We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best summers we have had in Lake Tahoe.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Franciscan Lakeside Lodge
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Tahoe Vista
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We are going back to the Franciscan this winter. We will be booking our 2010 summer vacation on this trip. There will be new adventures and great memories in the new year at the Franciscan. Last year we went parasailling and had a blast. Maybe we'll try down hill mountain bike riding at Squaw Valley. All just a short drive from the Franciscan Lodge.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funfamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 131 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2009

My husband and I spent Christmas here. We have rented cabins in the North Lake area before but because it was just us this year, it didnt make sense to get a whole Cabin. This place was the perfect substitute. The cabin had all the feel and cute touches of a tahoe rental without the crazy price. We stayed in Cabin #1 which is on the lake side (not lake front) and a 1-bedroom. I really appreciate that the guy helping me pick a cabin warned me that we were close to the road and would hear cars; we did in fact hear them but because we knew this would be the case in advance, it was not a problem. Great value, cute place to stay, very charming, we would definitely go back.
Bonus, they had DVDs in the office that we could check out during our visit!

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mollydaction
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2009

Our family stayed at the "Fran" as they call it, for 2 nights in Nov for a little get away. We were in unit 33 which is a remolded unit by the pool,with king sized beds in both rooms. There was plenty of room for the 4 of us, a good sized fridge/freezer and good cooking equipment for eating in. A cozy gas fire also. The "off season" rate made this an affordable get away. I'm sure we will do it again.
The staff was friendly and helpful with suggestions for dining etc.
For a quick trip to Tahoe, this is an inexpensive gem in a great location.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beefriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2009

What a sweet find. ON the beach with a fireplace!! Stopped through here Thursday afternoon with my girlfriend looking for something homey. The "room" was a 1-bd cabin, nicely furnished from wineglasses to plants. While a little dated, this spot with brand new furnishings would be unaffordable. Best deal of the week traveling cross country. Great restaurant/bar across the street.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DenverStew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed here for three nights in August for a quick family getaway with two teenagers. This is a reasonably priced property with rather small cabins that are nicely furnished but nothing fancy. We stayed in #37, a one bedroom, one bath unit. My daughter and I shared the one bedroom (I can't remember if it was a queen or double bed) and my son and his dad stayed on the day beds in the living room. Overall we were very happy with the cabin. We stayed on the "forest" side of the property, meaning we were away from the lake shore. That was fine with us, because our favorite spot on Lake Tahoe is Sand Harbor, a 10 minute drive away. Since we knew we'd spend all day at Sand Harbor, it wasn't so important to us to stay lake-front in our room. Plus, the rate for the forest side is excellent. With older kids it's easy to cross the road to get to the lake side where there are lots of chairs on the sand, lawn and pier. If you have younger kids, you may want to walk to the stoplight, just about 100 yards up the road. Our side of the highway had the pool which looked fine but we never had a chance to use it (after spending all day at the lake, we didn't need to). We cooked every night in our room and we used the gas grills that are on the property. It couldn't have been more perfect. We had two fridges in our room, (one was built in to the kitchenette area, the second was a stand-alone) so we had plenty of room for our food and drinks. For a quick start in the morning, we ate breakfast at one of the casinos (Tahoe Biltmore Lodge) located on the Nevada side on the way to Sand Harbor. Breakfast cost us about $5 each and it was very good. One last note: the cabins on the forest side are not stand-alone cabins, they are a row of cabins that are joined. I was worried about that, but we never heard our neighbors. I didn't take many pics of the interior of the rooms because the pics on their website are absolutely representative of what you will find in each cabin. For this price I would definitely return and perhaps ask friends of us to join us in additional cabins.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaSerena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tahoe Vista
1.1 km away
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
Red Wolf Lakeside Lodge
#2 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
308 reviews
16.6 km away
The Village At Squaw Valley
The Village At Squaw Valley
#3 of 5 in Olympic Valley
632 reviews
0.7 km away
Cedar Glen Lodge
Cedar Glen Lodge
#1 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort
#3 of 8 in Tahoe Vista
246 reviews
9.2 km away
Hyatt Regency Lake Tahoe Resort, Spa and Casino
8.8 km away
Tamarack Lodge
Tamarack Lodge
#4 of 7 in Tahoe City
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Franciscan Lakeside Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Franciscan Lakeside Lodge

Address: 6944 North Lake Blvd., Tahoe Vista, CA 96148
Region: United States > California > Lake Tahoe (California) > Tahoe Vista
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Tahoe Vista
Price Range: RM400 - RM1,025 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Franciscan Lakeside Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Franciscan located in Tahoe Vista is your home away from home. With fully equipped kitchens or kitchenettes in every room, resort-wide wireless access, comfortable accommodations, and access to our private beach and pier, make The Franciscan your destination for your next getaway. The Franciscan is located in the quiet town of Tahoe Vista, just a short drive to many of Tahoe's great attractions, including Sand Harbor, Thunderbird Mansion, Kings Beach, and some of Tahoe's premier ski resorts. We are also located across the street from the Tahoe Regional Park, which boasts miles of hiking or snowshoeing trails, a disc golf course, playgrounds, playing fields, and a sledding hill in the winter. Stay entertained at The Franciscan at our long, sandy beach, at the volleyball courts, or in the heated swimming pool. Unwind and have a relaxing evening at our barbecue area, with views of the lake. Boat buoys are also available to rent at an affordable rate for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Franciscan Lakeside Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Franciscan Lakeside Hotel Tahoe Vista

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing