We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Tahoe Vistana Inn(Tahoe Vista)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mourelatos Lakeshore Resort(Tahoe Vista)
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$279
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Cedar Glen Lodge(Tahoe Vista)(Great Value!)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ferrari's Crown Resort(Kings Beach)(Great Value!)
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 41% below average rates

The price you found is 41% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tahoe Sands Resort(Tahoe Vista)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday House(Tahoe Vista)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (175)
Filter reviews
175 results
Traveller rating
89
51
18
8
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
51
18
8
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslarge studiolake tahoegreat roomlake waternorth shorewell equipped kitchenshort driveboth sidesice machinesand beachday bedfull kitchenincline villagesmall beachsofa bedgreat for familiesforest
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 175 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We loved this place! Our room was yards from the shore of Lake Tahoe. It was very clean, really quiet and the staff were friendly. The cabin was well set up for our family of four, with a well equipped kitchen. It had a really friendly feel to it - wish we could have stayed longer. Only negative thing was that the pool was super cold! We heard another guest say she'd been coming to Lodge for many years and the pool used to be warmer so it's a shame that it was too cold to enjoy. We made do with the lake instead!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Abigail M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franciscan Lake... L, General Manager at Franciscan Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Franciscan Lakeside Lodge. Our location in Tahoe Vista with access to a private beach and pier is perfect for a Tahoe getaway. All of our cabins and rooms are comfortably appointed with fully equipped kitchens, sitting areas, and comfortable bedding configurations. I have passed your comments regarding the pool temperature on to our Maintenance Manager, who will look into the issue you experienced and ensure that our pool heater is working well. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope that you visit again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

It seems there are new owners at this old favorite. Pool closed the day we arrived because they had added chemicals that morning. Kitchen area not as clean. No hot pad, the matches to light the stove have been around for years, tried and tried to light it, had to go buy a lighter. Oven wouldn't light, gave up. No bathroom floor towel, had to ask. The last night there was a band/DJ (leftover group from Burning Man?) playing in the picnic/BBQ area until late. They were right across from us. We had to get up at 5am to get back home, not enough sleep that night. Office is closed and only emergency calls allowed. We had been going for years but never again.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Shenapavalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franciscan Lake... L, General Manager at Franciscan Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am sorry to hear that this stay was not as enjoyable as previous stays for you. We are not under new ownership, the cabins are still all privately owned by homeowners. I have passed your comments regarding the cleanliness and the service on to our Housekeeping Manager, who will look into the issues that you experienced and remedy them as soon as possible. Our office does close at 5PM during non-holiday and non-peak times. We do our best to ensure that all guests are aware of the office hours and take care of any issues while the office is open. We would like to discuss your concerns further with you, please contact our Resort Manager, Kay Williams, at 530-581-7307 or at kaywilliams@franciscanlodge.com. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

The floors were so dirty in rental #50 and #60 that it made your feet filthy walking on them! Gross! There were hardly any good pans to cook in,especially in #50 and I took my own teflon pan. It doesn't cost much to get some decent pans in these studios. Both of the beds were very tired and uncomfortable and so was the one in #32 . Both studios #50 and #60 were $191.00 . No ice maker for the guests which there was one before. The toilet was running all the time in #60. The dumpster is right by #60 so when the other guests would put their garbage in it it banged right by the window, also its hard to park a big rig there because of it. They have upped the price and done nothing to up-date the rooms.

Room Tip: Room number 20 is Okay, at least you can see the Lake
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doggonRedding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franciscan Lake... L, General Manager at Franciscan Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share some feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

I have passed your comments on to our Housekeeping Manager, who will ensure that the rooms are thoroughly cleaned for future guests.

I have also passed your comments regarding the pans on to our Rooms Director, who will ensure that the kitchens are fully stocked. We can't accommodate all cooking needs, but we do our best to provide the basic kitchen implements and pots and pans needed to cook meals to our guests.

We have not had an ice machine on property for over four years now, but we are planning to install one when we renovate the Bear's Den, located in the heart of our property.

Our rates are based on demand and availability, and do tend to be higher in the summer months. However, we always strive to provide excellent value for the price here. Our rooms and cabins all adhere to a maintenance and upgrade schedule, and I am sorry to hear that you felt the room was outdated.

Thank you again for your feedback, as it will help us to make improvements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

Snagged a one-night stay in a studio room over a busy summer weekend in this very popular cabin venue. Some of the units are individual cabins, our studio cabin was #20 at the lakeside end of a stretch of rooms. (I definitely wouldn’t recommend getting a room between others. I would always want to be on a end unit for better air circulation) It is my understanding the units are independently owned and nightly prices reflect the owner's rates. On this visit, our room was $68 more than our last visit for a similar accommodation which is probably due to summer being the high season. Our very clean studio was handsomely decorated in alpine pine furnishings with a small gas pot belly stove that would be very cozy on a cold evening. It was hot during our visit. Although we had windows on two sides, it was warm inside and difficult to get a breeze, even with the overhead fan. With open windows the traffic noise from Highway 89 is loud and constant. Franciscan has one and two bedroom units on both sides of the freeway offering both forest and lake views. The swimming pool, which we didn’t visit, is on the forest side of the road. Studio unit #20 has a very comfortable queen bed, a small, yet full kitchen including a blender and provided coffee, and bathroom with shower. Two plastic chairs and a table were on the porch. The lake is only about 40 feet away down a path between cabins. If you have a boat you can rent a buoy for $25 (space available) and there is a long, well built pier where a boat could pick you up. There were only a few chaises on the small beach (beach has receded because of the heavy winter causing the lake to rise) and it appeared that the many families with children brought their own beach equipment including umbrellas. The lake water was warmer this year than I’ve ever remembered it. Kayaks can be rented next door. Wifi is included but if you have ATT there is no cell service in many areas of Tahoe Vista. You’ll have to walk out to the pier. The establishment does not have an ice machine on premises. (Note to management-this would be a useful addition). A Safeway is within walking distance or a very short drive to pick up any essentials. I recommend these accommodations and always look forward to annual improvements for my next visit..

Room Tip: Choose a cabin that has windows on 2 sides near the lake. #14 or #20
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank StarLady99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franciscan Lake... L, General Manager at Franciscan Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Franciscan. Our location right on Lake Tahoe and close to Kings Beach is perfect for an easy and relaxing getaway. The lakeside rooms are located on the same side of the road as the lake, offering easy access to our private beach and pier. We did have a big winter, resulting in high lake levels. This means that the beach is smaller, but it is great to see so much water in the lake! Our buoy rentals are just $25 per day, a great value for boaters.

I have passed your comments regarding the ice machine and the air circulation in the rooms on to our Resort Manager, and she will look into adding an ice machine and determining solutions for better air circulation in the rooms.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope that you stay with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2017 via mobile

They have cottages on both sides of the road, make sure you get the ones on the lake side. Rooms are a bit old and have a particular smell, but it's no big deal. They have a little pier and sand beach with chairs and tables.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Juan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franciscan Lake... L, General Manager at Franciscan Lakeside Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Franciscan Lakeside Lodge. We do offer lakeside and lakefront rooms on the same side of the road as the lake, and our forest-side rooms are on the other side of the road. Both room types offer access to our private beach and pier, and all rooms feature fully equipped kitchens and sitting areas. I have passed your comments regarding the smell of the rooms on to our Housekeeping Manager, who will look into this issue and work to improve the smell. I have also passed your comments on to our Rooms Director. All of the cabins and rooms are individually owned, and she will work with the homeowners to update the decor and furnishings. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope that you stay again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews