We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
US$294
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$369
US$319
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Ambrose(Santa Monica)
US$368
US$329
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$220
US$199
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$460
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$399
US$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$315
US$246
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rest Haven Motel(Santa Monica)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,789)
Filter reviews
1,789 results
Traveller rating
1,008
387
186
103
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,008
387
186
103
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoast restaurantpico restaurantbeach houseroom servicesister hotelbeautiful hotelsanta monica beachcasa del marpool deckfull ocean viewfour seasonsliving roomlos angelesluxury hotelrooms are smalllobby barocean front
Filter
Updating list...
1,367 - 1,372 of 1,789 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2011

You often read of famous people live in hotels? If I was famous I'd live in Shutters!

I visit every year ... For me, the hotel is amazing and I'd come back year, after year after year ... As I have done, year after year after year! Why stay anywhere else in Santa M?

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keithw8007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

my wife and i sadly returned to nyc from shutters - the accommodations were great - the staff was outstanding, professional, curteous and most friendly - excellent breakfasts and one dinner @ coast restaurant in the hotel - we walked into town every night for dinner - amazing restaurants nearby - beautiful pool - great views - perfect weather - WE WILL RETURN... go to Shutters - you will not be disappointed in the least!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2011

It was the second time we stayed there, and it was even better than the first time. We liked it so much that we decided to have a suite this time, it was totally well worth it. We preferred to spend 2 days there than spending a whole week elsewhere. The service was top notch, there were plenty of people working everywhere and they were very attentive. We couldn't be happier. The decoration was very relaxed and upscale, but not stuffy. The hotel is right on the beach and you can watch constant activities and you will not be bored. The food at both restaurants in the hotel were fabulous (in a casual but elegant way) and we found a well balanced wine list. All in all, we can't say enough
good things about the hotel. Can't wait to be back!

Room Tip: We had room #545, loved it. Would have preferred #645 or $745 next time. Higher floors definitely has better views.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Realistic6819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This was the perfect place to start our honeymoon. The decor was just exquisite and made me want to go home and redecorate my entire house in its image!The room was gorgeous and the jacuzi bath was a lovely touch. Service was fab, as was the location- right on the beach. The valet service was excellent- you never had to wait more than 1 minute for your car to be delivered right to you. Everything is quite expensive but worth it as you feel like royalty the whole time during your stay. Worth every penny. Oh and I must add that the bed was the comfiest we have ever slept in....

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandA28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Absolutely stunning location right on the beach. Our hotel rooms overlooked the beach and the pier-the rooms were lovely, beautifully equipped and decorated but quite small. It is a big hotel and service although friendly was very slow at times. The swimming pool was very small and the staff were very slow -we went on a day that it wasn't busy so I dread to think what its like on a busy day! Both restaurants were nice but not outstanding, so a bit disappointing for a top class hotel. Would come back because of rooms and location but would eat out more!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephmck1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews