We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spectacular views, peaceful and convenient...”
other travellers have booked this property
The Mountain House 1
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Mountain House 1
The Mountain House 2 The Mountain House from the living room onto the deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
The Mountain House 1
The Mountain House 2
The Mountain House from the living room onto the deck
The Mountain House 4
The Mountain House 5
The Mountain House 6
The Mountain House 7
The Mountain House 8
Optional second bedroom and en-suite
The Mountain House 10
The Mountain House 11
The Mountain House private garden and braai
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Clovelly, Western Cape

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Esther H
Lusaka, Lusaka, Zambia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Spectacular views, peaceful and convenient location”
Reviewed 16 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

We very much enjoyed our week long stay at the Mountain House. I echo all the positives in the previous reviews and will add that we appreciated such details as a kindly set up travel cot for our infant, wonderful underfloor heating, fresh local flowers on arrival, and a pretty baby-proof house. It was even nicer than the photos, in my opinion, secure, and a scenic drive into Cape Town proper and the other beach towns. We also really enjoyed being able to do a scenic hike into Kalk Bay, or just walk along the road. We had a little trouble with the internet but Carin was happy to try to trouble shoot. Fishhoek is a few minutes' drive away and had all the necessary amenities like groceries, and also a quiet beach

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birender...
Maseru, Lesotho
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Where Mountain meets Ocean”
Reviewed 22 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

A chance search on TripAdvisor (India) revealed this self catering independent house located between Kalk Bay and Fish Hoek (along the road to Clovelly Golf Course). The Mountain House's web page was intriguing enough to send a message to the owners, Carin and Miles, as we (two couples) wanted a place that was central to all that is "essential" to see and do in and around Cape Town. It turned out to be a truly exceptional place that we'd selected. The house itself, adjacent to the owners' own house (actually its built over their garages) is very well designed with two bedrooms that have en-suite bathrooms and a lovely living cum kitchen space that looks out to the Ocean on one side and the Clovelly valley on the other. A lovely wooden deck with a trellis makes up the entire space available along with a lovely natural garden with a braai and space for parking a car. We really enjoyed our mornings and evenings sitting out on the deck soaking in the serene surroundings and being one with nature. With a car available it was so easy for us to visit the plethora of nature's wonders that dot the Cape, be it Cape Point/Cape of Good Hope, Table Mountain, V&A (and the ferry to Robben Island), Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens and Constantia Valley for wine tasting. The Mountain House was central to almost all places and it was a pleasure to come home each evening to our retreat and chalk out the next day's plans thanks to excellent wifi and helpful suggestions from our hosts. We spent a week at the Mountain House and if ever one gets a chance to visit the Mother City again I have no doubts about where I would be staying. Thank you Carin and Miles Hartford for allowing us into your lovely mountain retreat where the land and water meld into each other as if by magic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rory O
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
“TOP TOP Class if you wanting something cosy and intimate.”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Absolutely Brilliant venue. Close to all necessary places one needs have a great weekend away, Beaches, Trails, Mountains, Shops, Restaurants, Main Road.. Jst a perfect location!! Could do with more steak knives as it is self-catering and a whisk for eggs in the morning, Otherwise, NO COMPLAINTS...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location is perfect and the under floor heating on the chilly night was a cherry on the top.
Liked least: only 1 steak knife and the house holds up to 4 persons and no whisk, after all its a self-catering venue and scrambled egg is fav breakfast for many South Africans. No dstv either
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonja E
Mauritius
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful House in magical surrounding.”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed in this house with 2 young kids. We all loved every minute of our stay. Every detail of the house is well thought off. Kitchen has all you could think of and need. We enjoyed eating on a huge terrace taking in all the sunrises and sunsets over the oceans! It was fantastic! The owners are very nice, friendly and ready to help with any advice or things you may need. We felt at home instantly and loved coming home every day after exploring Cape town. Our boys loved the nice walk in wetlands that leads toward the beach. My personal favorite were the heated floors everywhere and the location with the views! I don't know how you could not love this place! I highly recommend this property and thank you Karin and Miles for everything! All the best!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Reviewed 20 April 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$120
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing