We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
US$304
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$336
US$299
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$309
US$260
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$218
US$199
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$460
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Ambrose(Santa Monica)
US$368
US$280
The Ambrose
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$399
US$369
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Rest Haven Motel(Santa Monica)
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 28% below average rates

The price you found is 28% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$207/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,789)
Filter reviews
1,789 results
Traveller rating
1,008
387
186
103
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,008
387
186
103
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoast restaurantpico restaurantbeach houseroom servicesister hotelbeautiful hotelsanta monica beachcasa del marpool deckfull ocean viewfour seasonsliving roomlos angelesluxury hotelrooms are smalllobby barocean front
Filter
Updating list...
163 - 168 of 1,789 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We were so excited to stay at Shutters, but were very disappointed. The lay out is weird. You have to walk through the pool area at any time of day/night to get from your room to the lobby...seemed a bit like a motel. On the beach, but only the lobby is, rooms are across the street. Had to pay extra to sit in the hotel's chairs on the beach. Not even close to worth the money. 4 Seasons was about the same price and was absolutely unbelievable luxury.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DebZ75000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear DebZ75000,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We share your disappointment that your stay did not meet your expectations. Your comments are appreciated and will be taken into consideration as we continue improving.

Sincerely,

Laura McIver
General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Pricey for sure however quality of service and location makes it worth it. Situated directly on Santa Monica Beach the location is superb for enjoying the the Santa Monica Pier, biking along the beach and my favorite -- walking to Venice Beach

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank S3028ALjoej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2017

Dear S3028ALjoej,

Thank you for sharing your review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and had the opportunity to enjoy the surrounding area as well. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,

Laura McIver
General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Every employee of the hotel is top level and very service conscious. The Beach Club is easily accessible and very accommodating, although it is a quite a walk to the chairs/umbrellas near the shore and there are no bathrooms close by.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank Sidney T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Sidney T,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you'll visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Laura McIver
General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

Great location, great staff and the most comfortable beds. Close to everything and food/drinks were fabulous. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking to stay right on the beach in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jsupple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Jsupple,

Thank you for your 5 star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us on the beach. We can't wait to welcome you back next time!

Sincerely,

Laura McIver
General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017 via mobile

Won a trip here through work with the wife and I have to say this is without a doubt the loveliest hotel we have stayed in . The staff , food BEDs were amazing . Superb location . We had such a lovely time .
Had we being paying for it ourselves I'm sure we would not have enjoyed it so much as it was hellishly expensive . Breakfast in bed $95 for two . Couple that with the current exchange rate and that is gonna make most people wince . Having said that it is very exclusive and that appears to be the way they want it and it .

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Corkey1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Corkey1972,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you constructive feedback. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Laura McIver
General Manager
Shutters on the Beach

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews