We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ambrose
Nearby Hotels
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
US$255
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$243/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$261
US$199
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$299
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$332/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$259
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 27% below average rates

The price you found is 27% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$356/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$312
US$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$351/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$309
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Channel Road Inn - A Four Sisters Inn(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
US$325
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$364/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Palihouse Santa Monica(Santa Monica)
US$355
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$412/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$324
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$431/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Rest Haven Motel(Santa Monica)
US$320
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,315)
Filter reviews
1,315 results
Traveller rating
635
441
135
57
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
635
441
135
57
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtcontinental breakfastfree parkingwhole foodsquiet neighborhoodshuttle servicewithin a mile radiuswilshire blvdcomfortable roomsbusiness triphome away from homelos angelesla areastay in santa monicastreet promenadewalgreensrenovation
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 1,315 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Arrived for a one night stay. Check-in was efficient and pleasant enough. Requested quiet room upon booking and was rewarded with a room away from elevator. Room was clean and nicely decorated in modern style. No balcony.
Tasty, excellent quality continental breakfast.

Pricey, but as it's in Santa Monica it's to be expected.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Victrola78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbroseGM, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Dear Victrola78,

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review here on Trip Advisor. We are certainly pleased that you enjoyed our delicious complimentary breakfast and our quiet and comfortable guest rooms. We truly feel that we provide a tremendous value for our guests with the many wonderful complimentary options available, amazing location and individualized service which is second to none.

We look forward to your return to The Ambrose on your next visit to Santa Monica!

Warm regards,

Matt Bernard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

The lobby, lobby lounge (library), and common spaces are very nice. Comfortable atmosphere. I didn't expect a hotel like this to serve a complementary breakfast so that I was a nice surprise. Staff was friendly. The room was spacious and well appointed. The bathroom a bit small but fine for one person. This is a good hotel for a business trip.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBarb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbroseGM, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear MBarb10,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback here on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay; most notably that our amazing team, spacious guest rooms and deluxe breakfast were top notch!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambrose.

Warm regards,

Matt Bernard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip recently and thought it was a good value. Very neat and clean, big rooms and quiet neighborhood. Pleasantly surprised by room size and decor. Decent breakfast buffet with healthy choices. Only knock on it is that they claim to have a bar, but it's really a tiny little bar that isn't staffed full time.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbroseGM, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Dear Chris K,

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback here on TripAdvisor. I'm certainly glad to hear that you enjoyed all of our offerings and found us to be a good value. We are certainly proud of our amazing location and spacious gust rooms. On another note, I hear you loud and clear regarding our breakfast and bar. We are working on some amazing new breakfast and room service options and creating a lounge second to none in Santa Monica. Please stay tuned!!

Warmest regards,

Matt Bernard
General Manager
The Ambrose Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

When we go to California, I always make it a point to stay at the Ambrose.
It's clean, quiet and convenient.
The breakfast is included and is really good.
They will drive you to the shopping district whenever you want as part of their service free of charge.
The Ambrose has been my "go-to" place for 5 years!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbroseGM, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Dear Lou M,

Thank you for taking to time to provide a review here on TripAdvisor! We are certainly proud of our fun and friendly hideaway in the heart of Santa Monica and extremely pleased that we continue to be your home away from home!

We look forward to seeing you when you are back in town.

Warm regards,

Matt Bernard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2017

Our room at the Ambrose was spacious and well-appointed. The room had a large, comfortable armchair, and a true king-size bed with quality bedding. Another BIG plus was the underground parking, which was secure and well lit.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RoadtripTTCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbroseGM, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2017

Dear RoadtripTTCF,

Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here on Trip Advisor. There is certainly a lot to love about the Ambrose and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Matt Bernard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews