We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,812)
Filter reviews
1,812 results
Traveller rating
1,017
393
192
104
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,017
393
192
104
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoast restaurantpico restaurantbeach houseroom servicesister hotelbeautiful hotelsanta monica beachcasa del marpool deckfull ocean viewfour seasonsliving roomlos angeleslobby barluxury hotelrooms are smallocean front
Filter
Updating list...
185 - 190 of 1,812 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Pricey for sure however quality of service and location makes it worth it. Situated directly on Santa Monica Beach the location is superb for enjoying the the Santa Monica Pier, biking along the beach and my favorite -- walking to Venice Beach

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank S3028ALjoej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear S3028ALjoej,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and had the opportunity to enjoy the surrounding area as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Laura McIver
General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Every employee of the hotel is top level and very service conscious. The Beach Club is easily accessible and very accommodating, although it is a quite a walk to the chairs/umbrellas near the shore and there are no bathrooms close by.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank Sidney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Sidney T,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Laura McIver
General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Great location, great staff and the most comfortable beds. Close to everything and food/drinks were fabulous. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay right on the beach in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jsupple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Jsupple,

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us on the beach. We can't wait to welcome you back next time!

Sincerely,

Laura McIver
General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Won a trip here through work with the wife and I have to say this is without a doubt the loveliest hotel we have stayed in . The staff , food BEDs were amazing . Superb location . We had such a lovely time .
Had we being paying for it ourselves I'm sure we would not have enjoyed it so much as it was hellishly expensive . Breakfast in bed $95 for two . Couple that with the current exchange rate and that is gonna make most people wince . Having said that it is very exclusive and that appears to be the way they want it and it .

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Corkey1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Corkey1972,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you constructive feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Laura McIver
General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

It's been two hours and still waiting for someone to check our air conditioning. This comes after sitting for 30 minutes in the lounge to be served a drink and after their bike vendor charged us too much for bike rentals.

Nice place, good food but I'm beginning to believe it may be time to find new leaders of the pack for customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jetset222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews