We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Santa Cruz(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$210
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Quality Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mission Inn(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$420
US$383
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place Santa Cruz(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$369
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$309
US$300
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Beach/Boardwalk Area(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$281
US$270
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chaminade Resort & Spa(Santa Cruz)(Great Value!)
US$316
US$255
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$344
US$332
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (672)
Filter reviews
672 results
Traveller rating
315
217
88
39
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
315
217
88
39
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areafree shuttlefire pitbarn doorhot tubshuttle serviceholiday inncool hotelwalking distance to downtownhomeless peoplenice poolocean streetrooms are smallup to dateking bedmini fridgethe santa cruz area
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 672 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2017

This hotel is fantastic! Don't bother looking for another hotel to stay at, this is the one. Marriott has done an amazing job with décor. Upon entering the lobby you are in love. The front desk counter is this beautiful long piece of crafted wood. Wood is used tastefully throughout the hotel's décor. We stayed in a king size room. The room had a coffee maker, fridge, and complimentary water, always a great thing. I felt the room was a good size. The bathroom was a little small, but very nice. There are robes, but no slippers which I did find odd, normally slippers would be included.
My favorite though was the pool. Most hotels tell you they have heated pools and more often than not they don't, at least not what I would consider heated. The Paradox however, truly does. Santa Cruz gets pretty chilly in the late afternoon and wind tends to pick up. The pool is heated to 82 degrees, at night you can see the steam coming off of it. It was blissful. Its a large pool as well. If you do head down to the pool don't forget your robe. The pool area also has a couple of fire pit tables. I recommend sitting at one ordering a drink and or dessert and enjoying the night.
We didn't have dinner or breakfast here, but did try the desserts, they were yummy.

The only negative comment I have is there wasn't anyone available to help us with our luggage. Not sure if that is always the case or this was an off night. If it is normally I would recommend hiring more staff.

I hope you enjoy your stay here as much as we did.
Keep on traveling!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2017

The Hotel is refurbished with very nice bathrooms. Pool area is very comfortable and pool good size. They have bikes to ride to boardwalk and beach. Very nicely situated for everything want to do in the area, about an hr to Monterey, Cliff Drive and Wilder Ranch minutes away, Capitola short drive. The area is very bohemian. I would recommend if looking for Hotel in Santa Cruz. Has free shuttle to the beach.

Room Tip: Think even numbers face pool which is far nicer
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Besos43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

We found this hotel quite by luck! It was a trendy, hip spot with a modern themed decor: barnwood, fire pits, farm-to-table restaurant, and an amazing staff happy to meet you and make your stay just right! We will be back soon!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

We went to the Hotel Paradox over 4th of July weekend for a quick getaway. We got a pretty good deal on Priceline ($159 night). The hotel bills itself as a "hip" hotel. It does have cool/quirky furnishings and is a very nice environment. I would say it's "Oasis-like".

Pros: nice environment, very nice staff, comfortable rooms
Free beach cruiser bike rentals for 2 hours
Very nice gym facility
Pet friendly
Free Illy coffee pods.

Cons: next to a homeless park and downtown where there are homeless people everywhere
You can hear EVERYTHING through the walls.
Some rooms have mini fridge "coolers" instead of an actual fridge
The pool hours are until 10pm...however, it was full of kids until then and if you just wanted to swim, it was impossible as they occupied the entire pool playing a water polo game. They should have "adult hours" past 7pm. The kids had the pool all day...
If you get the "Priceline" deal, you will end up on the backside of the hotel which faces the parking lot and "Doctors on Call". You will hear sirens the entire night. Bummer.
Self-parking cost $10 per day.
Pet friendly....could be a problem if you have allergies as the animals sit everywhere. There was a cat next door to us that
meowed when its owners left him in the room alone all day and night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kristinche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

We stayed here after a few days in Yosemite to relax before our return. We were beat and ready to relax. We went to the pool for beers the day after check in and the service was terrible, staff was nice, but a big disconnect and how long it took to get food and drink. After speaking to the front desk, I said we would go to a store and get our own drinks and instead of an apology or offering to take us to the store they just directed us to the store. So frustrating.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2017

Dear Joe M,

Thanks for your recent visit and review. I'm happy to hear that you felt the staff were nice but their service neither met your nor our expectations. I would be grateful to be able to speak with you about this and can be contacted @ david.curell@hotelparadox.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews