We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money at the restaurant”
Review of Madonna Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Madonna Inn
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in San Luis Obispo
Certificate of Excellence
Port Hueneme, California, United States
1 review
“Don't waste your money at the restaurant”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

The Modonna Inn is one of those places you put on the "I need to do that at least once" list. The rooms were very nice but needed some updating. The pillows were not pillows just a bunch of hard balls. (I think maybe original from opening day).And the beds are very hard. But we enjoyed the unique styles of the rooms. But what ever you do DO NOT EAT AT THE RESTAURANT! Way over priced for what you get. I have no problem payed good money for quality food but the steaks were full of grissel with no flaver and they were out of most of their cakes which is what we had heard so much about. The food was cold and looked like something my 12 year old daughter could make better. The worst part is we had to wait a long time and pay to much for this food and service. I think they decorate the resaurant so crazy so that you don't notice how bad your food is.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toomuch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    506
    214
    81
    64
See reviews for
434
737
27
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
141 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

The Madonna Inn is well worth a visit, if only to browse the shop, or have a look around the Inn which is a unique experience - apparently the gents toilets are worth a look!! We stayed in the Captains Bridge room which was again really unique if not a little too dark. We had dinner in the restaurant which was excellent and great value for money. Note that the Inn is not really close to the town centre, so if you plan to eat in town then you need a car or a taxi. We also enjoyed the spa which is above the Inn, it is very clean and the pool very refreshing on a warm day. If you are passing through I would recommend that you stop for a night.

Room Tip: Browse the Madonna Inn web site as they show what each room looks like
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

An amazingly gratorious hotel. The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. Although not able to book the room we really really wanted (as you have to nominate a few rooms) the hotel did book us into our first choice which was Yahoo, the cowboy room. It was truly brilliant, complete with a starry starry ceiling.

A hotel like no other, it is way over the top, but what a great place to stay in the land of excess. It may not be everybody's cup of tea but if you like the look of the hotel (and the website shows photos of every room it has) you will not be disappointed.

We ate in the restaurant and it was very enjoyable, i swear Barbara Cartland was hiding round the corner of every pillar, smiling.

Room Tip: Have a look at their website, the rooms are all photographed and well worth spending time looking fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garagedweller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2012

We just got home from a weekend stay at The Madonna Inn. It was a very nice experience. We stayed in the Traveler's Suite (room 157) and it was HUGE!!! There are two king size beds as well as two large chairs and an enormous sofa. It was clean and comfortable. The staff was really nice from the front desk to the bar and cafe everyone was very accommodating. We would definitely go back. The reason fro only 4 instead of 5 stars was the thin walls. We could hear our neighbors pretty clearly late into the evening.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

For years I dreamed of spending a night...or more...at the Madonna Inn. It's known for it themed rooms and pampering. The Inn was a pleasant surprise because of the new upgrades to the old hotel. We stayed in one of the "rock" rooms which makes taking a shower a whole new experience. Our room came with a waterfall in the shower! The bedding was extremely inviting and the ammenties were Madonna Inn style. Each room has a flat screen tv, ironing board and robes to keep you looking your best. The best surprise was the new spa area next to the pool. The spa offers all the usual services at reasonable prices. The pool area has a two jacuzzis and a waterfall along with an exercise room and bar. The view from the pool area is gorgeous, especially as the sun sets and the surrounding mountains turn shades of red and gold. We were not disappointed with the Inn even though we waited 35 years to stay there. One more thing off the list...check!

Room Tip: Check for internet prices before heading to the desk...you'll save a bunch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevie012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Luis Obispo hotels
3.4 km away
Apple Farm Inn
Apple Farm Inn
#3 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,366 reviews
3.3 km away
San Luis Creek Lodge
San Luis Creek Lodge
#2 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
610 reviews
3.0 km away
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
Quality Suites San Luis Obispo
#1 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
La Cuesta Inn
La Cuesta Inn
#11 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
381 reviews
0.5 km away
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hotel
Best Western Plus Royal Oak Hote...
#6 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
826 reviews
0.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Luis Obispo
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Lui...
#10 of 32 in San Luis Obispo
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Madonna Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madonna Inn

Property: Madonna Inn
Address: 100 Madonna Rd, San Luis Obispo, CA 93405-5489
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Luis Obispo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Luis Obispo
#7 Family Hotel in San Luis Obispo
Price range (per night): RM1,008 - RM1,455
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Madonna Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Madonna Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madonna Hotel San Luis Obispo
Madonna Inn San Luis Obispo
Madonna San Luis Obispo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing