We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than ever”
Review of The Ambrose

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ambrose
Ranked #8 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 13 March 2017

I've been staying at The Ambrose in Santa Monica since it was built (maybe more than 15 years ago!). They have finally finished their remodel and it's superb. The zen vibe is still there but the rooms are much brighter (especially the bathrooms). The beds are still comfy. The linens are wonderful. The breakfast has been improved and seating outside is finally comfortable. Front desk staff is amenable and knowledgeable. As in the past, it's a great place to stay!

Room Tip: I love the 4th floor facing front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank foodierd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbroseGM, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Dear foodierd,

Thank you for providing such a wonderful review of your stay at The Ambrose Hotel here on Trip Advisor! I am most certainly pleased that you are enjoying the remodel, amazing beds and linens and most notably our excellent team. Stay tuned for even more improvements in breakfast and throughout our food and beverage program as we make some great additions!

We are most certainly looking forward to your return when you are back in Santa Monica.

Warm regards,

Matt Bernard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

35 - 39 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Arrived for a one night stay. Check-in was efficient and pleasant enough. Requested quiet room upon booking and was rewarded with a room away from elevator. Room was clean and nicely decorated in modern style. No balcony.
Tasty, excellent quality continental breakfast.

Pricey, but as it's in Santa Monica it's to be expected.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank Victrola78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbroseGM, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2017

Dear Victrola78,

Thanks for taking the time to provide a review here on Trip Advisor. We are certainly pleased that you enjoyed our delicious complimentary breakfast and our quiet and comfortable guest rooms. We truly feel that we provide a tremendous value for our guests with the many wonderful complimentary options available, amazing location and individualized service which is second to none.

We look forward to your return to The Ambrose on your next visit to Santa Monica!

Warm regards,

Matt Bernard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017

The lobby, lobby lounge (library), and common spaces are very nice. Comfortable atmosphere. I didn't expect a hotel like this to serve a complementary breakfast so that I was a nice surprise. Staff was friendly. The room was spacious and well appointed. The bathroom a bit small but fine for one person. This is a good hotel for a business trip.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MBarb10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbroseGM, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2017

Dear MBarb10,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback here on Trip Advisor. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay; most notably that our amazing team, spacious guest rooms and deluxe breakfast were top notch!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Ambrose.

Warm regards,

Matt Bernard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip recently and thought it was a good value. Very neat and clean, big rooms and quiet neighborhood. Pleasantly surprised by room size and decor. Decent breakfast buffet with healthy choices. Only knock on it is that they claim to have a bar, but it's really a tiny little bar that isn't staffed full time.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbroseGM, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2017

Dear Chris K,

Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback here on TripAdvisor. I'm certainly glad to hear that you enjoyed all of our offerings and found us to be a good value. We are certainly proud of our amazing location and spacious gust rooms. On another note, I hear you loud and clear regarding our breakfast and bar. We are working on some amazing new breakfast and room service options and creating a lounge second to none in Santa Monica. Please stay tuned!!

Warmest regards,

Matt Bernard
General Manager
The Ambrose Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

When we go to California, I always make it a point to stay at the Ambrose.
It's clean, quiet and convenient.
The breakfast is included and is really good.
They will drive you to the shopping district whenever you want as part of their service free of charge.
The Ambrose has been my "go-to" place for 5 years!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Lou M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbroseGM, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2017

Dear Lou M,

Thank you for taking to time to provide a review here on TripAdvisor! We are certainly proud of our fun and friendly hideaway in the heart of Santa Monica and extremely pleased that we continue to be your home away from home!

We look forward to seeing you when you are back in town.

Warm regards,

Matt Bernard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#1 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,912 reviews
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#10 of 36 in Santa Monica
617 reviews
Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
Viceroy Santa Monica
#7 of 36 in Santa Monica
1,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Santa Monica
The Georgian Hotel
The Georgian Hotel
#9 of 36 in Santa Monica
2,358 reviews
Santa Monica
Le Meridien Delfina Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ambrose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ambrose

Address: 1255 20th St, Santa Monica, CA 90404-1351
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Monica
#12 Romantic Hotel in Santa Monica
#13 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
#14 Family Hotel in Santa Monica
Price Range: RM1,196 - RM1,863 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ambrose 3.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the corner of 20th and Arizona Street, The Ambrose is in a quiet and unassuming neighborhood and is known for being an eco-friendly property. Having just completed an extensive, multi-million dollar renovation of all 77 guestrooms and public spaces, the distinctive California Craftsman design has been revitalized to reflect the essence of a large private home. Luxury linens, C.O. Bigelow bath products, complimentary in-room HSIA WiFi, complimentary continental breakfast, complimentary fitness center access and complimentary house car service await all guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your The Ambrose reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambrose Hotel Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing