We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”

Santa Barbara Shellfish Company
Ranked #35 of 567 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

Great, fresh seafood on the Santa Barbara pier. What a fun experience! Walk up to the order window or eat on the deck with a view of the ocean or inside. Lobster right in the tank. Great drinks too!

Thank Bdgrieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justine b, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Barbara Shellfish Company, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2015

We are happy to hear you enjoyed our beer selections as well as the fresh seafood from the tanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

393 - 397 of 1,288 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2015

we came there for lunch the place has a very nice location on the wharf ,
after standing for 30 min in the line we entered,
i ate the crab cake - it was good
if you really like crabs its probabblly the place for you, if not ....

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank diagal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justine b, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Barbara Shellfish Company, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the crab and had a minimal wait.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Nice views, small dining area, no A/C but decent food albeit grossly overpriced - generally served fresh with good service is the short version of this review... the longer version is it is basically a tourist type place due to its location at the end of the wharf... the very end I might add - you actually have to walk by other restaurants to get there, though you can drive out on the wharf w/free 90 min parking... it's the kind of place you want to visit once because of the hype but it may not be on your favorites list. There is something odd about eating a Maine lobster on the end of a wharf in Santa Barbara.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DanM320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justine b, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Barbara Shellfish Company, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We have many local shellfish options( crab, abalone, lobster, mussels, etc..) if you choose to dine with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2015

5 of us ate for lunch and we loved it! the seafood variety is excellent and the daily specials quite good. its all so fresh with water views everywhere. we had a great and very attentiive waiter and thouroughly enjoyed our lunch

Thank pandpCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
justine b, Guest Relations Manager at Santa Barbara Shellfish Company, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2015

We appreciate you taking the time to share your enjoyable experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2015 via mobile

I'm sorry - I'm usually generous with my reviews but we had lunch here today and it wasn't very good. My husband had the lobster tacos and they were horrid - maybe because we are from San Diego the comparison is unfair. I had a crab sandwich which consisted of buttered sourdough toast, cheese (?) and a thin layer of crab salad. It was ok but not great. I even returned the lemonade, which was odd tasting. I give it 3 stars for location and view.

Thank painthorsegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Barbara Shellfish Company also viewed

 

Been to Santa Barbara Shellfish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing