We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Spring Break Ski Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Highland Park, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Best Spring Break Ski Trip”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Everything about spring break in Crested Butte is easy. Fly into Gunnison airport, take the Alpine shuttle to the mountain resorts and your skis await you at the rental shops, which are then stored on the mountain so you don't have to carry them far after the day of skiing. The resort accommodations at LMS are all well kept and the staff attentive. The private ski lessons were fantastic and the kids had a blast in the terrain parks. Truly a wonderful vacation.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JET123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    28
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
87
108
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2012

Look no further. This place has it all! Friendly helpful staff. Fantastic rooms and easy access to slopes. They will go above and beyond to fit your needs. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kkwilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2012

if you want to stay almost feets away from the lifts , with a big and clean roon , you should choose this hotel

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassioaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level Contributor
141 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We have stayed in the Lodge At Mountaineer Square several years in a row. This slope side hotel is great. The suites are beautiful; the views of Crested Butte are awesome; walking out your door almost on top of the ski lifts is convenient; and the service ethic is just fantastic. Everyone was helpful, pleasant and appeared honestly interested in making sure we were happy. Our three bedroom suite must have had 31 places to sit, 4 large flat screen TVs, blue ray players in every room, 4 phones, the most comfortable beds/linens, etc. So, when we weren't skiing or shopping we felt surrounded by luxury. Chuck Donnelly is a great General Manager and pays constant attention to his guests needs. Ruby, our house keeper, was also amazing. Every day she left an inspiring note on our counter with an interesting quote and she checked on us at least twice a day, if not more, to make sure there was nothing that we needed. You can tell that she loves her work and it's not just a job. As I mentioned initially, we have stayed in the Lodge before and it has always been great but this year was even better. The flat screen TVs were larger, the blue ray players were new, and they had an amazing 80's party with a phenomenal band over the weekend. It drew a fun mix of guests, employees, and locals with everyone having fun. The band is out of Denver (6 Million Dollar Band) and they played for over 4 hours and every song was great. The crowd was really into it. I haven't even mentioned the great mountain and quaint town. Crested Butte has some of the best back country advanced skiing around, but not at the expense of blue and green trails. My wife is a beginner and she had plenty to ski. I am comfortable with single black diamonds and also skiied all week without getting bored. My daughter was searching for cliffs and woods and never ran out of terrain. And lift lines? Forget it, there are none. In addition, the town of Crested Butte is fun and has a surprising number of great restaurants. We really liked Soupcon, Marchitelli's Noodles, Ryce Asian Bistro, and Wooden Nickel. Uley's Cabin (the ice bar) is another great dinner spot half way up the mountain). Crested Butte might be a little harder to reach then Park City or Vail but it's a great resort and Lodge at Mountaineer Square is the best hotel at the resort!

Room Tip: Ask to face the mountain for amazing views of Crested Butte but even if you don't there are stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank larryAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westchester, NY
Level Contributor
55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This was out third year in a row at the Lodge, which we found to have the best accommodations overall in Crested Butte. We had a two bedroom condo with well-equipped full kitchen and a great view of the slopes. Beds are super comfortable, excellent flat screen HD t.v. with DVD player in living room, and HDTVs in bedrooms. Staff are wonderfully friendly and accommodating, without exception.

Only caveat is that the fitness center and pool are small (though the hot tub is fabulous!). You'll need to go to the Elevation Spa and Fitness Center next door for a real workout. However, the rooms at the Lodge are the best, so we stay here when we're in CB.

CB is a special place--one of the last non jet-setter ski resorts left in Colorado. The town is charming with many more excellent restaurants than you would imagine for a small town. We almost hate to write this, as it may entice more people to come : ).

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the slopes!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drron36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
0.1 km away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
746 reviews
0.2 km away
No photo provided
Paradise Crested Butte Condos
#6 of 7 in Crested Butte
5 reviews
40.1 km away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
618 reviews
0.3 km away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
347 reviews
3.7 km away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Mountaineer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Property: Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Address: 620 Gothic Road, P.O. Box 5700, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price range (per night): RM717 - RM1,682
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge at Mountaineer Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from the ski lifts, the Lodge at Mountaineer Square in Crested Butte, Colorado features premier studio, one, two, three, and four-bedroom suites with deluxe amenities, including indoor/outdoor heated swimming pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna and fitness room, bell, valet, concierge services and a full-service front desk. Relax in front of the fireplace and enjoy a drink with friends or associates at the on-site Trackers Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge at Mountaineer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Mountaineer Square Hotel Crested Butte
Hotel At Mountaineer Square
At Mountaineer Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing