We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bear Paw Lodge(Bayfield)
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (32)
Filter reviews
32 results
Traveller rating
25
3
2
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
3
2
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake areawonderful hostslarge groupliving roomplace to staydonnamaryofficehamiltongrillmomcoloradoteenagersfishingvacation
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 32 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We had a very good stay here. The owners were very friendly, helpful, and efficient to the point of being wonderful hosts. Our cabin was clean, comfortable, and well furnished. Do not be put off by the exteriors. Our cabin, number 23, did not look like much from the outside, but was very nice and pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WestTexastraveller17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2017

We loved our stay in Cabin 12 last week! It was spacious, well-furnished, and had the best front deck overlooking the lake and mountains with great patio furniture and a grill. Very clean and excellent beds! This was a great place to stay for a large group that wanted to be near the Durango-Silverton area. We spent some time enjoying the cabin and lake area and some doing more adventurous things like rafting and ATVing the mountains.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank lisasledge777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the Hamilton cabin (#27). It was the perfect size for our large group of 6 adults, 2 teenagers, and 4 toddlers. The teenagers slept on blow ups in the living room. The cabin was clean, well stocked, and well maintained. The owners were very nice and the grounds were well maintained also. The negative reviews really surprised me because you can tell this place is well loved by the owners.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Stacee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2017

We had a last minute idea to check out Vallecito Lake. Before cancelling our "chain hotel" room for the night, I called PRL and spoke with the nicest lady ever (Mary). She was able to get a cabin for us. Chain hotel canceled. We took the gorgeous drive up to the lake, and was in awe the entire time. As we entered the office to check in, we were treated like long lost friends. Mary even remembered that we were in Durango for a lacrosse tourney and asked my son how his team did! Our cabin was cozy and quaint... and SPOTLESS! Dinner and a few pool games at the Lake House (Mary's recommendation) did not disappoint. Upon returning to our cabin, our son (age 13) said "Mom, I feel like we're in one of those 80's movies." He nailed the mood perfectly. We hiked down to the lake and skipped rocks. Having a teenager skip rocks and talk... PRICELESS! Returned to the cabin and made a fire in the firepit while overlooking the lake. We just sat there, watching the fire, and talking. One of the best nights ever. We had an incredible nights sleep. Beds are super cozy.

So during dinner, we checked in on FB. A friend replied saying that he knew the owners of the Lodge, and said for us to say hi to Donna and Debbie. Turns out, we have mutual friends!

Family owned business. Stay there. You won't be disappointed. Say hi to Donna and Debbie for us!

(as I continued with my review, it asked about internet. I chuckled... You won't need internet. You'll just need the company of family or friends!)

Room Tip: Talk to Mary. She'll take care of ya!
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank rrcubscoutmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016

My wife's family (father and mother; three siblings and three spouses; 6 nieces and nephews, six spouses, and their two children; one of our sons, and us two) had a family reunion of sorts at Pine River. We had a great time. The lodge is on the lake and is near excellent hiking areas. We fished from the shoreline and river banks several days, but did not really catch anything of note. There were simply too many people fishing the lake and streams that fed it. You can buy a fishing license at the Lodge which is nice for out of state travelers.

Each family had their own cabin and we were all able to gather at the largest cabin for meals and general fun or retreat to our own spaces when needed. The cabins range from pretty comfy to somewhat spartan, so evaluate the cabins on line EARLY to get the cabin type that you want. Each cabin did have a kitchen.

Room Tip: Get a cabin closer to the lake. They were nicer in general and less traffic through that part of the grounds.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank porter_osborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews