We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“expensive small sandwiches”
Review of Cafe Delmarette

Cafe Delmarette
Ranked #9 of 21 Coffee & Tea in Santa Cruz
Restaurant details
Reviewed 30 October 2018

I went in and asked for their ham sandwich. the prices you see on the board is just for what's described on the board! If you want a real sandwich with lettuce and tomatoes, go elsewhere. anything additional to what the description says, will be an upcharge. And worse than that, the sandwich did not really taste that good. after shelling out
$10 for just two slices of bread, couple of slices of ordinary ham, and a slice of cheese, I had to walk down Pacific Ave to the Sandwich spot and pay for an actual sandwich. Don't waste your money here!!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (18)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 18 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2018

We really enjoyed both our visits to this Cafe. The location right on Pacific Avenue is great and the range of options for lunch and dinner are great with a lot of healthy, vegan and veggie options and meat for those that want it too.
We had a Ham and Cheese sandwich and then various breakfast options from oatmeal to granola and yoghurt etc. The food was really good. Great coffee too.
Servers could have been more welcoming and positive, this would have given the extra star for us. Would still recommend though.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

Location matters for every business and I am always pleased to have good dining choices in Santa Cruz that help solve logistic challenges like parking and making a time sensitive event.

Cafe Delmarette is ideally located on Pacific Ave in Santa Cruz near the grand Del Mar Theater (movie house) the Catalyst as well as other night spots. They offer a great range of quick dining solutions that have the panache of home cooked and creative, but aren't as pricey as some of the sister establishments in the area and it is a perfect stop before or after enjoying the downtown nightlife.

They always have vegan offerings along with standard dining faire. I was so pleased they brought the Rolando open face sandwich back this summer. Vegan pesto light veggies and a topping of greens that make a very satisfying mid-day or evening nosh and they are right next door to the movies.

They have a wide range of coffee, teas and are very reasonably priced. You can sit at their sidewalk patio or indoors (if its a chilly evening). Good people watching, and truly a boutique eating experience.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Theeharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

A cute little place located in the heart of downtown Santa Cruz, with creative, fresh, and delicious sandwiches, salads, and baked goods. It's more a cafe for meeting friends or grabbing an afternoon coffee rather than to work.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Café Delmarette has a nice cozy feel. There’s an outdoor seating section looking out onto Pacific Ave., and indoor seating with a few tables and a window counter. I had the vegan sandwich special (around $9, incl. tax). I was also tempted by the grilled cheese (cheaper at around $6) but I was glad I went for the vegan option. It was an open-faced sandwich with cilantro pesto, herb-roasted zucchini, avocado, and pea shoots. It was nicely seasoned and came with plenty of toppings and a side of Kettle chips. I could tell that the staff members were nice by the way they patiently dealt with a guy who wandered in with some flowers, looking for a container, and then tried to pinch a few flowers from a vase in the café!

I’m also giving Café Delmarette 5/5 “green stars” for social and environmental impact, based on these reasons:
• They make their own hemp and almond milk! They also stock soy, coconut and coconut-almond milk.
• Coffee from good local roasters: Verve, Sightglass, Cat and Cloud, Andytown, and Chromatic.
• The menu varies according to what's in season and they use organic ingredients when possible.
• Most of the menu is vegan or vegetarian and for meat they list sources (e.g., Niman Ranch bacon).
• They serve organic Tcho hot chocolate and homemade organic watermelon juice and lemonade.
• For breakfast you can have organic oatmeal, Strauss yoghurt and granola, or organic quinoa with almonds.
Find out more at the Green Stars Project.

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JKay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Delmarette also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Delmarette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing