We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$191
US$180
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateway Hotel Santa Monica(Santa Monica)(Great Value!)
US$297
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$336
US$299
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ocean View Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$279
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$365
US$347
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$376
US$223
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Shore Hotel(Santa Monica)
US$382
US$369
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$460
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,369)
Filter reviews
1,369 results
Traveller rating
667
452
137
61
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
667
452
137
61
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsyogurtcontinental breakfastfree parkingwhole foodsquiet neighborhoodwithin a mile radiuscar servicebusiness tripcomfortable roomshome away from homelos angelesstay in santa monicawonderful hotella areathe santa monica areastreet promenadewalgreens
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 1,369 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2017

Highly recommend this lovely hotel! We loved breakfast on the patio, the convenient location (within 3 miles) of many shops/restaurants/pier with free shuttle to and from..located in a quiet area of Santa Monica. Wonderful stay & perfect for our family of 3!

Room Tip: Double queen. Plenty of personal space..
Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Marissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbroseGM, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Marissa R,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this wonderful review! We are extremely pleased to hear that you enjoyed our hidden oasis, perfectly situated away from the hustle and bustle of the big city. I am most notably pleased to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary house car service in our new all electric BMW i3.

We look forward to your return to The Ambrose.

Warm regards,

Matt Bernard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2017

We've been staying at The Ambrose since it was opened about 15 years ago. The hotel has changed ownership a few times over the years. Some staff have come and gone. But our stays have always been good enough to bring us back. This time was no exception. Two staff members who have been at the hotel for a long time, Ann and Alfred, greeted us warmly when they heard we were checking in. Both knew that it was our 50th wedding anniversary and made sure that we got a "favorite" room and sent up a lovely tray with sweets and beverage. Front desk staff at the hotel is always friendly and engaging. Breakast has improved so much through the years so that now it's truly a continental breakfast that can get you ready for a day of sightseeing. We love that the new owners have made sure there is comfortable seating outside. When you're in Santa Monica you want to be outside! In the past, there was minimal seating that was not comfortable. And although we miss the sandbox that used to be in the back room, having a table and chairs is welcome during breakfast. We've stayed at several other nearby properties through the years, some double the price of this little boutique hotel, but none have compared to The Ambrose.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodierd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbroseGM, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear foodierd,

Firstly, please allow me to congratulate you on 50 years of marriage! Such an amazing example of love and commitment and I am truly pleased that you chose to share this event with us. Thank you for recognizing Anne and Alfred, as well as the entire Ambrose team, who always go above and beyond for our guests to make sure that every detail is attended to so that our guests feel truly at home. I am most notably pleased that you enjoyed all of the improvements that we have been making throughout the hotel; in particular our new comfortable outdoor seating and our greatly improved complimentary continental breakfast offering.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future as you both continue the celebration for many years to come.

Warmest regards,

Matt Bernard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We used to live in LA and wanted a hotel not on the beach with the typical crowd and we found The Ambrose. The check in staff at the Ambrose were superb. We had a great room and I was amazed at how quiet it was. None of the noises one typically associates with hotels. The rooms was unbelievably clean and maintained. Parking is in their own underground lot with easy access to the elevators. In designing and appointing the room someone certainly knew what to do. All in all it was a phenomenally pleasant experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vince L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbroseGM, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2017

Dear Vince L,

I truly appreciate you taking the time to provide your review of the Ambrose Hotel here on Trip Advisor. We are very proud of our quiet, comfortable and meticulously maintained guest rooms in our "boutique hideaway" in the heart of Santa Monica. I am particularly proud of our guest services team who truly ensure that each and every guest has a uniquely curated visit. I am glad that you had a wonderful experience with us and look forward to your return very soon.

Kind regards,
Matt Bernard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

I recently returned from my first week trip to The Ambrose and I am delighted to report back that the hotel is quite wonderful.

PROS:
• Great location! Walking distance to Montana and Wilshire. A short car ride to the beach.
• Safe and secure.
• Free bike rentals!
• Very spacious, private rooms with a large patio.
• Impressive breakfast spread (they also have soy milk for coffee!)

I'll be there again in September and October so I think it is safe to say that I would recommend this place to others looking to stay right in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelWithMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbroseGM, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Dear PortlandiaVacationer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide such a wonderful review here on Trip Advisor! I am so pleased that you enjoyed all of our first class amenities as well as our fabulous location just a few short steps, (or pedals), away from from the very best of Santa Monica!

We look forward to your return in September!

Warm regards,

Matt Bernard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

Our stay at Ambrose was very convenient during my wife's surgery visit at St. John's Providence Hospital. I would highly recommend Ambrose to anyone needing to visit St. John's or John Wayne Cancer Institute.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bgibson1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AmbroseGM, General Manager at The Ambrose, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2017

Dear bgibson1492,

Thanks for providing your review of the Ambrose here on TripAdvisor. We are pleased that our convenient location allowed you to be close to your wife during this very challenging experience. We wish her a speedy recovery!

Warmest regards,

Matt Bernard
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews