We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville
Nearby Hotels
Travel Inn(Susanville)
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Diamond View Motel(Susanville)
US$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$89
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$108
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
River Inn(Susanville)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (221)
Filter reviews
221 results
Traveller rating
97
92
22
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
92
22
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsin townwafflesplace to staypizza placeawesome staybed and pillowsroom was cleancontinental breakfastcoffee makerthe usual amenitiesfront desk clerkhot tubcomfortable stayno elevatorhousekeeping staffsecond floormini fridge
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 221 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2017

This is a reasonably good choice on where to stay when in Susanville. Price floats upward with demand, (it was Hot August Nights Car Show Week in Reno) but I was happy enough with the choice, the room, the bed, and the breakfast.

I would strongly recommend a second floor room as there will be less noise upstairs. Kids there seemed delighted with the pool. Breakfast was pretty good. No objections.

They allowed a semi truck to park on their grass median in the auto lot - thankfully he didn't start his engine at 5 AM. One pass key quit working - was happily replaced.

Room Tip: Request the second floor for a quieter stay.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bfrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Greetings, bfrazier.

Thanks for the great send-up to TripAdvisor!

You being a seasoned traveler certainly frames your review from a very qualified stance. We are pleased to have passed muster under your watch.

We hope to see you again when you travel to Susanville from Tucson, AZ.

Until we do, safe travels be yours always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

We were in Susanville for my brother's wedding. We stayed August 9-14th. Our room was huge by motel standards and had a recliner as well as a the king sized bed. The bathroom was also very large with great water pressure and plenty of hot water. The best part was that the room was super clean (I am picky) and the housekeeping staff, who were very pleasant by the way, kept it that way. The staff was very helpful and attentive. Larry greeted us and helped get us into our room. The included breakfast was great (who doesn't like a waffle?). It also included biscuits and gravy and premade breakfast sandwiches. Overall, our experience here was excellent.

Room Tip: Main floor has easy access from multiple doors.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LuckyLinda0410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Hi, LuckyLinda0410...

Thank you for letting us and our TripAdvisor community know we exceeded your expectations! We're dedicated to your rest and comfort and appreciate knowing we succeeded!

Blessings of travel mercies lead you way back to Florida! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

The room is nice, the staff friendly. Location is good. Don't get a room by the pool!! However check your bill carefully!!! When we checked out we were over charged. Getting it corrected is difficult. We will write another review when the matter is finally resolved.

Room Tip: Stay away from the pool area.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank coolbarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Hi louishills...

Due to the anonymity of your TripAdvisor profile, I can not specifically address whatever issue you raised; however, I can tell you that it is not a problem to correct error on our end. If you booked online with a third-party entity, then it may take longer to get their customer service representative; however, that is totally out of our control.

If you'd let me know under what name your reservation was booked and specifically what was the issue, I'll be sure to fix anything within our power to do so.

Kind regards,
Charles Edwards
Guest Relations Specialist

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

The room was very large; the bathroom had plenty of room and hot water and the beds were good. The breakfast was better than average. There is a pool.

We had been on a road trip for over a week, paid all kinds of prices and this particular hotel was the best value. I'm sure part of it had to do with the location; however, we enjoyed our visit here. If you find yourself in Susanville, I recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachgirl451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2017

Hi, Beachgirl451...

We appreciate your business and especially your willingness to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor as well!

We'll always be here each time you travel our way and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Peace be yours till we see you again! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

Overall, probably the best place in town for most people, but still some problems I'll mention in hope of future improvements. This review is based on numerous nights on different visits..

Probably the CLEANEST place in town, certainly one of the top three. Housekeeping staff seems to really make an effort to do things right. Large rooms, STAFF is very NICE.

Very good MATRESSES. But bedding is awkward. They use a sort of sheet-envelope so comforter is completely covered, which makes a lot of sense, except the opening is on the underside about 12-15" down so your arm ends up inside it sometimes while sleeping. I wanted to turn it over, but then it looked like it would come undone. And pillows are decent but cases are too small. They fold in the ends to try to keep the pillow covered, but since the cases are too short they are guaranteed to come out very quickly, which means you are now touching the outside of the case that was against the unwashed pillow. Probably better to just leave them un-tucked, unless they get longer pillow cases. Points for effort, but execution not so good. I think the bottom sheet was fitted, if I remember right, so that stayed tucked-in.

LOUD PLUMBING--woke up at 6:00 one morning by a very loud squeal when the neighbor turned on the water, and jumped out of my skin when a neighbor in another room flushed their toilet at midnight. It drowned out the sound of my headphones. Our shower valve in two different rooms squealed very loudly a couple of times--maybe if someone else nearby turns on their water and the pressure drops, then the valves squeal.

Bathrooms had weak overhead lights with perimeter lighting around the large mirrors. Worked pretty well on one room, but another with slightly different model of mirror had very poor lighting. Toilets were elongated, not many like this in town, and I didn't have trouble with an improperly fitted seat like in my room here last year.

TV was terrible--bad picture, sound not synced to lips, very few channels, didn't even get the four major networks, and at least one room didn't get any of the HBO channels indicated on the channel guide.

BREAKFAST was generally good, a lot of items, but there can be a back-up at the one microwave, which is made worse by the fact that it seems to turn-on when you open the door so people don't want to put their hand in to get their food. They've added ketchup for the egg & sausage sandwiches, and peanut butter & honey for toast or if you don't like the worst waffle syrup I've ever tasted. One of the two waffle makers was set to undercook the waffles. Some may like that, but they weren't marked so the next day they might be switched & you wouldn't know which one you were using. And they ran out of items a lot, including one day when they were out of milk by 8:15 or earlier. One young mother was very unhappy that she couldn't give her kids cereal. There is a grocery store right across the street but they wouldn't send someone for milk. Hours are 6 to 9. I was down there during the first or last half hours most days. Only once was it busy during the first half hour. There were a lot more people there during the last half hour, even coming in during the last few minutes. Seems like the breakfast ought to run longer, or start & run later. They started picking up at or before 9 even when there were a lot of people in there.

I think they've improved some of the stairway doors to close quietly, but the room DOORS are still very LOUD. They can be closed reasonably quietly if your neighbors are polite, but many folks just let them slam. We had a slammer one night, probably 12 times between midnight & 1 a.m., but most nights it wasn't too bad.

WIFI is BAD--slow, drops out, can take 10 minutes to open a link or go to a web site sometimes. It's bad everywhere up here, but I think this place is a little worse than most.

And the Red Lion website is terrible. Lots of luck making a reservation. It deletes your info, runs you around in circles, and shows you a rate but then raises that rate when you click on "Book It." I use the hotel website at most places, but probably best to book through TripAdvisor or other site for this place.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank westerntravelwizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cybercme, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Inn & Suites Susanville, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2017

Greetings, westerntravelwizard...

Thanks so much for the great review and constructive comments.

We would drop our ISP like a hot potato if there were any options. As is, satellite is poor, at best, and, aside from running our own fiber from a large metro area ($$ cubic $$) we have to wait till someone else comes to Lassen County.

Sorry for the issues with making a reservation. We'll always be here if you call us direct and you will get amazing service from a grateful group of folks.

Blessings and travel mercies to you until we have the pleasure of your safe return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews