We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home away from home!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages
Ranked #2 of 15 Santa Cruz B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 September 2011

I have been enjoying the hospitality at this unique and charming inn for over ten years! But now it is better than ever, thanks to new managers Bill and Shelley Strauch. They are friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. They have done a lot of work to spruce the place up, without compromising its homey atmosphere. It's clean, quiet, comfortable, and reasonably priced, with lots of personal touches like beautiful flowers, a great front veranda, bagels in the morning and even a selection of books to read, plus board games that families can borrow to entertain themselves in the evenings.

If you are looking for a typical luxury hotel, this wouldn't really be the place for you. Neither is it one of those standardized, impersonal, large chain motels. Instead, it truly is like a home away from home. One of the nicest things about it is that it has an actual BATHTUB, not just a shower, in the room I've been requesting these past 11 years. I go to Santa Cruz specifically to surf its fantastic waves, but the water here is pretty cold. So being able to come back to my room after surfing all day and relax in a hot bath was just heavenly! Like a Jacuzzi, only even better because it's in my own private room.

The location of the Ocean Echo is ideal too - away from the busier, noisier environments of downtown, the Boardwalk area, or even 41st Avenue. It's right in the middle of town by Sunny Cove, an easy drive to either the Westside (Steamer Lane) or Eastside (Pleasure Point) surf areas. If you prefer to walk to the beach, Sunny Cove is a fun sandy beach whichg is great for families, swimmers and bodyboarders. You can even enjoy a bonfire there in the evenings, or listen to the waves breaking from your cottage.

Two fantastic restaurants are also within walking distance; Nuevo, with unique and delicious Southwestern cuisine, and Star Bene, which offers both Italian and Argentinian dishes. Lots of great places for hiking, biking, and birdwatching are also right there.

I look forward to returning as soon as possible to the Ocean Echo, truly my home away from home!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank just4valzfriendz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (344)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

317 - 321 of 344 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed at the Ocean Echo for three nights earlier this month as part of a two month road trip we are taking down the Californian coast. We have stayed in many other B & B's/cottage accommodation since and for the price we paid at the Ocean Echo we expected a little more than basic motel style accommodation. The location is excellent and the owners do provide a light breakfast assortment of bagels, donuts and yoghurt which is helpful but the accommodation is basic. The owner told us they have to price high in order to keep 'undesirables' - such as drunk locals - out but we don't see why guests should have to bear the inflated price. We wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WithoutWings11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Just got back from spending 3 days and 2 nights at the Ocean Echo, and it was fabulous. The hosts are great, and the rooms are charming. The proximity to Johann's Beach is just wonderful, as you are only steps to the ocean for boogie boarding or body surfing or just relaxing in the sun.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bob687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We had a great time. The service is excellent. The owners are very nice. The cove is an excellent swimming beach and is literally steps away form the hotel. They were also great with my dog! (Only some rooms are OK for pets so check first.) Light breakfast included!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank surfinsafarigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The Ocean Echo Inn was exactly what we were looking for for a short weekend getaway. It's not the most modern or the most luxurious place we've stayed, but the location is great and the staff is very inviting, friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank matteoh6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Cruz hotels
3.1 km away
Dream Inn
Dream Inn
#2 of 54 in Santa Cruz
1,878 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Paradox, Autograph Collection
8.8 km away
Hilton Santa Cruz / Scotts Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 km away
Babbling Brook Inn
Babbling Brook Inn
#1 of 15 in Santa Cruz
384 reviews
3 km away
Beach Street Inn and Suites
Beach Street Inn and Suites
#3 of 54 in Santa Cruz
626 reviews
3.8 km away
Chaminade Resort & Spa
Chaminade Resort & Spa
#15 of 54 in Santa Cruz
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages

Address: 401 Johans Beach Drive, Santa Cruz, CA 95062
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Santa Cruz
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Cruz
Price Range: RM706 - RM1,090 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hidden gem with direct access to the beach at Sunny Cove, a favorite local beach between Santa Cruz and Capitola! This property has a private and charming location with quaint rooms and cottages where you can spend the day on your romantic getaway, enjoy fun family events, eat at great local restaurants, then return to the soothing sound of the ocean waves. Some units have fully-equipped kitchens, ocean views & private decks. Some units are dog-friendly. Short walk to restaurants & yacht harbor. Free continental breakfast, free parking & free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Echo Inn & Beach Cottages Hotel Santa Cruz
Ocean Echo Inn And Beach Cottages

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing