We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hampton Inn San Marcos(San Marcos)(Great Value!)
US$218
US$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$219
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$76
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$366
US$299
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$256
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Carlsbad(Carlsbad)(Great Value!)
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
Motel 6
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (340)
Filter reviews
340 results
Traveller rating
217
78
27
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
78
27
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskfull kitchenone bedroom suiteeasy freeway accessevening receptionyogurtfavorite hotelsitting areafree breakfastminute drivewould stay againbusiness tripdishwasherbilliardslegolandweddinginns
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 340 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017

This hotel has definitely slowly deteriorated since it's opening.
We stayed for one week early August, which was our third yearly visit, but we will not return.
As always the noise from the road is constant, i know this is unavoidable due to the property location, but it's made worse by the fact a Harley Davidson shop is around the corner, so very loud bikes are always around.
We had constant problems with the room keys, which were not working for access to anywhere within the building!
The daily housekeeping is very poor, i don't think the bathroom floor was even swept.
Breakfast food quality is also poor - the worst scrambled eggs ever - think they are baked in the oven! The food is not replenished enough (it would appear this hotel is trying to cut back!) no matter what time we went fro breakfast, almost every option was gone & not replenished unless someone brought it to the attention of staff.
One particular breakfast attendant made several hints for tips & several remarks about getting the food before it's gone - counting down the time until breakfast was finished. Highly unprofessional.
A shame a nice hotel has gone down hill so much.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Yorksgina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy L, Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Yorksgina.

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay with us. Your observations and feedback allow us an opportunity to reflect on what we can do to better the experience for our guests. I apologize that we did not live up to yours - or certainly our own expectations.

We look forward to celebrating enhancements in the future; starting with our renovations in December. If your travels were to bring you back to San Marcos- we would be delighted to host you again.

Thank you,

Cathy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Off the beaten path and was looking forward to staying here. Always choose Marriott's(100 night this year). Staff was not very knowledgeable, the night food was weak and the wine was horrible. Breakfast started 30 minutes late, where there was a line waiting and for those needing to beat traffic and get on the road, that was a severe problem. The chair in the room looked 50 years old. Will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Hello Tom L,
I'm so sorry that we fell short of your expectations. We normally do not get theses type of comments. We look forward to our upcoming renovation towards the end of this year. I have not had a complaint before on the wine, and because this review is anonymous, I am unable to research when you stayed, what food was served, etc...
I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly. I can be reached at (760)591-9828.
Sincerely,
Toby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

The quality has really deteriorated lately. The following is a list of issues that caused us to move out after two nights: Room keys constantly having to be rekeyed. (Numerous guests shared this as well), sheets laundered in a perfume soap causing itching, electrical outlets not working, lights not working, utensils not sufficient (all tablespoons and no teaspoons), one of two elevators not working, sponges cut in half (obviously to save money), Furniture is in disrepair, television listings ie HBO not on the TV, handicapped hall buzzer broken and not repaired. WIFI is a joke. This is not the first time we have stayed here and are greatly disappointed. Won't stay here again.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Dear Peter R,
We definitely have been having problems with our key system and are currently working with our vendor to get this fixed. We are looking forward to beginning a renovation starting on December 1st. I will also address the laundry soap with our vendor, which is a National Account providing laundry chemicals across the globe.
My maintenance staff will certainly address the issues that you list of electrical problems. Thank you for bringing these issues to my attention in this particular suite.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights. Nice spot to get to many north San Diego spots. Clean and large rooms. Pool and events each evening. Can walk to a mall. And most importantly can walk to Rip Current brewery.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ShaunD926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Dear ShaunD926,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to the Residence Inn of San Marcos, Ca.
I so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and were able to also take advantage of our location to the mall and Rip Current brewery, it is a good choice.
We hope to see you again in the near future..
Sincerely,
Toby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2017

Service was very professional and courteous. The hotel is non-smoking and pet-friendly. Parking, Breakfast and WiFi are free, but the parking lot is a bit small. Be sure to return to your room early or you may be out of luck. Lobby has a nice pool table. The room was very nice, clean, and roomy. We were there for my kid's tournament, so it wasn't really a vacation for us. However, if you look on a map. the hotel is centrally located between Legoland, San Diego Zoo Safari Park, and San Diego Zoo. Phil's BBQ was only a mile away. Bonus! If I were to ever to plan a vacation down in San Diego, this is where I'd book my stay. If you stay in San Diego, expect to pay more for your room plus pay for parking. We requested and were permitted late checkout so that my kid could shower after the games, which was definitely appreciated because it was a really hot weekend and a very long drive home. Kudos!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank j_dub4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toby S, General Manager at Residence Inn San Diego North/San Marcos, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear j_dub4040,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit with us at the Residence Inn of San Marcos, Ca.
I'm very pleased to know that you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to see you return soon.
Sincerely,
Toby
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews