We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Unique & Good!”

Zengo - Santa Monica
Ranked #231 of 683 Restaurants in Santa Monica
Price range: US$30 - US$50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Santa Monica
Cross street: Broadway
Transit: The Big Blue Bus and Rapid line both have drop offs in front of the Santa Monica Place at the corner of 4th Street and Broadway.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
260 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Very Unique & Good!”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We stumbled across this restaurant by accident. Basically, it was the closest restaurant to where we parked. How could we pass up something as unique as Asian/Latin food? From the menu, it seems that it's more Asian than Latin. We sat outside in the back warmed by the large heaters and were nice and toasty. The long fire pit provided additional interest. The most memorable thing we had was Peking duck tacos. The wrap was I beleive a thinly sliced hicama root, with some curried diced hicama on top. It was decicious! A most interesting, different, and memorable meal.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorden N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    43
    9
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Disappointing because it was the No. 1 Restaurant on Trip Advisor for Santa Monica and it just was not. I chose it because it was in Santa Monica PLace, a new outdoor Mall in Santa Monica, just one block from the beach. The decor is attractive, big open space (slightly too dark) with an indoor and outdoor area. We sat inside because it was chilly. The food is Latin-Asian. We ordered beers and the "small plates" and one entree. The small plates (like tapas) cost between 9-13 Dollars, and we ordered 8 for 3 people. We also ordered one entre which was the cod. The food was disappointing--very disappointing (not fresh?) The cod was probably the best but the majority of the small plates were not up to my expectations. How can this restaurant be No. 1 on Trip Advisor when there are so many others in Santa Monica. I concede tastes are different, other choices on the menu might have been better, going during the day might have been different, but I was disappointed.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SchnappiLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good weekend Asian-Fusion brunch deal”
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Zengo has a good Weekend Brunch deal. For $35 per person, you can order anything on their brunch menu; all you can eat. Includes such items as Ceviche(shrimp, octopus,squid), Duck Hash w/ plantains, Lettuce cups w/ shrimp. About 20 tapas dishes to choose from. There's even a drink list, most of which are overly sweet, with too many ingredients, sake sangria, mimosas(don't try to ask for a mimosa without the orange juice). All in a all, good deal. The only real drawback, is they have a dj playing music which was way too loud

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Athenaalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing Brunch especially for groups.”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Had a birthday brunch here with friends and it was absolutely a great experience. Amazingly it is a 35$ per person, Non buffet all you can drink and eat off the menu.
The truly remarkable thing is that this is not second rate food. It is really excellent. I felt like I was getting away with something illegal as we just kept ordering Tapas sized entrees off the menu and as many really excellent (the bacon bloody Mary is as amazing as it sounds) drinks as you can handle.
Oddly coffee is extra as is bottled water. Te service also was top notch. Not something you expect in an unlimited brunch especially for how great the food is.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jvanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
133 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Really interesting food, cool ambience”
Reviewed 12 February 2012

We went here for dinner on our first night in Santa Monica. The menu was very interesting - challenging for our 8 year old but not impossible. The food was presented really beautifully presented, based on sharing a number of smaller plates. The service was great, and the staff were very helpful in explaining some of the more unusual ingredients. All in all a really lovely dinner.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Adelaide5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zengo - Santa Monica also viewed

 
Santa Monica, CA
 

Been to Zengo - Santa Monica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing