stay with us. Your feedback helps us improve our service. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 407 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2012

The Governor's Inn continues to provide a clean, comfortable stay in Sacramento--at very affordable prices. Just minutes from downtown, the Governor's Inn provides a cost-effective alternative to the major hotels. Consistently clean, very nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiggeBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you very much for your candid review of our hotel. We so much appreciate you and all of our guests who choose to stay at the Governors inn Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Found Governors Inn on a whim one night while in Sacramento. Came into town, had a great dinner at the Delta King in old Sacramento (very close to hotel), enjoyed a few drinks at The Back Door bar then realized it was too late to be driving home. The staff at Governors Inn were very polite (forgot his name, middle eastern guy):) he checked us in pretty quickly. The hotel was very clean, the room was great, nice linens and towels. Didn't get to have the breakfast since we opted to sleep in! We've stayed here 2 more times and every time it's great! I mentioned this to the front desk lady, She said "oh, you can right a review" . I'm not sure if her name was Lea, but the 2nd time we stayed, Lea was very friendly and helpful even thought I called her several times with questions! The area is going thru some construction but all for improvements, but hey...you're in Downtown Sacramento! Also, the tissue and toilet paper were fine!!! Pros outweighs the cons! We will definetly be back!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LnF M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

We are so glad that you found everything to be great! And we are so appreciative of you reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We have a very hard working team of talented people who care about our guests.

At the Governors Inn Hotel, we deliver a great value to each and every one of our guests including comfortable rooms, free internet, free parking and complimentary continental breakfast all an excellent value.

Thank you for your great review and look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel only for one night but everything was really perfect.
The room was very clean, they had a nice shower (no curtain - glass door - which I prefer!).
The pool is not very big but ok. Breakfast is perfect (coffee, orange juice, cereals, milk, toast, bagels, muffins...) and the breakfast lady too :-).
Wifi worked fine, we had a fridge in our room and it is about 5 min to the State Capitol.
Would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for your PERFECT review! We know that the hospitality business is all about people and our staff team works really hard to give each and every one of our guest a great experience. We are so glad that you found our hotel a great place to stay.

Thank you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean with all the usual amenities and good continental breakfast. It is not in a good location to walk anywhere downtown, though. Also, check in was absurdly slow...they seemed understaffed.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oregonroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed the amenities and breakfast. Sorry about the slow check-in process. We are accustomed to giving our guests a fast and easy check-in experience. I will share your comments with our front desk team so that we can make the necessary changes to avoid this from happening in the future.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
1.5 km away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown - Arena
7.7 km away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#12 of 83 in Sacramento
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#38 of 83 in Sacramento
294 reviews
0.2 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
1.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: RM 480 - RM 573 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing