We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend at the Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Sonoma
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 January 2018

This trip was a last minute anniversary gift from our daughter, son, and daughter-in-law. Our stay was a two night weekend trip.

POSITIVES:
Ron at the front desk was able to get us into an available room before standard check-in time. Room was in very good condition. My wife and I were impressed with the space of the Railroad Suite room 311. Room was on the ground floor, and was in the back part of the property. Furniture was comfortable, with a large screen TV over the fireplace. A kingsize poster style bed, oak wood dresser with more than sufficient storage in drawers, two night stands with lamps, and a small TV on top of the dresser for bed viewing. A small refrigerator, a microwave, and a Keurig coffee maker were included in the room. The large 2 person (one person facing the other) jetted tub was in decent shape, and provided 6 jets on the sides (3 on each leg). Folding window louvers cover all windows and an open space between the tub and bedroom. You can watch TV from the tub! Walk in oversized shower is designed to accommodate wheelchair, so it is large. Bathroom closet has a small safe for personal items (large enough to hold a laptop). Room has an outdoor walled patio with lounge and chair (maybe more, but we didn't go out on it) Courtyard just outside our room had a gas fire pit with enough seating for 10 people. Also, a large outdoor water fountain was in the courtyard. Well lit and comfortable for enjoying relaxing time. Morning breakfast was very good, with delicious options for breakfast. BEST FREE BREAKFAST you will ever enjoy! CVS and Whole Foods across the street from inn. Town square is only about two blocks away, easily within walking distance (if you are healthy, on the weekends, probably easier to walk than find parking). Electric charging station for electric cars. Property appears to be well-maintained.

NEGATIVES:
Very few negative issues of any significance. Room front door is missing weather stripping, allowing outside air and noise into room. Breakfast begins at 7am, which is in a room 20 feet from your head on your pillow in this room (which does not have any soundproofing in the walls). THANKFULLY, upstairs guests could not be heard walking or talking, but we could hear their jetted tub drain. Heating/air conditioning unit is quite noisy, but most units at all hotels are noisy. Filter was dirty, as was the filter grille. [Note to management: Filters need to be changed every 90 days MAX at a hotel: too much foot traffic. I'm just an HVAC contractor, so...]There is no fan in the bathroom, so bring your air spray and be prepared for foggy mirrors. Also, there is no magnifying makeup mirror, but there is good lighting in the bathroom. No jets in the tub for your backs, which a major downer. Very little space in bath closet to hang clothes. Finally, before breakfast, breakfast staff get ice from the ice machine, which is 10 feet from your head on the pillow.

RECOMMENDATION:
We did not use the hot tub or pool, so we have no comment. However, I would have to say I was surprised by how well-apportioned the room was, the space and the amenities. Noise at breakfast was the only major drawback. If that is a problem, you may want to stay upstairs. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay and the facilities, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Rear of property upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pearmech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KendallC929, General Manager at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2018

Dear pearmech
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a nice review! I am so pleased to hear about your experience with us. Your feedback is very important to us. We did recently remodel those rooms with all new custom made oak furniture. I'm so glad you enjoyed it. We wanted those rooms to feel spacious, comfortable and welcoming. I am also glad to hear that you did enjoy the many breakfast options we offer.
I do apologize for the noise you experienced in the morning and have spoken to the breakfast team
I sincerely hope you will consider staying with us again for either you next anniversary or just the next time you visit Sonoma!
Best Regards
Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2018 via mobile

I’ve stayed at several Best Westerns, and this one was the nicest. First it’s within walking distance of Sonoma Plaza, Whole Foods, Baskin Robbins, pretty much anything you need. Check-in was a breeze, and really friendly employees. I stayed in Room 220, it’s not super close to the stairway but close enough to get your stuff upstairs pretty easily. Windows on two sides in this King Bed room with mini fridge, hot plate, microwave and jetted tub. Awesome room for the price, along with 2 for 1 wine tasting passes to local wineries included in my Groupon deal. My only complaints are that the door to the room is in need of weatherstripping and the heavy odor of room deodorizer when you walk in. Overall this is a great place to stay and I will definitely be back for another visit.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Maryclare M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KendallC929, General Manager at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2018

Dear Maryclare,
We really appreciate your nice review and the lovely compliment. Happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed our location! We will continue to offer really great specials through out the winter season. We are hoping that you will take advantage and come stay with us again really soon
Best REgards
Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

For the price I paid,(online deal), I can’t believe how great this room was. There was a 55” flat screen tv, kitchenette, jacuzzi tub, king size bed, spacious room with seating area and breakfast included. I was only there 1 night but for future visits, I’ll plan on staying longer because the comfort level was amazing. And it’s a good central location for exploring the Sonoma Valley.

Room Tip: There’s no elevator so if you have trouble carrying your suitcase upstairs, ask for a ground floor r...
See more room tips
Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KendallC929, General Manager at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

Dear Julie H
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I apologize that its taken me until now to get back to you! I'm so glad you were able to take advantage of one of our online specials and had a chance to come stay with us here at Sonoma Valley Inn. We are very fortunate to be located so close to the historic Plaza with all of its great shops and restaurants. Hopefully you will come visit us again soon and come back and relax in front of the fireplace or take a soak in one of the Jacuzzi tubs!
We look forward to seeing you in Sonoma again son
Best
Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Economical property with comfortable, clean rooms and wonderful staff just a block from the Sonoma Square. The jacuzzi is located just off the patios and the hotel was quiet even on New Year's Eve. Breakfast had eggs and sausage as well waffles. Basic but filling.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank susanwO2502ZR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KendallC929, General Manager at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear susanwO2502ZR,
Happy New Year! Very glad to hear you stayed with us during the New Year Holiday! The weather was so pretty last weekend and it made it such a nice time for people to experience the Holidays in Sonoma! We will continue to offer great deals throughout the winter season so we hope you will take advantage of one of those and come to Sonoma again!
Best Regards
Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2018

Charming little property located in the heart of Sonoma Town at an excellent price point. Close to wine tasting rooms and restaurants/shopping. Whole Foods and CVS was located right across the street.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank colbyk2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KendallC929, General Manager at Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2018

Dear Colby,
Happy New Year! Thank you for taking the time to post a review! We love our little town and are really happy to be able to share the charm of it with our guests. It is very nice to be able to basically walk to several shops, restaurants and tasting rooms. Thank you again for your review
Best Regards
Kendall

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sonoma
1.3 km away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
679 reviews
0.9 km away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
0.4 km away
Inn at Sonoma, A Four Sisters Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Ledson Hotel
Ledson Hotel
#6 of 11 in Sonoma
212 reviews
14 km away
Best Western Plus Elm House Inn
0.3 km away
El Dorado Hotel & Kitchen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center

Address: 550 2nd St W, Sonoma, CA 95476-6633
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Sonoma
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Sonoma
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sonoma
Price Range: RM 482 - RM 1,413 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center! Hotels near Sonoma wineries are known for their superior location, but our Sonoma hotel goes above and beyond by providing the best customer service in town. Are you looking for hotels near wineries? Our Sonoma hotel is conveniently located near the best vineyards for endless wine tasting and exploration. Historical downtown Sonoma is a few minutes away, and were a popular choice for wedding destinations. When youre within walking distance to downtown Sonoma, the charm of the city is literally at your doorstep. Enjoy the best fine dining and shopping in town. Hotels in downtown Sonoma make traveling easy for guests. At our Sonoma hotel, you never have to go far for a great meal, wine or shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn And Krug Event Center
Best Western Plus Sonoma Valley Inn & Krug Event Hotel Sonoma
Best Western Sonoma
Sonoma Valley Inn
Sonoma Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing