We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Charming Getaway in the heart of Sonoma Square!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 December 2017

My husband and I booked a one night stay at El Dorado Hotel to celebrate his birthday in one of our favorite places, wine country. For a short getaway, this hotel is just perfect! You will be within a stone's throw to the shady Sonoma square, the boutiques, wine tasting rooms and the lovely cafes/restaurants that make up the heart of Sonoma. The El Dorado Restaurant is one of our favorites in town, located just downstairs. There is also a lovely terrace and pool for when the weather is warm. The rooms are on the small side, with a nod to the historic roots of the place. Finishes and linens are all nicely updated. We also found great value for our stay compared to other local resorts. Service was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel, facing the square, have better views but do have traffic noise in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2017

Ms. Heather L,

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to provide a few notes from Hubby's birthday getaway on the Sonoma plaza! We are so glad to hear we hit the mark - hope you can visit again before the next birthday festivities.

Our best,

The El Dorado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (309)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 309 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2017

The location, the service and the room were of a Luxury hotel without the cost.
The room was very spacious and beautiful and quiet for being right on the square. I recommend the breakfast at the hotel as well.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2017

Mr. or Mrs. Malu2014,

Thank you kindly for the note - we are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back in the near future!

Our best,

The El Dorado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2017 via mobile

Great place to visit when in Sonoma at the Historic Square. Great freshly prepared food, good wine selection of course, Sonoma being one of California's wonderful Wine regents. Great and friendly service. Reservations recommended. There's limited parking in front of the restaurant, however plenty around the town's square, so a little walk will not take away from the great experience.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank randykiel23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017

My husband and I stumbled across the El Dorado a couple of years ago for a single night stay, and we loved it so much that we knew we had to come back. This time we spent 3 nights at the hotel in a plaza-facing room. We loved it as much this time as the first. I highly recommend getting one of the rooms overlooking the plaza. It's great for people-watching and the views are pretty. The rooms are cute, well-decorated, and clean. While not the most spacious room, there is plenty of room for luggage and to move around comfortably. The toiletries offered at the hotel also smell great! The free coffee and tea bar on the second floor of the hotel every morning is a nice perk, too!

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gabrielle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian M, General Manager at El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2017

Ms. Gabrielle S,

Thank you so much for the awesome review! We appreciate you coming back to join us. Looking forward to your next visit already - your balcony awaits!

Our best,

The El Dorado Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

The El Dorado hotel was a great choice! The location was excellent to walk around to all the shops and restaurants. The rooms were comfortable and clean- the balcony was so nice and peaceful in the morning. And the staff were attentive and super helpful!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank sesarahellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sonoma hotels
1.1 km away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.5 km away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
1.4 km away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
0.3 km away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#6 of 11 in Sonoma
212 reviews
0 km away
Sonoma Hotel
Sonoma Hotel
#10 of 11 in Sonoma
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen

Address: 405 1st St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6701
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: RM 764 - RM 1,883 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on the historic downtown Sonoma Plaza, 45 minutes north of San Francisco, our boutique hotel reflects the simple charm of the wine country as well as the urban sophistication of our guests.From world class dining at our El Dorado Kitchen, to relaxing poolside, to enjoying the area’s many local activities the El Dorado Hotel is a one of a kind destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Dorado Hotel And Kitchen
El Dorado Hotel Kitchen
El Dorado Sonoma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing