We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Truckee-Tahoe Hotel(Truckee)(Great Value!)
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Truckee Donner Lodge(Truckee)(Great Value!)
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Donner Lake Village(Truckee)(Great Value!)
US$201
US$196
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ritz-Carlton, Lake Tahoe(Truckee)
US$529
US$399
RitzCarlton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$223
US$204
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Redlight(Truckee)(Great Value!)
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$204
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$719
US$699
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
88
37
6
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
88
37
6
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmaster bedroomoriginal buildingmovie theateronly thing missingtop of the lineice skatingtimeshare propertylake tahoeliving areashoulder seasonwine glasseshot tubexercise facilitysecond issuespacious condowasher dryergas fireplace
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

Four of us stayed in a well equipped 2 bedroom condo adjacent to the village. The facilities seem fairly new and well laid out. We would return if we need a condo on the north shore. The grounds, pool, and gym were very nice.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nadorick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am glad to see that you had an opportunity to enjoy our resort. We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

We visited in May and it was amazing. The place was quiet, I'm sure this is one of their slower times of the year. Fitness center, pool and hot tub were clean and functional. Setting and views are spectacular, especially if you are an Indiana gal that loves the smell of pine trees. Room was lovely and well appointed. A special thanks to Piper at the front desk for being so helpful ad friendly, and Joe the maintenance person for quickly and expertly repairing a couple of things in our room.

Room Tip: Our mattresses were a little soft and worn, be sure to ask for a room with newer mattresses.
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3RiversMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I am happy to see you had a great stay here at Welk Resorts. It is great to know that Piper and Joe took provided you with excellent service during your trip with us. We look forward to your return visit, as well as the opportunity to create fantastic vacation memories for your family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

We are Welk owners and used points for this trip. There is no one bedroom accommodation at this resort and we didn't need a two bedroom room so we went with a studio. The studio they first tried to put us in was nothing like the photos on the web - no couch - just a very small, dark room with two chairs in front of the bed. I called to speak to the manager who was accommodating and moved us to another studio with a couch in a newer building. There is no stove to cook - just a microwave, toaster and mini-fridge so you basically have to eat out every meal. There is no separate shower from tub. The little village is very quaint on the weekends but during the week it was like a ghost town- only Starbucks is open. There is a pizza place (Rubicon) and a sushi place. We ate at Rubicon and it was ok- pricey and they charged a resort tax and tip so watch your bill if you eat there. Getting back to the hotel - the staff does not go out of their way to help at all. We had to carry our luggage up - no one even asked if we needed help. The only shout out I can give is to the engineer who had to fix our A/C 4 times as it kept shorting out. Other than that the hotel is clean, the location is beautiful - great hiking trails and golf nearby. I am sure it is a lot different experience in the winter. Lake Tahoe is a good 20 minute drive down the mountain.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank gr8fultraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for staying here at Welk Resorts and taking the time to post a review. I appreciate the wonderful review and the feedback from your stay with us. I also appreciate your positive comments and your thoughts on the areas for improvement. If you return to the area please be sure to stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Northstar is the best resort I have ever been to in my life!! They are so kid friendly and there is so much to do! Great slopes in the winter and fab activities in the summer!! The builder obviously had kids in mind when Northstar was built!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Gymnast8505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay. It is great to hear you and your family enjoyed the on site activities at the resort. If you return to the area please be sure to stay with us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Beautiful, extremely spacious 2 bed condo at an OK price. It was brand new and fitted out to a very high standard - stylish and good quality. Very good location for Tahoe - with the benefit of a lot of space for our family of 4. Fires in every room and on the balcony.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank CaliLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutch F, Director of Consumer Affairs at Northstar Lodge by Welk Resorts, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thank you for sharing your kind review. We are delighted to hear you had an overall great experience at Northstar Lodge Welk Resorts. It is our pleasure to provide you with a home away from home and we most definitely hope to welcome you back with us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews