We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth visiting”

Kabul Afghan Cuisine
Ranked #4 of 425 Restaurants in Sunnyvale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 15 January 2017

This was my first visit to Kabul since they moved to this new location. I had not been to Kabul for a while so our visit was overdue because they do offer excellent Afghani food. We went for lunch. Glad we made reservations because the place was packed. The waiters started us out with a simple salad. They could do a better job with the salad because the lettuce was wilted. However, the main dishes were delicious. We ordered Kabab-e-Murgh, Kabul's Combination Kabab and Kabab-e-Kofta. All dishes were well prepared and the accompanying bread was delicious. We enjoyed our meal and the ambiance.
The only suggestion that I would have for the owner is that they replace their silverware since it is a little worn out and that they make sure the salad is fresh.
For dessert we had Firnee which is ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS. Was worth the $6.50 if you like rice pudding.
The prices are reasonable given that we are in the Silicon Valley. The portion sizes are good.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Funtravels13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

53 - 57 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2016

The restaurant had moved to a new location. Its a nicer place than the previous place.
The have a big menu, the rice is very tasty and moist.
My favorite dish is lamb with Eggplant in special sauce.
Their meals come with salad and bread.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank isabella1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Tried veggie platter . Liked the bread, rice was good, liked cauliflower curry .Desset - rice pudding types was AWESOME .vvv delicious

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FamilyTravelEnthu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2016

This is a very good Afghan/Persian style restaurant.
The place has a nice atmosphere with a middle-eastern/Indian decor, with a nice buzz of the guests conversations (not bothering, just giving character to the place).
The service is quick and efficient and there is always someone to fill-up your water glass or place the course gravy on the table.
They have a very wide selection of Lamb and Beef dishes which are all very recommended. Each of the main courses is accompanied by a very tasty traditional rice dish and a piece of pita bread. For starters they also have a nice variety of courses, among which the Mantu and samosa are very good.
But the best thing is the cost of all this, which gives you a full & very tasty meal in very affordable price. A must try...

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2016

Food is average, shish-kabob. Not that flavorful. I thought the prices on the menu is about 15% higher than some other similar restaurants. Given the location and food selection, it's a bit over priced

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cathy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kabul Afghan Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Kabul Afghan Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing