We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a stopover to explore Solvang”
Review of Kronborg Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kronborg Inn
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We had an excellent one-night stay at Kronborg Inn on our way from Los Angeles to San Francisco. It's on the western edge of the Solvang tourist area, within walking distance of shops and restaurants. We checked in after 6 pm. We noticed that Kronborg Inn had no vacancy when we arrived, and they were making a stand-by list in case there were cancellations. The price was less than $100 for free wi-fi, a big room with a porch, king sized bed, large plasma TV, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, LCD clock, desk, easy chair, and a Jacuzzi in the bathtub. We were very pleased with dinner at Hadsten House dining room right next door. A good night's sleep in very comfortable bed, pillows. The breakfast room was rather small but there's a good turnover of tables. Two waffle-makers were working, and there were hard boiled eggs, yoghurt, bananas, Danish pastries, breakfast cereals. It is a little difficult to take plastic foam plates up to the room but some people did. Check-in and check-out were fast and simple. We had a great room, 208 on the second floor overlooking our car that was parked in the lot below. The porch overlooked the pool. The management seemed to have time for everyone's needs, and they were relaxed and helpful with advice and directions. They let us check out a bit late and let us leave our car in their lot while we walked around Solvang. Krongborg Inn is a good ambassador for Solvang. It even has its own windmill.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Staidthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

277 - 281 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2011

We started staying here over three years ago, before all of the recent renovations began. At the time and ever since, it has been a pleasant, clean, and best of all affordable place to stay in a town full of outrageously overpriced rooms. We have come to expect great service and reasonable prices from the Kronborg every time we stay.

Our only fear is that with the renovations nearly complete and the hotel's name changing to the "Wine Country Manor" that their prices will go through the roof. We sincerely hope that this doesn't happen, and that the old Kronborg remains the last clean, efficient, fairly priced hotel in Solvang.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms away from the highway are the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

The Service was excellent. the breakfast was included and was also excellent served from 8 till 10 so if you want to head off early you may not be happy with an 8am start. Yes the beds were just as comfortable as the reviews I had read. The bubbles in the outdoor spa(jacuzzi) but this suited my daughter as she said it was lovely and hot and she could read her magazine. We were also lucky to have a room at the back so no noise from the street and we had a spa bath in our room. Very close to 5 out of 5 except for the pillows and the hot water was a bit touch and go. Close to all the little Dutch shops and not far from the centre of town.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madonna81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

There are only a handful of choices in Solvang, so it seems the hotels can charge whatever they want. This hotel was very pricey for what it is - its a Best Western Motel. I truly would not have minded this hotel at all had it been $60 a night, not $180 a night.

The beds were comfortable, giant flat screen tv, fridge and microwave were also nice, the breakfast was nice and the jacuzzi tubs were a nice upgrade. No fancy soaps or shampoos provided, just some standard stuff. Our room had a really bad smell and a really old heater/air conditioner.

Next time, instead of trying to save money, I will maybe upgrade to one of the pricier hotels and see if it is worth the extra cash and see if you actually get what you pay for. This is not a good value at all. I was very disappointed. Lesson learned! Solvang is expensive, and you don't get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6to82008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Kronborg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your opinions. I am very sorry to hear you will not stay here again, I hope with time you will re-consider this view.

I am happy to hear that you liked the room. Our rooms feature new custom beds which are guests have responded to very positively. Combine this with fine quality pillows and bedding, we truly feel we offer an exceptional quality. As you mentioned, each guest room has a wealth of convenient amenities to make each guest feel at home. 42" Flat Screen televisions, DVD players, iPod Alarm Clock Radio's, Microwave/Refrigerator, Coffee Maker and Jacuzzi Whirlpool Spa Tubs as standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

If you quickly glance at the room it looks decent, but as soon as you pay attention to details, you'll realize the property needs some maintenance or redesigning - fixtures hanging in the bathroom, and window treatment that is just for looks and offers no practical purpose (you can't draw the shades, so people can see into your room when you have the lights on at night).
This place is good for a one-night stay, but make sure you ask for rooms away from the main road that cuts through town, because the speeding cars at 6AM will invariably wake you up (Tip: avoid room 115).
Pros: comfortable bed, free wi-fi
Cons: noisy, lacks privacy

Room Tip: Avoid rooms along the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kronb, Manager at Kronborg Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2011

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had a problem with the curtains in the room. Actually, I wish you had called us because in fact there is a black out curtain behind the privacy sheers which it looks like you did not see. We provide sheers so guests can have the benefit of natural light during the day and the black out curtains at night.

In regards to the fixture covers in the bathroom, we are in the process of installing new marble top vanity cabinets with co-ordinating light fixtures. As I'm sure you can understand this, and all the other rennovations we have performed over the last year, requires a great deal of planning. For example, new electrical wiring has to be run and set up for new fixtures. This part has been done and a cover plate is now covering the hole where a new fixture will be installed after the vanity cabinet goes in.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Solvang hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Corque
Hotel Corque
#1 of 11 in Solvang
833 reviews
0.1 km away
Hadsten House
Hadsten House
#3 of 11 in Solvang
929 reviews
0.4 km away
Wine Valley Inn & Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Landsby
The Landsby
#2 of 11 in Solvang
281 reviews
0.6 km away
King Frederik Inn
King Frederik Inn
#6 of 11 in Solvang
269 reviews
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Solvang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kronborg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kronborg Inn

Address: 1440 Mission Dr, Solvang, CA 93463
Region: United States > California > Solvang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Solvang
Price Range: RM449 - RM1,085 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kronborg Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This boutique hotel is situated in Santa Ynez Valley in Solvang and is a 10-minute walk to Old Mission Santa Ines. This European-style hotel offers an outdoor heated pool and jacuzzi. A microwave, refrigerator and coffee maker are standard in each stylishly decorated room at Kronborg Inn. A 42-inch flat-screen cable TV, DVD player, Ipod Alarm Clock/Radio and work desk are all included. All bathrooms have a jetted bathtub. Kronborg features Danish architecture and a working windmill. Guests are served a continental breakfast every morning. Business services and laundry facilities are available on site. The Danish town of Solvang is only a short walk away and features traditional bakeries, European-style shops and restaurants. The PCPA open air amphitheater is also a short walk away and numerous wineries are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Kronborg Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kronborg Hotel Solvang
Kronborg Motel Solvang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing