We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kingvale Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Truckee Donner Lodge(Truckee)(Great Value!)
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel(Truckee)(Great Value!)
US$167
US$145
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Village At Squaw Valley(Olympic Valley)(Great Value!)
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Wolf Lodge at Squaw Valley(Olympic Valley)(Great Value!)
US$226
US$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
US$195
US$165
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donner Lake Village(Truckee)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Squaw Valley Lodge(Olympic Valley)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
PlumpJack Squaw Valley Inn(Olympic Valley)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (9)
Filter reviews
9 results
Traveller rating
4
3
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
3
1
1
0
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 9 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed at here for two weeks while doing some cross country skiing at Royal Gorge and Tahoe Donner. The manager was really helpful and friendly in allowing us to get some Christmas packages delivered before and after our stay (we were travelling from Australia), reducing the stress of getting Christmas presents organised for the kids.
The kitchen was really well stocked, and the unit was very clean and spacious.
There was ample onsite packing and everything was super easy and convent.
We arrived a couple of hours early and the manager made sure we could get into out unit early which was really appreciated.
There were toboggans available for snow play around the units which the kids loved.
Overall, we were really happy with the overall package that KIngvale Lodge offered.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nick665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Pros - Cleaner than most "ski lodge/condo" places! Well appointed with DishTV, kitchen supplies, good sized fridge, boot drier. Comfy beds you actually want to sleep on. No human interaction required for check in/out (You are emailed a door code at time of reservation, great for midnight arrivals like us). Priced very well for proximity to the ski areas like Sugarbowl or Boreal. Photos on the website are an accurate portrait of what you'll get.

Cons - If you are sensitive to noise (thru the thin walls, or from the I-80 a few hundred yards away) you may not like this place when it's busy. The main issue holding this review back from five stars is that every room door has a 10" x 24" window without curtains, that allows anybody over 6' tall to peer directly into your room unobstructed at all times! Great for the owners to check you don't have extra people, but certainly adds a creep-out factor of 5. They should consider guest privacy and add curtains.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geterd0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

We are just back from 1week of ski at Sugar Bowl, and this time we were looking for an affordable lodging. We find Kingvale lodge offers very attractive $850 for a 800sqft 2beds fully equipped condo for 6 nights. The rooms are super clean, everything was functional and well organized. It's like having your own place in Tahoe without the associated costs, or hassle! We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bdelaveau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

Stayed in Unit #6 (one bedroom)

Need to know:
1) Limited kitchenette
Full refridgerator and freezer. Two-burner electric stove. Microwave. Coffee machine. toaster. Utensils, bowls, pans, griddle, etc.
No oven. No fan/ventilation (except window)
=> This was just fine for simple meals. I would have been nervous trying to sear meat without any fan
=> Bring your own cooking spray/oil

2) Shower, no bathtub.
=> fine, except we wouldn't have been able to bath either of our two kids (2.5 years and 4 months old)

Overall, we liked the clean unit and its close proximity to Sugar Bowl, Boreal, Soda Springs, etc. and 15 minutes from Safeway in Truckee.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TofuNinja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

This place would have been okay if the on-site managers had actually been on site and reliable for us. The units are nothing special (thin walls, 1990s appliances and electronics), but it's not a dump, and it's in a convenient location for snow sports.

When we stayed, however, the on-site managers were gone the whole 4 days. So we were on our own, unable to contact the managers from the premises. (There are no landline phones in house, and we had no cell signal with ATT. Ironic thing is, the guest book says to call the managers if you have a problem.... Is this a joke?)

As a result, we had to handle our unit's maintenance problems on our own. And we spent a lot of time looking for things, figuring out how things worked, and shoveling snow -- not what we expected to be doing on our vacation. Also, despite what’s advertised in the guest book, we couldn't borrow videos. A little thing to be sure, but things add up.

Here’s another thing, and this one is a very big one: The discount lift tickets we bought, in advance through the lodge, were not waiting for us in our room upon arrival as promised. In fact, if it weren’t for some scrambling and good luck on our part, we would not have received those tickets. So we nearly lost $500, thanks to the managers‘ lapse. That’s inexcusable.

But the absolute worst thing of all was that these managers chose to be gone during forecasted, crippling blizzards, with guests -- us and some others -- in house. Hasn’t this establishment heard of relief managers? We felt abandoned and ripped off here, and we won't be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chomeuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skier95728, Manager at Kingvale Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2011

I see a past guest has posted a negative review. I feel compelled to respond because we are proud of our facility. This is the first negative comment we have ever had about our facility which has become a destination of hundreds of repeat visitors, particularly families skiing at Sugar Bowl Ski Resort and the Donner Summit area or the guest visiting for a single night attending a relative's wedding in the Summer months.

I must say, I wish we were made aware of this guest's frustrations during their stay or shortly thereafter. However exaggerated, posting a negative review two months after the fact leaves little room to satisfy this particular guest's personal needs. Our guests can rest assured that 24 hours a day we can be reached by telephone as all our telephone calls are forwarded to wherever we might be at the time. Cellular service is usually excellent in our area and our on-site phone is always available if a guests has a problem cell phone. It is hard for me to believe that over a four day period this guests could not locate a telephone to make a call if it was really important. We also provide housekeeping staff living quarters on site, so between the housekeepers and ourselves the facility is always staffed.

Our Units are special! Each was reconstructed in 2005. They were furnished with new appliances and electronics at that time. The guest is also correct in that we are located in the most convenient location for snow sports on Donner Summit with easy access and regular snow removal. That is why our guests return time and time again.

There were no maintenance problems reported by this guest during their stay, or afterwards. Every Unit has all the conveniences of home. We ask guests to familiarize themselves with all the pots and pans, towels, toilet paper, thermostat and electronics by looking around their unit when they arrive all by themselves! Alternatively, since we know it can be stressful traveling to an unknown destination, you can look at our photos on our website and familiarize yourself with the Kingvale Lodge in advance of your arrival. We have a great library of both DVD's and CD's for our guests use free of charge. Our on-site housekeepers would have been happy to check the videos out to this particular guest had they asked.

One thing we take great pride in is snow removal. Our lot is plowed every morning and never has a guest had to shovel a flake of snow and we had over 40 feet this last Winter. We have staff for that. We have had a few guests who insist on shoveling but it is not because they have too. Maybe they just want to get some quiet time.

We provide thousands of dollars of discounted lift tickets to guests as a Sugar Bowl partner. Tickets are deposited in a guest's Unit before their arrival if the tickets are purchased through our website in advance. We have to be on-site if more tickets are desired by a guest. In this particular case, our reservation system shows this guest booked one day in advance of arrival on March 22nd, 2011. We were away from the facility having traveled to Reno and were not available to issue additional tickets to this guest after their arrival.

I am sorry this particular guest "felt abandoned and ripped off here, and won't be back" but when traveling to the mountains realize that weather conditions can change rapidly. Always have a cell phone or two that operates in the event of an emergency call and bring a warm companion to show you around and hold your hand if that is the type of person you are. Please do not look to the manager to show you around your Unit on arrival unless you ask in advance for a personal tour of our facility or really do not know how to operate a door lock or a thermostat to heat your living space. Alternatively, book your vacation at the Ritz Carlton for $550 per night instead of experiencing the best value on Donner Summit for $150 per night for a family of four.

Seriously, we value our guest's patronage of our facility and appreciate the business. If there is ever any facet of our operation that is not up to industry standards or your expectations, it is our policy to strive to accommodate your needs or refund the cost of your stay. But we have to hear from you during your stay not two months after the fact. Preferably, we can satisfy your needs personally instead of through the public forum of Internet travel reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews