We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Larkspur Landing South San Francisco
Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Although the decor is dated the hotel rooms are clean & spacious. Breakfast was ok too for a continental style..cereals..bagels..yoghurts..fruit. Gym pretty basic. Complementary laundry & a free shuttle service into san fran union sq!!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nikki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

I booked two rooms through a third party which the front desk employees clearly did not like. There was some confusion about the date that the second party was to arrive. They did accommodate us but the attitude was unbelievably horrible! The rooms are filthy and smell like fabreeze! We showed up for breakfast at 9:30 to find no food left. When we asked the front desk if they were going to replenish, it turned into an argument! So much for customer service. Most of the staff needs some training in customer service or should simply be replaced! They act as if they are doing you a favor for allowing you to stay in their overpriced run down hotel! Do yourself a favor and pick a different hotel! This just touches on how bad our experience was!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank ddkb65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Room was clean without any odors.The staff were friendly and helpful. There is a small workout room and a hot tub. Breakfast had a large selection but it was the same items everyday. The rooms also have their own kitchen.
The hotel was easy to find, in a nice neighborhood and was not noisy. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: 4th floor was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Taryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017

We chose to stay at the Larkspur Landing in South San Francisco as it offered easy access to both the airport and the nearby Caltrain station. We found the room itself to be spacious, comfortable and clean. It had a full kitchen, bathroom, and bedroom. Unfortunately, we did encounter some issues with other aspects of the hotel, including the front desk staff.

Both of our main problems came on a Saturday night. When we returned to the hotel around 11:00 PM, we found that there was no parking available in the hotel lot. We waited in the car for a little bit to see if we might get lucky with someone else leaving, but this was not successful. My wife then went to the front desk while I stayed with the car so that she could ask about parking. The desk staff told her to just park at a different hotel somewhere down the block and then walk back. This presented a few problems for us. First of all, it was quite late, and the walk between hotels was lengthy and not well lit. Second, we didn't know the policies of the neighboring hotels. Some hotels take down license plate numbers at check in and then tow vehicles that haven't been approved for parking. The people at Larkspur Landing couldn't tell us what the policies of any neighboring hotel were, and advised us to just chance it. We reminded them that "free parking" was included in our reservation, and they replied that parking is only "complimentary," and they seemed to interpret that to mean that it wasn't guaranteed.

Fortunately, while my wife was having the above conversation with the staff, another hotel patron returned to their car and left, and I was able to take their spot. The parking lot in general was very tight and I was happy that we were driving a midsize and not a larger vehicle.

Our second big issue that night was with Wi-Fi. When we returned to our room after the parking ordeal, we could not connect to the Wi-Fi. We kept receiving a message stating that there had been "over 150 logins" at the hotel, and this exceeded some service agreement. When I visited the front desk to ask about this, the staff told me that there shouldn't be more than 150 people at the hotel and that they had never seen that message before. They were not helpful at all and told me I should just wait until the morning and try again. I returned to my room and about an hour later we were finally able to get through to the Wi-Fi.

One other source of disappointment at this hotel was its breakfast presentation. Breakfast is served in a very tight space near the business center of the hotel. Included with breakfast were muffins, string cheese, yogurt, bagels, bananas, apples, cereal, oatmeal, hard boiled eggs, and defrosted Eggo waffles. Because there was almost nowhere to sit for breakfast, it seems that the hotel wants you to take your items back to your room, and in fact we saw several people doing this during our stay. If you stay here, it might be worth it to make alternative breakfast plans so you don't start your day disappointed.

All in all, this hotel wasn't terrible. I gave it a rating of 3, but it's probably closer to a 3.5 for us. We didn't appreciate the service given to us by the front desk. On two occasions they were not at all helpful. Coupled with a poor breakfast, we would not choose to stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kasejason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017 via mobile

Larkspur was an affordable option that wasn't too far away from downtown. Breakfast was great. The room was a good size, bed and pillows were comfortable. Very convenient to have the kitchen in our room too. I would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South San Francisco
0.1 km away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco Airport North
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco ...
#1 of 28 in South San Francisco
1,011 reviews
1.8 km away
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airport Hotel
Best Western Plus Grosvenor Airp...
#3 of 28 in South San Francisco
2,105 reviews
0.4 km away
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airport
Hampton Inn San Francisco-Airpor...
#2 of 28 in South San Francisco
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Francisco Airport - South San Francisco
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Fra...
#13 of 28 in South San Francisco
1,690 reviews
5.6 km away
Best Western Plus El Rancho Inn
0.9 km away
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/Oyster Point Waterfront
Courtyard San Francisco Airport/...
#6 of 28 in South San Francisco
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Larkspur Landing South San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Larkspur Landing South San Francisco

Address: 690 Gateway Blvd, South San Francisco, CA 94080-7014
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > South San Francisco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in South San Francisco
Price Range: RM406 - RM1,245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Larkspur Landing South San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off of Highway 101 and eight miles south of San Francisco, The Larkspur Landing South San Francisco Hotel is a mere two miles from the San Francisco International Airport and not far from famous attractions like the Golden Gate Bridge, Alcatraz, Fisherman's Wharf, the Museum of Modern Art and the Napa Valley. Guests of this San Francisco Airport Hotel enjoy comfortable accommodations and can choose to stay in four different types of suites: Studio, Executive, Boardroom and Grand Suites. Among the top San Francisco extended stay hotels, the Larkspur Landing will exceed all of your business and vacation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Larkspur Landing South San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Larkspur Landing South San Francisco Hotel South San Francisco
Larkspur South San Francisco
South San Francisco Larkspur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing