We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,864)
Filter reviews
1,864 results
Traveller rating
1,047
401
202
106
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,047
401
202
106
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coast restaurant pico restaurant beach house sister hotel beautiful hotel room service santa monica beach pool deck casa del mar four seasons full ocean view living room lobby bar luxury hotel los angeles ocean front valet parking
Filter
Updating list...
72 - 77 of 1,864 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Luxury hotel on the beach - it is a bit claustrophobic - but offers all amenities of a luxury establishment including bikes

The room are spacious well laid out but lack natural light - overall the hotel is too big to be a boutique hotel which is what it pretends to be

Much better the sister hotel Casa del Mar next door

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank lucapE9494DU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Dear Luca P,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at Shutters on the Beach. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience overall, and appreciate your constructive feedback as we continue striving for excellence.

Sincerely,
Laura McIver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2018

This hotel has too many problems. It is busy noisy and terribly understaffed. Our room had machine noise from outside so we didn’t sleep for 2 nights. The pool was cloudy most of the time and was a pale green colour rather than blue.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
3  Thank suhagaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear suhagaly,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We share your disappointment that your experience did not meet your expectations. Your constructive comments are truly appreciated as we continue to make improvements moving forward.

Sincerely,

Laura McIver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018

The hotel is tired and could do with some refurbishment. It suffers from a compromised layout for access to some rooms and facilities. The pool area gets crowded at the weekend. The room on a corner facing the sea was great.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with The Leading Hotels of the World
Thank 843iane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Dear 843iane,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your room, and appreciate your constructive feedback as we continue striving for excellence.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Sincerely,

Laura McIver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

This hotel is everything I expected in a five star (expensive!) experience. It never missed on a note - from room, to bedding, to food, to service, to the pool, to the beach. FYI, we booked through Amex Platinum Fine Hotels and got a fantastic room ocean side top floor. If you are going to go to this hotel, I would spend the bucks and get a good Oceanside room because from what I could see, some of the rooms would not have quite the view. I will write a separate review on 1 Pico (great!) and the Oceans casual restaurant was also very good (we had breakfasts, a lunch and a dinner there - all were good). And the Library lobby bar was fun, cool, and inviting. All in all, a great experience.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Deepfocus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Deepfocus,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit to the beach. We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,
Laura McIver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Came here for happy hour and it's an excellent location and the food is delicious, but not generous portions and be forewarned this place is over-pricey my estimate is there is a 25-30% inflation factor due to tourism and location $6 coffee, they don't serve bread with salad that's $5 extra (most annoying). But as I said, the food and drinks are excellent and the service was very friendly. I might come back after winning the lottery !

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MLondon26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura M, General Manager at Shutters on the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Dear MLondon26,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your experience overall, and appreciate your constructive feedback as we continue striving for excellence.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Laura McIver
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews