We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel but tiny rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

This hotel is better suited for couples traveling than families. The rooms have gorgeous finishes but the room was so small that the fire Marshall doesn't allow a roll away.
Our family really felt on top of each other no matter where we were in the room. Plus the very cool sliding barn door to the bathroom didn't have a latch so we had to prop up a pillow to keep it closed for privacy. On the upside, the pillows are exceptional comfy and if you have kids that don't want to share a bed, you can line them up on the floor for a make shift bed. However, make sure you specify to the staff when you ask for extra blankets that you don't want the scratchy, waffle weaved ones.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Amwebster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (566)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2017

This hotel is fantastic! Don't bother looking for another hotel to stay at, this is the one. Marriott has done an amazing job with décor. Upon entering the lobby you are in love. The front desk counter is this beautiful long piece of crafted wood. Wood is used tastefully throughout the hotel's décor. We stayed in a king size room. The room had a coffee maker, fridge, and complimentary water, always a great thing. I felt the room was a good size. The bathroom was a little small, but very nice. There are robes, but no slippers which I did find odd, normally slippers would be included.
My favorite though was the pool. Most hotels tell you they have heated pools and more often than not they don't, at least not what I would consider heated. The Paradox however, truly does. Santa Cruz gets pretty chilly in the late afternoon and wind tends to pick up. The pool is heated to 82 degrees, at night you can see the steam coming off of it. It was blissful. Its a large pool as well. If you do head down to the pool don't forget your robe. The pool area also has a couple of fire pit tables. I recommend sitting at one ordering a drink and or dessert and enjoying the night.
We didn't have dinner or breakfast here, but did try the desserts, they were yummy.

The only negative comment I have is there wasn't anyone available to help us with our luggage. Not sure if that is always the case or this was an off night. If it is normally I would recommend hiring more staff.

I hope you enjoy your stay here as much as we did.
Keep on traveling!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The Hotel is refurbished with very nice bathrooms. Pool area is very comfortable and pool good size. They have bikes to ride to boardwalk and beach. Very nicely situated for everything want to do in the area, about an hr to Monterey, Cliff Drive and Wilder Ranch minutes away, Capitola short drive. The area is very bohemian. I would recommend if looking for Hotel in Santa Cruz. Has free shuttle to the beach.

Room Tip: Think even numbers face pool which is far nicer
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Besos43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We found this hotel quite by luck! It was a trendy, hip spot with a modern themed decor: barnwood, fire pits, farm-to-table restaurant, and an amazing staff happy to meet you and make your stay just right! We will be back soon!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We went to the Hotel Paradox over 4th of July weekend for a quick getaway. We got a pretty good deal on Priceline ($159 night). The hotel bills itself as a "hip" hotel. It does have cool/quirky furnishings and is a very nice environment. I would say it's "Oasis-like".

Pros: nice environment, very nice staff, comfortable rooms
Free beach cruiser bike rentals for 2 hours
Very nice gym facility
Pet friendly
Free Illy coffee pods.

Cons: next to a homeless park and downtown where there are homeless people everywhere
You can hear EVERYTHING through the walls.
Some rooms have mini fridge "coolers" instead of an actual fridge
The pool hours are until 10pm...however, it was full of kids until then and if you just wanted to swim, it was impossible as they occupied the entire pool playing a water polo game. They should have "adult hours" past 7pm. The kids had the pool all day...
If you get the "Priceline" deal, you will end up on the backside of the hotel which faces the parking lot and "Doctors on Call". You will hear sirens the entire night. Bummer.
Self-parking cost $10 per day.
Pet friendly....could be a problem if you have allergies as the animals sit everywhere. There was a cat next door to us that
meowed when its owners left him in the room alone all day and night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kristinche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
1.7 km away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,723 reviews
6.6 km away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
0.6 km away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#7 of 54 in Santa Cruz
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Best Western Plus All Suites Inn
1.8 km away
Sea & Sand Inn
Sea & Sand Inn
#1 of 54 in Santa Cruz
473 reviews
3.9 km away
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Chaminade Resort & Spa
#13 of 54 in Santa Cruz
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection

Address: 611 Ocean Street, Santa Cruz, CA 95060-4005 (Formerly Hotel Paradox)
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 54 Hotels in Santa Cruz
Price Range: RM805 - RM1,829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Paradox is the newest boutique Hotel in Santa Cruz. The hotel has been fully rebuilt by designer David Oldroyd of Orlando Diaz-Azcuy Design Associates of San Francisco. The design elements replicate the feeling of being in a Redwood forest to bring the outdoors indoors. Enjoy the feeling of the forest in our specially designed guest rooms and suites. Visit the Hotel Paradox Pool Deck complete with private, rentable Cabanas, chaise loungers, tables for poolside dining and outdoor/indoor bar area. Hungry for more? Dine with us in Solaire, a fresh farm-to-table organic produced and sourced dining experience headed up by Chef Ross McKee. Solaire serves Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner with a wine and beer bar area. All guest rooms feature the outdoor elements to enhance the feeling of the outdoors, yet offer all the amenities you seek to ensure a completely fresh, sunny Santa Cruz experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing