We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Ranked #27 of 36 Hotels in Santa Monica
Monaco
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“nice suites”
Reviewed 7 March 2012

nice place to stay suite was huge location great walk to every where a little older style but for the money it's well worth it

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BRT K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Hello Bretkero Sydney Australia, Thank you so much for posting your comments regarding your recent stay. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and that you mentioned the value of our property. We are located in a wonderful pristine residential area and are a short walk away from all of the wonderful “happenings” in Santa Monica. Again, thanks so much!!! We hope to see you again soon! Enjoy an awesome day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    186
    81
    31
    28
See reviews for
153
132
23
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
86 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Cal Mar is a great spot. Nice refuge that is very close to 3rd street Promenade and the beach as well. It’s really tucked away, and feels like you’ve walked back in time, with the courtyard with heated pool, and beautiful garden with birds of paradise and palm. The rooms are refurbished apartments, and so are really spacious. But don’t expect the brand spanking new sterility of a chain hotel. I had a King suite with kichen, nicely appointed living room, bath, and decent size BR. The room looked much nicer than the website pics. I was on 2nd floor and no problems with noise, but it is cold so windows were closed. Just felt relaxing to come back in evening and see a few people chatting and having a drink around the pool and garden. Charming.

Room Tip: My room was on 2nd floor, & to the back, which was quiet. I didn't see an elevator, and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tuttidirezioni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Greetings Tuttidirezioni Pittsburgh, we appreciate so very much you taking the time to share your recent experience during your visit to Santa Monica. We thank you so much for highlighting all the wonderful attributes our property has to offer. Our team takes pride in caring for our property and we are delighted that you mentioned this in your awesome review. Again, thanks so much and we look forward to seeing you in the future. Have a super day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Cal Mar is perfectly placed not too far from the heart of Santa Moncia, the 3rd St promenade, and is good value for money. The decor and furniture is perhaps a little tired, but the apartments are clean and everything works. Its a bit retro as others have commented.

The staff were all very helpful and friendly, Top marks on customer service. The room cleaning staff work extremely hard and are polite, friendly and efficient.

The heated pool is also terrific, highly recommended!

The only negative is that the garbage trucks come early across the street (7am ish) and they are ridiculously loud. The trucks start beeping away as if there is no tomorrow and mercilessly bang about moving those bins! So if you want to sleep in avoid the apartments on the right hand side as you enter the hotel! We had a baby that rose early so it didn't really affect us too much.

One other slight negative is that internet access is a little overpriced. Its ten bucks for a day or 4 bucks for an hr. But you can always go to Starbucks or the Cafe nearby (I can't quite recall the name) and connect for free (although one assumes you have to buy something anyway!)

We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend the hotel to others. Its a wee home from home!

Room Tip: Go anywhere to the Left hand side facing the pool from reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The Cal-Mar Hotel Suites is a former apartment building built around a nice courtyard with a pool. As a result, each room really is more like an apartment, with a living room, basic kitchen, separate bedroom, plenty of closet space, and bath. The place is clean, if a little worn. The location is great -- a block off Wilshire, with lots of great shops and restaurants, and a few blocks from Palisades Park. If you want something other than a cold hotel room when visiting Santa Monica, this place is worth checking out.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Greetings to you CWH3/Philadelphia. Thank you so very much for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our property. We appreciate so very much your noting our great location; the spaciousness and cleanliness of our rooms!! As part of our property management plan, we take a significant number of rooms each year and completely renovate the; , last year we added hardwood floors to most of our downstairs suites. We hope you will return to our property and see the new and innovative features we do each year. Many thanks and have an amazing day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Needham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We just spent a week driving down the coast and trying to stay in non-chain hotels and motels. This was definitely the funkiest place we stayed.

It seemed clean - which is the most important thing to me, so that was good. But it took us 5 minutes to find the place and the entrance because there is very little signage. Once in, it seemed they wanted to charge us extra for everything: parking, we're a family of 5 - extra charge for the 5th person. The "queen" beds were very small, so we needed a cot - another charge and we had to help bring over. However they did not charge us for extra towels (the room only came with 2), but it would have been nice if we didn't have to go over in the AM to get them when we were clearly more than two folks.

Would I stay here again? Only if I could not find something better, and I'm sure there is in Santa Monica.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TZfromBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susansomers, General Manager at Cal Mar Hotel Suites, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our property. It is with feedback such as yours that we are able to share your experience with our staff to ensure that this does not occur again. This is an opportunity for us to always take the time to make certain that we have all of our guest needs provided at check in. I have shared your experience with our staff confirming your experience and what you felt was lacking. Our rates are posted for one person and each additional adult is charged $10.00 extra which is customary in the industry, as well as an additional bed. All of our suites have a sofa in the living room that makes into a queen size bed and typically is very comfortable for families. Parking in Santa Monica can be problematic and we have a rate that is quite reasonable for the area. Again, we appreciate you taking the time so we are able to raise the bar with our team. We hope to see you at a future date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Monica hotels
Santa Monica
Bayside Hotel
Bayside Hotel
#22 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 513 reviews
Santa Monica
Hotel Carmel
Hotel Carmel
#25 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Santa Monica
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Santa Monica
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#8 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Santa Monica
The Hotel California
The Hotel California
#19 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
Comfort Inn Santa Monica
#23 of 36 in Santa Monica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cal Mar Hotel Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cal Mar Hotel Suites

Property: Cal Mar Hotel Suites
Address: 220 California Ave., Santa Monica, CA 90403-3606
Region: United States > California > Santa Monica > Santa Monica
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in Santa Monica
Price range (per night): RM982 - RM1,475
Hotel Class:3 star — Cal Mar Hotel Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Cal Mar Hotel Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cal Mar Hotel Santa Monica
Cal Mar Santa Monica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing