We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (488)
Filter reviews
488 results
Traveller rating
209
194
62
18
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
209
194
62
18
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscourtyard marriottdesign districtbeach accessoutdoor fireplacenaked cafecalifornia pizza kitchensan diegodog beachwithin walking distancefirst floorstarbucks coffeefletcher coveunderground parkingconvenience storehot tublocation is greatfront desk staff
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 488 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2015

This used to be another hotel, and Marriott upgraded the rooms but kept the layout the same. The Bistro is outside, close to the pool, so plenty of outside tables in addition to the inside ones, and just a nice location to eat there (we ate breakfast both mornings). The rooms are more spacious (we were on 2nd floor so had a cathedral ceiling). They provide directions to the beach, a block and half away. Stores a block away, close to everything. Only negative is charging for parking.

Room Tip: If you have kids who will use the pool, then first floor facing the courtyard is good. Otherwise, opt for second floor with balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank keut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic C, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Dear Keut,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott in Solana Beach. I know you have choices when looking for a hotel, which makes it wonderful that you chose to stay with us. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and if you find yourself in Solana Beach again we would love to have you back.

In hospitality,

Dominic C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

It starts at the reception. Warm greeting, efficient check-in. Room was spacious with patio on pool level so easy access to the pool and hot tub. Patio was great for morning coffee. Bed vey comfortable, clean room. The cafe is near the pool and features an outdoor lounge area with fireplace - great for evening glass of wine. Noise level was very low. Best of all, it's a short walk to Solana beach, the most beautiful beach in San Diego. And all for a reasonable rate! Convenient parking garage is extra.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
Thank Arlingtoniantravelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic C, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

Dear ArlingtonianTravelle,

What a very nice review, thank you! I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud of our hotel in Solana Beach, and love when our guests enjoy the location and the amenities.

I certainly hope you will choose us again for your future hotel needs.

Yours in hispitality,

Dominic C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2015

The Courtyard was reasonably priced for the area. Although the building looked to be older, the decor, bedding, and bathrooms were all up to date. The front desk employees were personable and quick. We walked from the hotel to the local beach access and walked down a long flight of stairs to the beach. It was a nice walk and a beautiful view of the ocean. Parking was an additional $12.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CookieLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic C, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

Dear CookieLu,

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Solana Beach for your hotel needs. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the staff left a favorable impression.

I hope you will consider us for your future hotel needs.

Kind regards,

Dominic C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2015 via mobile

My guest raved about his experience and commented great property and very clean
Mr De La Mora said staff were friendly and room was spacious and clean
The front staff at 6:30 pm Monday were very professional when I fetched him
We had drink at Bistro and then per staff recommendation eat at Market

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank DRHIND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic C, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2015

Dear DRHIND,

Thank you very much for writing your review. I am very happy that your guests enjoyed their stay with us and were able to take advantage of our amenities. If you find yourselves in Solana Beach, I certainly hope you will select the Courtyard for your hotel needs.

Kind regards,

Dominic C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2015

We did not like the first room overlooking a parking lot and they upgraded us to a nice corner room that was larger and quite nice for a Courtyard. Great location to walk through Solana Beach and see a show at the Belly Up. Parking was under hotel and came with a nightly charge.

  • Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominic C, General Manager at Courtyard San Diego Del Mar/Solana Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2015

Dear Rick N,

Thank you for providing your review of the Courtyard by Marriott Solana Beach. I am happy to read that my staff was able to move you to a room that better fit your expectations. I certainly hope you will choose us again for your hotel needs in the future.

Kind regards,

Dominic C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews