We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2017

First I wanted to give only 1 start, but then I remembered how people are nice at the Front Desk and Housekeeping.
I love Residence Inn, rooms are big and nice. In this one, you can tell almost everything is very old. I mentioned this to Front Desk and one nice lady told me that they are waiting for renovations at the end of the year. Which means that they know that they have an issue and they are working on it, so I am not taking any points for that...
If I was writing this at evening, after lovely Happy Hour (great desserts and vine options) I would give them 5*.
BUT...
Breakfast attendant made me so uncomfortable that I took the food and decided to finish mine breakfast in a room. He walked by me 2,3 times saying how tips are very appreciated and that's the way we can thank him for cooking for us. WHAT?! Wait...WHAT?! Since when someone needs to tell people to give tips? Is that some new rule?? I never stayed in any hotel where someone made me so uncomfortable. I always leave the tips when I feel that they are well deserved, but this made me so mad that I just waited to come home to write this review.
On my shock, I just read a similar review posted a month ago where one lady complained about the same issue. Does this means that Managers read this and they think this is perfectly fine?? I just want the answer on this. If they think that is how Marriott employee should behave then they will not see me ever again.
Long review, I know. But when I think of this guy I get very mad and uncomfortable and I had to share it.
To end the review on a nice note- if this guy is not there, I would enjoy my stay and I would come back.

Room Tip: If available, get the room that is facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank worldtraveler0012017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2017

This hotel has definitely slowly deteriorated since it's opening.
We stayed for one week early August, which was our third yearly visit, but we will not return.
As always the noise from the road is constant, i know this is unavoidable due to the property location, but it's made worse by the fact a Harley Davidson shop is around the corner, so very loud bikes are always around.
We had constant problems with the room keys, which were not working for access to anywhere within the building!
The daily housekeeping is very poor, i don't think the bathroom floor was even swept.
Breakfast food quality is also poor - the worst scrambled eggs ever - think they are baked in the oven! The food is not replenished enough (it would appear this hotel is trying to cut back!) no matter what time we went fro breakfast, almost every option was gone & not replenished unless someone brought it to the attention of staff.
One particular breakfast attendant made several hints for tips & several remarks about getting the food before it's gone - counting down the time until breakfast was finished. Highly unprofessional.
A shame a nice hotel has gone down hill so much.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yorksgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy L, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Yorksgina.

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your observations and feedback allow us an opportunity to reflect on what we can do to better the experience for our guests. I apologize that we did not live up to yours - or certainly our own expectations.

We look forward to celebrating enhancements in the future; starting with our renovations in December. If your travels were to bring you back to San Marcos- we would be delighted to host you again.

Thank you,

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Off the beaten path and was looking forward to staying here. Always choose Marriott's(100 night this year). Staff was not very knowledgeable, the night food was weak and the wine was horrible. Breakfast started 30 minutes late, where there was a line waiting and for those needing to beat traffic and get on the road, that was a severe problem. The chair in the room looked 50 years old. Will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hello Tom L,
I'm so sorry that we fell short of your expectations. We normally do not get theses type of comments. We look forward to our upcoming renovation towards the end of this year. I have not had a complaint before on the wine, and because this review is anonymous, I am unable to research when you stayed, what food was served, etc...
I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly. I can be reached at (760)591-9828.
Sincerely,
Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The quality has really deteriorated lately. The following is a list of issues that caused us to move out after two nights: Room keys constantly having to be rekeyed. (Numerous guests shared this as well), sheets laundered in a perfume soap causing itching, electrical outlets not working, lights not working, utensils not sufficient (all tablespoons and no teaspoons), one of two elevators not working, sponges cut in half (obviously to save money), Furniture is in disrepair, television listings ie HBO not on the TV, handicapped hall buzzer broken and not repaired. WIFI is a joke. This is not the first time we have stayed here and are greatly disappointed. Won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Peter R,
We definitely have been having problems with our key system and are currently working with our vendor to get this fixed. We are looking forward to beginning a renovation starting on December 1st. I will also address the laundry soap with our vendor, which is a National Account providing laundry chemicals across the globe.
My maintenance staff will certainly address the issues that you list of electrical problems. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention in this particular suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights. Nice spot to get to many north San Diego spots. Clean and large rooms. Pool and events each evening. Can walk to a mall. And most importantly can walk to Rip Current brewery.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ShaunD926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear ShaunD926,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to the Residence Inn of San Marcos, Ca.
I so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and were able to also take advantage of our location to the mall and Rip Current brewery, it is a good choice.
We hope to see you again in the near future..
Sincerely,
Toby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Marcos
2.3 km away
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott San Diego North/San Marcos
2.8 km away
Hampton Inn San Marcos
Hampton Inn San Marcos
#2 of 5 in San Marcos
449 reviews
4.8 km away
TownePlace Suites San Diego Carlsbad/Vista
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 km away
Hyatt Place San Diego/Vista-Carlsbad
8.2 km away
Best Western Escondido Hotel
8.1 km away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Carlsbad-North San Diego County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos

Address: 1245 Los Vallecitos Blvd, San Marcos, CA 92069-1400
Region: United States > California > San Marcos
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in San Marcos
Price Range: RM519 - RM890 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn San Diego North San Marcos hotel by Marriott blends stylish modern luxuries like stainless steel appliances and 32-inch flat panel HDTV's, all the comforts you expect for an extended stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos Hotel San Marcos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing