We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for a B&B in a Vineyard this is the one!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 6 Templeton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 22 September 2010

Carriage Vineyards B&B is only about 8-10 years old but the experience it provides is very unique. the B&B offers quiet, clean rooms, in a beautiful setting among Olive trees and 30 acres of vines to explore. And Larry Smyth the proprietor is prepared to offer you his Grape Ed 101 course that will tell you everything you could want to know about starting a vineyard, maintaining a vineyard in an up close and personal way. He drives you through the vineyards. This is not a wine tasting tour, (those are just down the road) but rather a real window into what a vineyard is all about. In addition you have to see their collection of horse drawn carriages, most which are in excellent condition and over 100 years old. You can even arrange for a horse and buggy ride while you are there. It's in the country but Paso Robles is only 10 miles away if you need that go to town fix.

All in all a great value, and far and away the nicest B&B where we have stayed!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WGHOLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carriage2, Owner at Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2016

Thanks Wally!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2010

Paso Robles is the best place for wine tasting in America. It is not trying to be Napa or Sonoma. It doesn't mind acknowledging the European roots of its great wines. What better then to actually stay on a working vineyard - not a winery but the place where the raw material is produced. Carriage Vineyard is out of the way and close to everything. At night there is no ambient light to detract from the canopy of stars. The elevation is enough to provide magical misty and sometimes foggy mornings.

The accommodation itself is superb - well appointed, luxurious comfort while retaining an at-home feel albeit, an elegant home. We stayed in the Victoria room with its authentic furniture and family photographs. It was massive, irregular in shape with a large shower and a great jacuzzi bath that worked perfectly. Each was big enough for two. At night it was absolutely quiet except for the occasional critter sounds on and around the property. We got there early and managed to take a look at all the rooms. Each was different , each equally as good. The running of the place is relaxed and guest friendly. We literally had the run of the place. Doors remained unlock, the vast kitchen was ours to use if we wanted. Breakfast was good - not too much or trying to work too hard. The company affable, Carriage seems to attract pleasant interesting people, apart from us.

After you've spent a day tasting the wines in the area what better than to learn about the grapes themselves. Larry, the owner and a working viticulturist, does a fascinating guided tour of the vineyard - Grapes Ed 101. His knowledge is deep but he makes it all accessible and easy to follow. In addition, he produces award-winning olive oil and explains the differences and symbiotic nature of the two crops. To cap it off there a complimentary bottle of Merlot from a winery that takes their grapes, which is very acceptable in every way. It is a decent vintage that sells well above the mid-range at Trader Joe's. Larry is obviously very proud of the work that he does and so he should be. Both the vineyard and the Bed and Breakfast are operated to the highest level of efficiency combined with friendliness.

We will be returning with a family member who is French and is in the process becoming something of a genuibewine expert. A couple of days at Carriage Vineyard will add joy and knowledge to her life. We couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianbowater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2010

A very clean, quiet and comfortable get away. It's a vineyard off the beaten path with very friendly innkeepers. Breakfast was delicious. Larry conducts the best Grape Ed 101. I learned more about what it takes to produce the right grapes for the best wines than I ever thought I would in such a short period of time. And a great bonus - there are olive trees on the property and Carriage bottles its own olive oil. So, Larry told me about olive oil and which presses are the best. It was a surprise.

I'd go back in a heart beat - nice little towns and only 40 mins. from the ocean, as well.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmgirlRio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2010

The B&B itself I would say is a 4 star, great little B&B. The beds were big, the bathroom was nice, if not a little dated. What warranted the extra stars started the morning after. The breakfast was AWESOME and had delicious spiced chicken sausages, baked oatmeal, scones with this amazing lemon curd, juice, coffee and all the trimmings. We opted to spend an additional $50 for a tour of the vineyard, since I'm in horticulture. Larry took great care to give us a very thorough tour, and I'm amazed to say I actually learned quite a lot. He really knows what he's talking about though. We toured on an ATV and he let us drive around the vineyard after the tour so I could get photos with our new fancy camera.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahpotts42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

From the ease of booking online to the fabulous breakfast prepared by Leigh Ann, we were pleased by our second stay at Carriage Vineyards B&B. The rural location is close to wineries and many other places of interest along the central coast. If your preference is relaxation, the guest rooms, the public spaces, and grounds are designed for peace, quiet and a good book! Larry, the owner, and Leigh Ann, the hostess, obviously enjoy making the guests feel welcome. Don't forget to sign up for one of the best massages ever!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oma28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Templeton
14.4 km away
Allegretto Vineyard Resort Paso Robles
10.1 km away
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
La Bellasera Hotel and Suites
#8 of 18 in Paso Robles
658 reviews
13.0 km away
Paso Robles Inn
Paso Robles Inn
#9 of 18 in Paso Robles
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 km away
SpringHill Suites by Marriott Paso Robles Atascadero
14.8 km away
The Oaks Hotel
The Oaks Hotel
#2 of 18 in Paso Robles
707 reviews
11.9 km away
Courtyard Paso Robles
Courtyard Paso Robles
#10 of 18 in Paso Robles
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast

Address: 4337 S El Pomar Rd, Templeton, CA 93465-8668
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Luis Obispo County > Templeton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Templeton
Price Range: RM791 - RM1,164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Carriage Vineyards Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing