We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Option for the Price”
Review of Hillside Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Santa Rosa
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hillside Inn
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We needed a place to stay for one night and everything was booked for the marathon that weekend. This place did not take electronic reservations which had me a little nervous, but sure enough our reservation did hold (they will release it after 4pm unless you call with a credit card). It was a GREAT price for the area and had a 2-room suite for our kids where a lot of the hotels put a limit on just 2 kids. The kitchen part of the suite was locked and when I asked about it they said it was an extra charge. I went back to the website and saw where I missed that, but it was only like $4 to have access - a bit odd.

The facility is old and dated, but it functions very well. I enjoyed the pool with the kids. I'm sure the couple that runs (and probably owns) the place are very nice and sweet people inside, but they were not very warm on the outside. A smile and a "welcome" will go a long way. Maybe they've been burned by a few characters that have come in before - idk.

The bed wasn't terribly comfortable and the shower head was low, but everything was clean & peaceful. There is a nice table with chairs in the suites and two sinks even without the kitchen. They were very gracious to allow some extra time for checkout to shower after the big race. the restaurant there seemed to be a real hit with the locals and travelers. IHOP and Safeway are right across the street and you're 5 minutes from downtown.

Hope that helps!

Room Tip: The two room suite was still cheaper than everything else in town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HurricaneMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

On tour in this part of California, we had no room booked and decided to try the Hillside Inn on the basis of a guide book recommendation. We got the last room for the night (it was about 4pm on a Saturday). It was a very comfortable and large room. The decor was a bit tired but it was very good value. We would go o back if visiting the area again. Recommended.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank GBR9824T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I can see why this place has received high remarks. Yes, they are old school. What the heck is wrong with that every once in a while? I'm appreciating the fact that they hold people accountable for showing up to rooms. So, you have to show up by 4p otherwise they give the room away. You have to book by phone. Yes, they accept american express. All of their rooms have kitchenettes, with the exception of the suite: room 223. Unfortunately, that is my room. So, if you need a kitchen, you should probably be sure to specify the necessity of one. And, I mean NO KITCHEN. No fridge, no microwave, no stove. All the pictures online suggest that there are kitchenettes in ALL of the rooms. This just is not the case.
Moving on... it's a quaint motel in a great location (if you dont mind the highway traffic, which we don't)

Room Tip: Be specific. Check on their website for layouts. Remember rm 223 is not the same as the other 2 bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Podperf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

A good value for money hotel. The owner I found to be helpful and friendly. All was clean and there was a small on site pool. The onsite restaurant was good, if a little expensive, serving breakfast and lunch only. Large portions and good quality. There is a chemist and supermarket very nearby which is useful. The only negative is that its quite a distance from the town centre, too far to walk if its hot.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LincolnshireBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We only meant to stay a couple of nights but ended up staying four. This is a nice, very well run motel, easy to find and within walking distance of services and very good restaurants. Our room was a spacious comfortable apartment on the first floor with a small kitchen facility, spacious storage, a dining table, TV, alarm and air conditioning. There is an attractive swimming pool, ample shade from trees and the place is quiet enough to get a good night's sleep. The staff are well turned out, efficient and pleasant. I can recommend the Hillside Inn to anyone looking for somewhere modest to stay in the Santa Rosa area.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Catherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Rosa hotels
2.8 km away
North Bay Inn
North Bay Inn
#11 of 24 in Santa Rosa
125 reviews
3.7 km away
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
Best Western Plus Garden Inn
#5 of 24 in Santa Rosa
705 reviews
4.6 km away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 24 in Santa Rosa
591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 km away
Hyatt Regency Sonoma Wine Country
4.5 km away
Country Inn Santa Rosa
Country Inn Santa Rosa
#15 of 24 in Santa Rosa
33 reviews
5.6 km away
Quality Inn and Suites Santa Rosa Wine Country
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillside Inn

Address: 2901 4th St, Santa Rosa, CA 95409-4020
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Santa Rosa
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Hotels in Santa Rosa
Price Range: RM287 - RM316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled within the heart of Sonoma County the Hillside Inn offers a variety of accommodations, comfort, and in-city conveniences. Located just a few blocks from village shops and restaurants and two miles from downtown Santa Rosa the Hillside Inn is ideally located. Guest rooms are affordable and cozy, a ‘Home Away from Home’. Come and discover nearby area wineries for tasting and tours, wander the scenic north coast, or explore the towering redwoods. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hillside Hotel Santa Rosa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing