We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
King Frederik Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Copenhagen Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$121
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$112/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hamlet Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$129
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meadowlark Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Solvang Gardens Lodge(Solvang)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$95
AscendHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Corque(Solvang)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$159
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Landsby(Solvang)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mirabelle Inn(Solvang)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (954)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveller rating
480
330
96
30
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
330
96
30
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolpotatoeswine tastingoatmealelectric fireplacelobster bisquein townfresh fruitflat screenhot tuba great place to staymid weeksliding doorfree breakfastwine countryroom ratesanta barbara
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 954 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile



Hadsten House
Stream of consciousness thoughts in no particular order
A real gem of a hotel.
Real attention to detail.
electric fireplace.
new Vizio TV.
super clean room.
big mirrors.
bunny rabbit lamp.
antique telephone replica.
excellent bedding.
great breakfast with fluffy eggs bacon fresh fruit potatoes.
nice matching wood furniture pieces.
wonderful comfortable chair with ottoman.
Crown molding.
refrigerator.
$119.
lovely decor and decorating.
modern industrial strength toilet.
Great shower with unvarying temperature, plenty of hot water, and good water pressure.
Spacious bathroom and vanity with marble countertop.
spacious room.
Free newspapers.
Convenient location on East side of Solvang on Highway 246 only 2.2 miles from the Hitching Post restaurant made famous in sideways movie.
Danish appearing exterior.
Good size Indoor swimming pool.
good size delicious free breakfast.
Our new go-to hotel when in the area.

















Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W, Manager at Hadsten House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Mike H,
Thank you for your 5 STAR review of the Hadsten House in Solvang!
We so appreciate you noting the nice touches in the rooms and throughout the hotel.
Please consider reserving one of our Premium King Suites next visit - you will love the Jacuzzi Bathtub!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome your return in the months ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

We spent 1 Saturday night here. Chose this hotel as it "seemed" more of a hotel than a motel WRONG!!! Photos on web site are very misleading. The bed was good but that's about it and NOT worth the price of over $200. Coffee pot in room did not work and front desk could not help. Breakfast, although more than the standard "do it yourself" motel waffle maker was not much more. Also, located at the end of town so it was a bit of a walk to dinner. Nothing more than a Solvang motel. Overpriced for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W, Manager at Hadsten House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Laurie L,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review about the hotel. I am sorry that your review is not a positive one. It is our goal at the hotel for our guest to experience a clean room and a problem free stay.
Our management team has reviewed your comments and will take your feedback very seriously.
Thank you for sharing your comments and concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2017

Very clean and comfortable with a fireplace. It is within walking distance to bakeries, restaurants, and shopping (definitely check out the Christmas store). Casino and golf close by. It is a lovely town and well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Garry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W, Manager at Hadsten House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear Garry P,


Thanks for staying with us and for the great review. We hope to accommodate you again when you return to the area in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2017

We stayed for 3 nights. When we checked in, an amazing young woman, Kiana, informed us our room would not be ready until 3pm. As we had driven in from AZ we took her suggestions for a place to eat & walked some of the town. When we came back at 3pm the room was ready & she gave us more helpful hints for the area, like one of her favorite restaurants. (This hotel's bistro is closed Sunday & Monday & we came in on Sunday). This hotel is very popular & is so convenient, the entire town is walkable from it. Breakfast each morning was filling. They rotate the fruit but the rest is pretty standard: scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon, toast, oatmeal & cold cereals.

Room Tip: room in the back away from the main highway
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank okcorralNevada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa W, Manager at Hadsten House, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Dear okorralNevada,

Thank you for this wonderful 5 Star review of our hotel!
Our team members work hard to ensure that each guest receives a personalized experience and we truly appreciate you taking the time to acknowledge the wonderful service Kiana provided. Kiana is a gem and we are grateful to have her on our team. Unfortunately our restaurant is no longer open for lunch and dinner but we do serve delicious hot breakfast in the mornings. Your comments are motivating to all staff and we hope to welcome you back to our Hadsten House the next time you are in Solvang!
Thank you again for the positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed staying here on a Saturday night. Good news: room was comfortable & it was super quiet all around us. We chose a room in the back (114) & ended up on the lower floor. Luckily, all neighbors were good tenants.

The indoor pool was interesting mostly for kids. We did partake in the outdoor jacuzzi. Very relaxing soak before bed.

Bad news: Restaurant food was just okay. Service not very good.

Gave them 4 stars due to the room rate ($300) as we booked late. Felt it was a bit high considering we just wanted the basics and didn’t stay for breakfast. Oh well, live & learn. Otherwise, a restful stay. One of the first hotels entering town.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
3  Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews