We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mine F💟rever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Governors Inn Hotel
Ranked #21 of 83 Hotels in Sacramento
Reviewed 19 October 2017

I wanted a place that was comfortable: clean so I didn't feel the need to go back over everything at arrival, firm but soft-top bed, a quiet night's sleep, a strong shower, nice TV picture, a comfy chair to sit in, an effective AC, a place to write or use my Tablet; ✔✔✔✔✔✔✔✔!

I needed it to be freeway close, situated near the airport and Downtown Sac, close to dining & cultural activities; ✔✔✔!

I hoped for an easy arrival, a bit of a welcome, a courtesy breakfast that gave me choices and allowed me to be either healthy or indulgent based on my mood, with good coffee and and a pleasant place to sit. ✔✔✔!

I got it ALL at Governors Inn!

The room was IMMACULATE & COMFY. The FANTASTIC STAFF went above and beyond in all ways, with warmth, willingness, and an obvious committment to being helpful in a professional yet approachable manner. Even in little ways, understanding my imperative to get to important meetings and my concern about oversleeping my Tablet alarm, they set the wake-up system to call every 5 minutes until I picked up, to be sure I woke. Genius!

On a short 3 day trip, I prefer not to have to deal with housekeeping after setting out my things, and for the first time in YEARS I was NOT bothered by a knock on the door each morning, but only got a knock 15 minutes before check-out on day 3...BRAVO! It even seemed that they assign rooms in a way that whenever possible there are gaps between occupied rooms to minimize disturbance on less-crowded nights.

I wish every hotel in every city could take a lesson from Governors Inn. Most don't. I am spoiled. Even at night in the well-lit parking lot, I felt safe there, as a woman traveling alone. I didn't have time to use the gym or pool, but they looked nice and wish my schedule had been less hectic so I could have. Next stay will be pleasure rather than business, and I will enjoy both of those!

A hearty Thank You to everyone who made my stay so comfortable and easy. I will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd or 3rd floor, on East side. Breakfast ends at 9:30 on weekends, but 9:00 on weekdays!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SRD7284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year

12 - 16 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

This is the second time we've stayed at Governor's Inn Hotel. There is a shuttle to and from the airport and a shuttle to the downtown train station and convention center. We did not use either of these services this time. It is close to downtown but not within walking distance. Our room was quiet and spacious and the bed was comfortable. Breakfast was sparse on protein but adequate. We did see homeless people out back from our window and even a coyote but there were no problems. Easy access to I-5 and Old Sacramento. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

I had good memories of my stay here a year and a half ago. So when I found myself needing lodging in Sacramento again, I chose this hotel based on the experience I had before,the free airport transportation, and the reasonable price for the area. The room was clean and the breakfast selection was good, keeping in mind this is a continental breakfast. I was disappointed by the workout room as the single treadmill was broken. I got the front desk and maintenance in to help me and they verified it was non-functioning. Also, the deal breaker on this particular stay was the way the room smelled. It was an overwhelming smell of chlorine bleach which was very noxious and made me feel a bit ill at first. I opened the window and that helped a little. Fortunately my two daughters were suffering with colds and could not smell anything. Lucky for them! I did not complain about the room smell even though I wanted too. The front desk, while professional, does not give out warm and friendly vibes; I felt I would rather suffer with the smell than deal with their reaction when I told them the room smelled like bleach. I am pretty sure I would have gotten the crazy old lady treatment. Despite the issues I had on this visit, I might stay here again with the hope that the smell issue was a one time thing.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank pwillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017

The breakfast is not very healthy but they did have a bit of fresh fruit. The parking is sufficient and free the location is convenient. There were only fast food restaurants within walking distance they did have room service.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jimemarriott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

Solo traveler--Sacramento was a new destination. After a bad experience in Denver I was a bit leary of reserving on-line-sight unseen. Hotel arranged to pick me up from train station, greeted me respectively but warmly as I entered the hotel. This is an old hotel that has been maintained as a classic. Lounge area was spacious and comfortable, Room was outstanding from the bed, couch, desk, TV, bathroom, shower---all impecable. Even toilet paper AND kleenex folded like a peacock! Carpets immaculate. Only suggestion would be a set of smaller pillows--the FOUR offered were much too thick. And, the shower adjustment was difficult--either too hot or too cold---but it was quiet and comfortable and I would stay here EVERY time I visit Sacramento. Staff was outstanding! Nice breakfast--not fancy and could be improved with eggs, etc. but Bessie the hostess was right there assisting, clearing your table, getting coffee---GREAT SERVICE! Next morning--they drove me to the airport! WOW, such a wonderful change--felt like a Queen! This is truly a hidden gem in Sacramento!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sacramento hotels
1.5 km away
Vagabond Inn Executive Sacramento Old Town
14.7 km away
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
Crowne Plaza Sacramento
#38 of 83 in Sacramento
296 reviews
1.7 km away
Holiday Inn Sacramento Downtown - Arena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hawthorn Suites by Wyndham Sacramento
1.8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Sacramento/South Natomas
7.7 km away
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
Larkspur Landing Sacramento
#8 of 83 in Sacramento
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Governors Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Governors Inn Hotel

Address: 210 Richards Blvd, Sacramento, CA 95811-0236
Region: United States > California > Sacramento
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet (WiFi) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Family Hotel in Sacramento
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sacramento
#22 Business Hotel in Sacramento
Price Range: RM 455 - RM 576 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Governors Inn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see our new guest suites, beautiful new lobby decor and spacious breakfast area! The Governors Inn Hotel, a Sacramento Hotel, has just completed phase one and two of a million dollar property renovation. We are thrilled with the beauty and comfort of our complete make over of our guest rooms. You will completely be relaxed and ready for your day after spending a night with us. The beautiful and sparkling lobby area is comfortable for meetings or just relaxing after a busy day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Governors Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Governors Hotel Sacramento

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing