We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good but walls are thin”
Review of Silver Surf Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Silver Surf Motel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Reviewed 9 August 2017

good location and decent and clean except for the noisy neighbors next door who were arguing loudly till the late hours. I called the front desk but no one picked up (it was prob 11pm). They were at it past 12, close to prob 1-2am, I had to bang on the walls to tell them to pipe down. The room on the other side had someone snoring LOUDLY. Between those 2 rooms and me being the middle, it was an awful evening and not much sleep for me. Other than that, hotel was decent and clean.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room with no neighbors oneither side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kbui12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

24 - 28 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2017

Went on a 5 hour road trip while visiting Orange County, California up to Hearst Castle and decided to stay over night so I pulled out my phone ran through a few no chain hotels and found Silver Surf Motel. It was a great place, nice and clean near a good roadside restaurant and enjoyed my stay. It was quiet, had good a good sized room and indoor heated pool. It's located opposite side of the ocean and was pretty good for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mallory T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

This is the second time we've stayed at Silver Surf and they don't disappoint. They're affordable, helpful, and good value for money. Very convenient if you're trying to visit Hearst castle, or just looking for elephant seals. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

I stayed at the Silver Surf Motel while passing through San Simeon, California for one night. I am pretty sure the rooms have been recently renovated and they were nicely done, although there wasn't any sort of fan or anything to block out noise from the outside. Also, the room is far overpriced for what you get...$222 for one night, with no complimentary breakfast, I think one can do better.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JewelsLasVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

bed was nice, room was clean, yard is a bit of a mess, lobby is clean and welcoming. took a while to check in and no one was there when I checked out so I did not get a receipt-they did not answer the bell either.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Simeon
0.1 km away
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
Courtesy Inn San Simeon
#8 of 10 in San Simeon
545 reviews
0.2 km away
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
Cavalier Oceanfront Resort
#1 of 10 in San Simeon
2,837 reviews
0.4 km away
The Morgan at San Simeon
The Morgan at San Simeon
#4 of 10 in San Simeon
918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Days Inn San Simeon
Days Inn San Simeon
#6 of 10 in San Simeon
627 reviews
0.2 km away
Quality Inn San Simeon
Quality Inn San Simeon
#9 of 10 in San Simeon
272 reviews
4.1 km away
Oceanpoint Ranch
Oceanpoint Ranch
#6 of 12 in Cambria
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Surf Motel

Address: 9390 Castillo Dr, San Simeon, CA 93452-9727
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > San Simeon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in San Simeon
Price Range: RM226 - RM622 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Silver Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Silver Surf Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Surf Hotel San Simeon
Silver Surf San Simeon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing