We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$193/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arden Star Hotel(Sacramento)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$109
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
543 results
Traveller rating
170
245
89
21
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
245
89
21
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplantation shutterscontinental breakfastyogurtacross the streethomeless peopleroom was largeclose to downtowngas stationtv channelsold townfree shuttlewaffle makereasy accessstay there againparking lotmini fridgeking bed
Filter
Updating list...
429 - 434 of 543 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2012

The Governor's Inn continues to provide a clean, comfortable stay in Sacramento--at very affordable prices. Just minutes from downtown, the Governor's Inn provides a cost-effective alternative to the major hotels. Consistently clean, very nice staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiggeBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Governors Inn H, Guest Relations Manager at Governors Inn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2012

Thank you very much for your candid review of our hotel. We so much appreciate you and all of our guests who choose to stay at the Governors inn Hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Found Governors Inn on a whim one night while in Sacramento. Came into town, had a great dinner at the Delta King in old Sacramento (very close to hotel), enjoyed a few drinks at The Back Door bar then realized it was too late to be driving home. The staff at Governors Inn were very polite (forgot his name, middle eastern guy):) he checked us in pretty quickly. The hotel was very clean, the room was great, nice linens and towels. Didn't get to have the breakfast since we opted to sleep in! We've stayed here 2 more times and every time it's great! I mentioned this to the front desk lady, She said "oh, you can right a review" . I'm not sure if her name was Lea, but the 2nd time we stayed, Lea was very friendly and helpful even thought I called her several times with questions! The area is going thru some construction but all for improvements, but hey...you're in Downtown Sacramento! Also, the tissue and toilet paper were fine!!! Pros outweighs the cons! We will definetly be back!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank LnF M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

We are so glad that you found everything to be great! And we are so appreciative of you reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We have a very hard working team of talented people who care about our guests.

At the Governors Inn Hotel, we deliver a great value to each and every one of our guests including comfortable rooms, free internet, free parking and complimentary continental breakfast all an excellent value.

Thank you for your great review and look forward to having you stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at this hotel only for one night but everything was really perfect.
The room was very clean, they had a nice shower (no curtain - glass door - which I prefer!).
The pool is not very big but ok. Breakfast is perfect (coffee, orange juice, cereals, milk, toast, bagels, muffins...) and the breakfast lady too :-).
Wifi worked fine, we had a fridge in our room and it is about 5 min to the State Capitol.
Would definitely go there again!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for your PERFECT review! We know that the hospitality business is all about people and our staff team works really hard to give each and every one of our guest a great experience. We are so glad that you found our hotel a great place to stay.

Thank you :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012 via mobile

The hotel was clean with all the usual amenities and good continental breakfast. It is not in a good location to walk anywhere downtown, though. Also, check in was absurdly slow...they seemed understaffed.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oregonroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for staying with us! We are glad you enjoyed the amenities and breakfast. Sorry about the slow check-in process. We are accustomed to giving our guests a fast and easy check-in experience. I will share your comments with our front desk team so that we can make the necessary changes to avoid this from happening in the future.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I stay at this hotel once or twice a year,. I have stayed here for years. I keep asking for a listing of the TV channels. No one seems to care enought to print out a list for all the rooms. Every hotel I've ever stayed in, has a listing of TV channels for that area. I ask for one, when I was there on June 4, and finally, after two hours of waiting, got one. It was handwritten ! Don't understand why this is such a difficult thing to provide ! Also, a microwave in the rooms would be nice. Other than that, my stay is usually good. My only other complaint was the breakfast selection. Very poor.

Room Tip: request the room you want when you book
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 3 July 2012

Thank you for letting us know about the TV Channel Guide. When we did our room renovations, we emptied all the rooms and never replaced the TV Channel Guide. Please know that we are producing a TV Channel Guide for each of the rooms and sorry that we did not have them available during your stay. Thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews