We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good food and innovative dishes”
Review of Walnut Avenue Cafe

Walnut Avenue Cafe
Ranked #4 of 406 Restaurants in Santa Cruz
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not a lot happening early in Santa Cruz so go to the Walnut Avenue Cafe. It's busy but they get the job done. There are plenty of waitstaff and they pay attention. Food is great. Ahi Benedict is a winner. Huevos Mexicanos is as well. Prices reasonable. Unbeatable breakfast.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hewitty15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our family’s favorite place to go for breakfast. My son loves the French bread & my daughter loves the omelettes. My husband & I share #1 Special with scrambled eggs, tomatoes & black beans so very delicious!!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Margarita23644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Awesome breakfast ahi Benedict was one of the best breakfast dishes I have had. Service excellent ambiance good. Just get there ray or br prepa4sd ho wait.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018 via mobile

Our first stop in Santa Cruz was here and we sat outside in the morning sun. Service was a little slow at a busy time (waiting about 10 mins for the table to be cleared) but food came pretty quickly. I had the shrimp benedict, husband Ahi Tuna benedict: tasty and hot. Orange juice good quality, coffee ok. Not cheap but good quality food.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

We could not have been happier with our experience here. What a great breakfast had by all in the group! The hollandaise sauce was phenomenal-best part of the meal!! Everything was cooked to perfection and came out piping hot! The hashbrowns had a bit of a crunch and everything was served with fresh orange slices that added colour to the plate. The portions were huge and we all left so full that we didn't even eat lunch! The prices are also very reasonable for the portions you get. My husband didn't want a side of toast with his meal and was able to switch that out for a muffin and saved it for the car ride later to our next destination.
There was quite a wait to be seated, but we walked around the street for awhile and figured it was worth the wait based on the reviews. We were correct in thinking that!
Our server was also really great. She was quick and efficient, very friendly and personable too. Our whole experience was great and we would totally recommend this place to anyone wanting breakfast or brunch! Even their drinks were amazing....great lattes were had by all!

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank JameAndDare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walnut Avenue Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Walnut Avenue Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing