We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Not bad, but not great either” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ink House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ink House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #12 of 13 St. Helena B&B and Inns
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Not bad, but not great either”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

My wife and stayed at the Ink House 9/2-9/4. Location was good in that it was between St. Helena and Yountville, and bad in that it was not walkable to anything of interest and really diffcult to get out of and head north due to heavy traffic. The rooms were very clean, recently painted, and had newer bed linens/coverings than your typical B&B. Room size was a little better than average for B&B. From the road, the outside looks tired, and could use a good power washing. I'm an early morning person, so breakfast starting at 8:30 was way too late for me. Not a bad place at all to stay, but compared to the Maison Fleurie in Yountville at the same price point, not nearly as good.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    25
    15
    9
    4
See reviews for
10
102
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yreka, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2011

We swung through Napa Valley on our way home from a San Francisco weekend and were having so much fun that we decided to stay the night. We were lucky it was Sunday so there were a number of smaller Inns and B&Bs with rooms that were not priced crazy and the Ink House was recommended to us by both the Whitehall Lane winery tasting room staff and the Beaulieu Vineyards tasting room folks.

We drove right over and they had two rooms open and let us pick which one we wanted at a great rate -- stay away from the fancy hotels and Inn/Spas in Napa unless you have $600 plus to spend on a room night in the summer! We had a spacious room, king sized bed, nice a/c all night, and a killer breakfast in the morning. Only wish we had checked in earlier as we were too late for the happy hour the night before. In the morning we took the Ink House bikes out for a spin and sampled some petit sirah grapes in their vineyard - not ripe yet!

Neat property, neat historic inn, super service - this was a great find and we thank the wineries for the recommendation and the Ink House for a super stay!!

Liz and Sam N.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We want to say thank you so much to the Ink House for making our first visit to Napa such a wonderful time. We were upgraded, at no charge, to the largest room on arrival and things just kept getting better! The breakfasts were great with the Ink House mushroom quiche being our favorite, the bed was super comfy, and the VIP passes to wineries and recommendations to smaller and easy-to-miss wineries were terrific. The wine and appetizer happy hour was fun with stories from the innkeeper and a winery pouring for us one night as well. But the best was all the help that Rachel and Andrea gave us in making dinner reservations, winery appointments, mud baths (!), and more that helped us newbies really enjoy the Napa Valley (it's bigger than you think with more than 500 wineries and about 100 restaurants).

Thanks Ink House and next time we are going to book the "Elvis Room" and come back in the fall when we can eat some of the grapes in your vineyard!

John & Anne

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAGIDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

First time staying at a B&B and absolutely would come back again to the Ink House. We were able to get pricing since seasonal prices hadn't kicked in yet, but if you are looking for a nice treat above staying at a hotel - this is worth the additional cost. The amenties were great, room was perfect size for myself and my bf, and breakfast in the morning was delicious. The property was huge and the grounds were absolutely beautiful. It was great looking around to see vineyards and staying right in the middle of wine country. The service was also amazing! They were so accomodating to any of our requests. I would certainly come back to the Ink House again for another B&B stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maz811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gila Bend
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We spent two weeks driving from our home in Arizona to Oregon and back and the Ink House was our most memorable lodge and wins the Award for Best of Trip!

We are history buffs, so the Inn was right up our alley. It's on the National Historic Registry and it's a historical experience with the decor, grounds, barn, vineyard, etc. Plus the innkeeper took us through the history of the house since the 1800s - a great story and fascinating to listen to. Our breakfasts were delicious and filling, the room was large with a king bed but thankfully they also had wireless internet as sometimes our historical inn choices don't and we needed to stay connected.

It was also smack in the middle of a bunch of great wineries that we could walk to and all comped our tastings when they heard we were staying at the Ink House. The Ink House does have it's own petite syra vineyard that we picniced in one day as well.

Thanks to the staff for excellent service and recommendations and we've already told lots of our friends and will bring some with us on the next trip!

Carol & Bob

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DesertCandB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St. Helena
2.5 km away
Harvest Inn by Charlie Palmer
11.1 km away
Hotel Yountville
Hotel Yountville
#2 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
7.5 km away
The Wine Country Inn
The Wine Country Inn
#2 of 9 in St. Helena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Auberge du Soleil
Auberge du Soleil
#1 of 1 in Rutherford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
10.6 km away
Bardessono
Bardessono
#1 of 6 in Yountville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
9.8 km away
Napa Valley Lodge
Napa Valley Lodge
#4 of 6 in Yountville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ink House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ink House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Ink House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 1575 Saint Helena Hwy S, St. Helena, CA 94574-9775
Region: United States > California > Napa Valley > St. Helena
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in St. Helena
Price range (per night): RM556 - RM1,090
Hotel Class:3 star — Ink House Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is a gorgeous 1884 National Historic Registry Mansion on four acres and surrounded by world class wineries and vineyards in the heart of the Napa Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Ink House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ink House Bed And Breakfast
Ink House Hotel St. Helena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing